Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Beer Galore.... forgetful Kenyans!!

Default 10-12-2008, 03:32 AM

Originally Posted by mycalian View Post
My my my Alja let me save your threat before it drowns into the archives. Nut please tell guys what they need to comment about? All kenyans think it is normal for a lorry to overturn and for them to ransack even an injured driver.

are you Kenyan?

Default sidindi jet oil saga - 10-12-2008, 03:52 AM

people never seem to learn.

Those who are old enough may remember the Sidindi jet oil saga. uwiiiiiiiiiiiii!!

A tanker loaded with jet oil loses control around the Sidindi area and falls to one side. Watu hao na ma jerry can collecting the stuff saa na hiyo jua imewaka sana wacha tu! then lo behold a fire erupts, and gets massive withins seconds as you would expect. loads n loads of people burnt down to ashes immediately. I tell you those people learnt the hard way, they lost so many people and they had mass funerals. Those that had collected the jet oil to fill mitungi, poured it.

I have always wondered what they imagined they would do with it? cook? weka kwa stove? or what?
There would have been more and more fires and houses would be reduced to nothing...but they learnt way too early before anyone put on a pot.

Default 10-12-2008, 03:58 AM

Originally Posted by Wantai View Post

Those who are old enough may remember the Sidindi jet oil saga. uwiiiiiiiiiiiii!!

A tanker loaded with jet oil loses control around the Sidindi area and falls to one side. Watu hao na ma jerry can collecting the stuff saa na hiyo jua imewaka sana wacha tu! then lo behold a fire erupts, and gets massive withins seconds as you would expect. loads n loads of people burnt down to ashes immediately. I tell you those people learnt the hard way, they lost so many people and they had mass funerals. Those that had collected the jet oil to fill mitungi, poured it.

I have always wondered what they imagined they would do with it? cook? weka kwa stove? or what?
There would have been more and more fires and houses would be reduced to nothing...but they learnt way too early before anyone put on a pot.
I guess this is ithe incident I was referring to about in Nyanza. But it is difficult for we Kenyans to learn from such accidents.

If stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out?
mzee afrika is on a distinguished road

Default nyani haoni kundule - 10-12-2008, 11:53 AM

this odd behavior differentiates us from other watu weusi, unfortunate as it is. a kenyan with a ksh 6m SUV will comfortably stop his car and pee on the roadside. Remember the hippo that was shot in Ruiru 5yrs ago; people fought, cut each other with pangas all in the name of free meat. and one claimed on camera ati he was doing it cos ana mwaka bila kula nyama!
my point: Kenyans love freebies.

Default 10-16-2008, 11:47 AM

Originally Posted by Wantai View Post

Following my post here, I was enlightened by a certain respected, well-informed, said to be retired mashadite who wishes to remain anonymous, so i will bandika the note here just for general clarification...thanks anonymous

" Hi Wantai,
I stopped posting on mashada a while back, but am an avid reader and you made a post that siwezi lala bila correcting you... lol

The Incident at Sidindi happened because,{this is grapevine news.. not reliable at all.. But thats what i have.} There was a scuffle and a fight ensued and one man said that if this oil is making us fight then i will burn it so that we have nothing to fight about.. and he struck a match and threw the rest is history..

Second, JET A1 is a form of Kerosene based fuel, it is exactly like what you use to cook at home only the octane level is higher and thus it burns much more clearly. Fuel for a piston-engine powered aircraft (usually a high-octane gasoline known as Avgas) has a low flash point to improve its ignition characteristics. Turbine engines can operate with a wide range of fuels, and jet-aircraft engines typically use fuels with higher flash points, which are less flammable and therefore safer to transport and handle. Wikipedia...

So to make my point, JET A1 is very appropriate for your stove and lantern at home. You can read more here..
Jet fuel - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And yes i know.. I am a Type A personality...

Have a lovely day and don't drink and drive...
"