Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > The first suspension bridge in Kenya

curious kenyan is on a distinguished road

Default The first suspension bridge in Kenya - 08-25-2008, 02:35 PM

Hey people, the bridge is called Masalani bridge on River Tana and now the people of northern Kenya don't have to be disconnected from the rest of Kenya when there are heavy rains/flooding.

Check out the URL: Boyne cable stayed bridge, Ireland. Bridge deck launching using strand jacks.

Default 08-25-2008, 02:44 PM

Are you introducing yourself or the bridge? This being your 1st post, it is funny how you want to welcome yourself across the bridge!

Lakini karibu Mr. Mrs. Ms.Curious Kenyan msalani ...ooops, masalani suspension bridge!

If stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out?
Dem Gal

Default 08-25-2008, 04:46 PM

Originally Posted by Alja View Post
Are you introducing yourself or the bridge? This being your 1st post, it is funny how you want to welcome yourself across the bridge!

Lakini karibu Mr. Mrs. Ms.Curious Kenyan msalani ...ooops, masalani suspension bridge!
Nice bridge. Am trying very hard not to down-play this great achievement fot the Tana river peeps, but enyewe, were does this bridge lead to? I see nothing going on either side of the bridge to warrant the economic investment made to built it. I stand corrected here.....and then again I am just looking at a few snap shots.

Default 08-25-2008, 09:42 PM

Originally Posted by Dem Gal View Post
I see nothing going on either side of the bridge to warrant the economic investment made to built it. I stand corrected here.....
i co-sign 100% seems to me like this cash could have been used to construct a more useful bridge e.g a bridge linking Mombasa and the 2 coasts currently accessed by MTONGWE and LIKONI ferries. F.vckin ferries in 2008!!! I too stand corrected..

endless man-hours are wasted waiting on those unreliable mtumba ferries which stall at will bila plot.

@ Dem Gal...woman you are around?? I thought you and nyawera_1 killed each other...ama you killed her? karibu back

OBAMA:"yes we can"...STUNNER: "YES WE DID!!"
Dec 2008...Nairobi here I come!!
Realistik Dreamer is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 11:52 PM

Originally Posted by curious kenyan View Post
Hey people, the bridge is called Masalani bridge on River Tana and now the people of northern Kenya don't have to be disconnected from the rest of Kenya when there are heavy rains/flooding.

Check out the URL: Boyne cable stayed bridge, Ireland. Bridge deck launching using strand jacks.
Nice One Curious Kenyan! I like the part of completion by a LOCAL CONTRACTOR. Would have loved it even more if the whole project from conception, surveys,design, construction and (maintainance) was/is done by Kenyan engineers.

I am quite sure we have enough of these......

All the same this is cool for the northerns!

curious kenyan is on a distinguished road

Default 08-26-2008, 10:20 PM

I agree with you realistic dreamer about the stuff being done by Kenyans. Also the ferry thing is just so so yesterday....! they need to do something.

Alja, I thought I killed two birds by introducing myself and posting simultaneously? But thanks for the opinion

Default 08-27-2008, 12:18 AM

I agree with you realistic dreamer about the stuff being done by Kenyans. Also the ferry thing is just so so yesterday....! they need to do something.

Alja, I thought I killed two birds by introducing myself and posting simultaneously? But thanks for the opinion
Karibu, though there was no opinion from my side, just unanswered questions. And good that you can kill two birds.... hope next time it will be two crocodiles!

Lakini tuko poa

If stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out?
Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default 08-27-2008, 02:39 AM

A good development effor there. And we need more of this across many oarts of the country.

What surprises me though is that the road leading to the bridge may wear out under heavy rains... can be washed away thus making access to the bridge impossible.

This reminds me of some places I have visited and seen "development projects" that leave you wondering what was in the minds of the development agencies!

Take for example a widow who an agency supports to construct a very nice looking toilet yet the woman has makuti thatch walled and roofed house.

Hope this bridge is just but a starting rather than the end to development in the area.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.
Dem Gal

Default 08-27-2008, 05:00 PM

i co-sign 100% seems to me like this cash could have been used to construct a more useful bridge e.g a bridge linking Mombasa and the 2 coasts currently accessed by MTONGWE and LIKONI ferries. F.vckin ferries in 2008!!! I too stand corrected..

endless man-hours are wasted waiting on those unreliable mtumba ferries which stall at will bila plot.

@ Dem Gal...woman you are around?? I thought you and nyawera_1 killed each other...ama you killed her? karibu back
Haiya! Wasup Stunner! I am back hivi hivi. Kumbe huja-retire bado! Are you kidding me? Nyawera_1 is untouchable like an Italian Mafia Boss; I don't mess with them Sapranos.

You are very right, that bridge is completely displaced and could serve a better purpose elsewhere. Mpaka the roads that are connecting it are seasonal....si itabebwa na maji after kidogo soil erosion.

Default 08-27-2008, 07:21 PM

A very shallow idea indeed!! mombasa residents should chanell their views to their sleeping authorities on what they want at pwani.
Whoever researched and planned on this suspension bridge project did a good job for the people of that community.other places should do theirs.
Na hayo ni maendeleo.

THE KENYA WE WANT IS THE KENYA WE AS WANANCHI BUILD POLITICIANS DO NOT BUILD KENYA THEY BECOME FAT CATS.