Go Back   Mashada Forums » Society & Culture » Maisha ya Kenya

Old 20th March 2009, 04:18 PM

kipanya is on a distinguished road
Default witches burning    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=dae_1236854361
Old 20th March 2009, 05:51 PM

Gosh. That's crazy! How come no one is doing anything to help them?
Old 20th March 2009, 06:31 PM

kaleo princess is on a distinguished road

OMG......... i could hardly watch, this is insane very inhuman
God forbid.
i feel so haunted.
Old 20th March 2009, 06:46 PM

2dinyane is on a distinguished road

and this people will go home and sleep well. Aii Wakisii nao
Old 20th March 2009, 07:01 PM

kaleo princess is on a distinguished road

it is so graphic, surely can't they stop this, imagine am sure they are working on assumptions not even evidence coz anyway who believes in witchcraft ,poor pple and their family that might be watching someone burn their parents alive.
what a way to kill someone with onlookers that cannot even offer them water to drink. that sight the crying can haunt someone forever.
Old 20th March 2009, 07:24 PM

Originally Posted by Ester View Post
Gosh. That's crazy! How come no one is doing anything to help them?
You have to live there to have those people's mentality. So no one there pities them.

This is the result of people not believing that witchcraft exists. Whether witchcraft works or not, by now the govt should have come up with an educated solution to this problem. For instance, there are things that witches are believed to own. The govt can work with the community to establish controls on those things. For example, whereas in America owning a snake as a pet is legal, In kisii, that can be considered a sign of withcraft. Thus the govt could ban ownership of snakes in kisii. Just the same way owning wild animals is being banned over here. Such sort of solutions. Ignoring this is simply incomprehensible. It just leads to more lost lives...either through witchcraft or these senseless burnings. And it allows some to settle scores by calling innocent people witches.
Old 20th March 2009, 09:42 PM

This is the result of people not believing that witchcraft exists. Whether witchcraft works or not, by now the govt should have come up with an educated solution to this problem.
siku hizi watu wengi are turning to belief in uchawi because the modern world has failed to provide solutions to their problems. problems like chronic malnutrition in some parts, and a gover that just doesn't care; diseases that people claim are curable and yet the local hospitals are not accessible to peeps; mental health shidas in communities where "madness' is stigmatised; and the latest: aids.

suffering becomes this burden that is always there and is inescapable: we are born to suffer. so people turn to rituals to comfort themselves that they're fighting against the "evil spirits". and of course they become ruthless to the "witches" because they must "fight evil" relentlessly.

just take a look at the villages where fear of witchcraft has taken root strongly: i'm willing to bet you will find all the symptoms of underdevelopment there (high mortality rates for children and mothers, death from ugonjwas like "malaria", cholera and the like, chronic malnutrition and poverty).

there is belief in and fear of witchcraft here in the US as well, and that tends to be something established in poor rural america.
Old 20th March 2009, 10:09 PM

Originally Posted by al-zalzalah View Post
siku hizi watu wengi are turning to belief in uchawi because the modern world has failed to provide solutions to their problems. problems like chronic malnutrition in some parts, and a gover that just doesn't care; diseases that people claim are curable and yet the local hospitals are not accessible to peeps; mental health shidas in communities where "madness' is stigmatised; and the latest: aids.

suffering becomes this burden that is always there and is inescapable: we are born to suffer. so people turn to rituals to comfort themselves that they're fighting against the "evil spirits". and of course they become ruthless to the "witches" because they must "fight evil" relentlessly.

just take a look at the villages where fear of witchcraft has taken root strongly: i'm willing to bet you will find all the symptoms of underdevelopment there (high mortality rates for children and mothers, death from ugonjwas like "malaria", cholera and the like, chronic malnutrition and poverty).

there is belief in and fear of witchcraft here in the US as well, and that tends to be something established in poor rural america.
Pharaoh had great magicians. I do not think he was poor or suffering from chronic diseases. I have witnessed witchcraft with my own eyes. I'm neither poor nor suffering from any chronic diseases. To say witchcraft does not exist but claim Satan as an opposite to God exists is being self contradictory. In other words, christians-or as they say the civilized world- are simply living in contradiction even with their own bibles by disputing the existence of the practice. As long as we debate on this petty issue, such horrific scenes will continue dotting the scene. We come from a traditional society where 'traditional' practices such as sorcery are/were rampant. It's a pity some people have never seen sorcerers or witchdoctors. So whether what sorcerers do works or not should not be an issue. To dwell on this issue is akin to dwelling on whether it is a woman who dresses poorly should be blamed for being raped because she showed certain body parts that aroused the rapist. Let the govt for once and for all ban the practices of sorcery, witchdoctors and etc by establishing clear guidelines for the punishment of those who are caught engaging in the practices. Otherwise there are many occasions when villagers round up witches, take them to the police station but the police say the law doesn't recognize witchcraft and release the witches. The people get frustrated, hence what we saw above. By the way, the same is happening with thieves. Thieves get caught redhanded, they are released the following day. So now kisungusungu just beheads, burns or hangs them live.

I do agree though that increased healthcare can reduce some of these cases. Saa zingine someone collapses and dies from a heart attack and people wonder how one can drop dead if not from witchcraft. I have an uncle who died from a stroke (I forget the name of a vein in the brain bursting). Some villagers think he was bewitched.
Old 20th March 2009, 11:15 PM

Pharaoh had great magicians. I do not think he was poor or suffering from chronic diseases.

I have witnessed witchcraft with my own eyes. I'm neither poor nor suffering from any chronic diseases. To say witchcraft does not exist but claim Satan as an opposite to God exists is being self contradictory. In other words, christians-or as they say the civilized world- are simply living in contradiction even with their own bibles by disputing the existence of the practice.

As long as we debate on this petty issue, such horrific scenes will continue dotting the scene.
i think there's a difference between the subjects we're addressing. on the one hand, you are talking about people who actually practice sorcery and witchcraft. me i'm talking about people who don't practice it and have never actually seen it being practiced, lakini wanasikia rumors. and when their cousin's daughter drops dead one day, they remember that childless woman next door. they amua that because she's childless, she's envious, and therefore, ana jicho mbaya.. and so they choma her or banish her from the village. that time there's no actual evidence that the women had any "witching" paraphernalia in their homes. kumbe she's a complete innocent who has never dealt with sorcery in her life. i believe that kind of thing with false accusations fueled by panic is common kwetu, was common in akina Salem, and also in medieval Europe where the roman catholic church silenced any females who challenged their authority by accusing them of witchcraft.

banning "sorcery" is a slippery slope. if the government does that it might as well ban all religions, because people tend to perceive religions other than their own as uchawi. how on earth would they define "sorcery"? listen to the stuff some christians say about jehovah's witnesses, hindus, muslims.....

i think the best bet is to deal with the problems that people typically attribute to uchawi more effectively. lakini our gover is more interested in giving itself raises and evading taxes than in addressing the problems of marginal communities.
Old 21st March 2009, 02:55 PM

Devine is an unknown quantity at this point

Kipanya at least weka viewer discretion advice or s'thing. That is too traumatizing to some of us I couldn't watch it!!!

burning, witches