Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Matatu fares

Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default Matatu fares - 04-28-2008, 11:47 AM

The matatu lobby says they are to increase fares (http://www.nationmedia.com/dailynati...newsid=122068). One of the reason is fuel cost is on the rise. Can't remember when the same guys ever reduced fares because fuel prices have reduced! Besides, they tend to fix prices but a slight downpour or heavy jams will result into commuters paying through their noses to compesate the reduced number of trips

Can there be a solution to this?

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default 04-28-2008, 06:14 PM

solution would be Government intervention coz common mwananchi suffers soo much now.Food expe,fuel the same..fares..hata sijui!!!

If you know what to do to reach your goal, it's not a big enough goal.

Default Govt control? - 04-29-2008, 02:22 AM

solution would be Government intervention coz common mwananchi suffers soo much now.Food expe,fuel the same..fares..hata sijui!!!
Does it mean govt control or subsidy ama to reintroduce Nyayo bus type govt transport?

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default 04-29-2008, 03:10 AM

Originally Posted by kabunja wa gathuita View Post
does it mean govt control or subsidy ama to reintroduce nyayo bus type govt transport?
hata sijui exactly how gava can help.if the prison warders can live in such shacks n the gava turns a blind eye,hata matatu sioni.as for nyayo buses,the big bellied pple will run them down again. I do not see any light actually at the end of the tunnel!

itchyfingaz is on a distinguished road

Default 04-29-2008, 03:15 AM

i dont think there's a way these people can help. prices will continually go up not only for fuel but for every other commodity. nyayo bus cant be reintroduced.what with 42 ministers? who is gonna pay their salaries?

......Pepeta iwake halafu chapa idoze ..........

Default 04-29-2008, 03:20 AM

Originally Posted by itchyfingaz View Post
i dont think there's a way these people can help. prices will continually go up not only for fuel but for every other commodity. nyayo bus cant be reintroduced.what with 42 ministers? who is gonna pay their salaries?
Poor kenyans n the salaries haziongezeki.am moving from middle income to low income class..poor me!

itchyfingaz is on a distinguished road

Default 04-29-2008, 03:31 AM

Poor kenyans n the salaries haziongezeki.am moving from middle income to low income class..poor me!
carole, relax.acha kujistress bure.just be good at what you do and things will look up. focus on the good stuff.sawa ma?

......Pepeta iwake halafu chapa idoze ..........

Default 04-29-2008, 03:36 AM

Originally Posted by itchyfingaz View Post
carole, relax.acha kujistress bure.just be good at what you do and things will look up. Focus on the good stuff.sawa ma?
sure..sure..but my dream of cruizing in a x5 next year may not be realised..lakini najikaza tu!

Default 04-29-2008, 04:45 AM

sure..sure..but my dream of cruizing in a x5 next year may not be realised..lakini najikaza tu!
Jikaze na Mungu atakubariki - you will be with the X5 and no more trekking across the city and suburbs

Default Govt can but with a good strategy - 04-29-2008, 04:54 AM

In Kenya, we seem to lack in a proper (if any) govt transport policy. Ask the minister for Transport if he has any 3 - 5 year strategy on transport and the guy might end up talking of K-Street and Mtwapa road I guess he knows those better

We already have a railway system that is almost down and dead - no wonder guys in Kibera pass their time uprooting it. If we follow the Economic laws of demand and supply, possibly alternative means of transport would force matatus to reduce their fare. If we had several passenger trains running efficiently on the already existing (though almost obsolete) railway system - this will be a good alternative. Just ask the wananchi plying Kahawa/Githurai Dandora route on how much they save.

There are the tuktuk (3-wheeler taxi) - how much of it has Mwakere and the gavaa tried to promote it as a cheap alternative taxi? Yet it is working in some countries.

Ideas...