Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Matatu fares

faiyyy is on a distinguished road

Default 04-30-2008, 02:59 AM

We already have a railway system that is almost down and dead - no wonder guys in Kibera pass their time uprooting it. If we follow the Economic laws of demand and supply, possibly alternative means of transport would force matatus to reduce their fare. If we had several passenger trains running efficiently on the already existing (though almost obsolete) railway system - this will be a good alternative. Just ask the wananchi plying Kahawa/Githurai Dandora route on how much they save.
True, i think that its time that the govt should invest in the rail system, but what KR are saying is that expansion is going to take 15 years, by then i think that we would have found another system of transport.

Then the roads network should be expanded, in the next five years at this rate, to reach tao from buru will take two hours on average.

Default 04-30-2008, 03:15 AM

I wonder , all of Railas degrees are they useless? Can't he suggest a subway/metro line or something. We don't need rails that can be uprooted by idlers, we need monitored under ground metro lines. Matatu industry should be regulated, but these pple in parliament don't care coz they don't take a matatu to work.

Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default 04-30-2008, 03:35 AM

Originally Posted by Sanaa- View Post
I wonder , all of Railas degrees are they useless? Can't he suggest a subway/metro line or something. We don't need rails that can be uprooted by idlers, we need monitored under ground metro lines. Matatu industry should be regulated, but these pple in parliament don't care coz they don't take a matatu to work.
These people care less and they benefit from the same masses that suffer travelling by the matatus. We pay for their salaries and luxurious lives through our sweat. Some of them have even benefitted from the cartels that run the matatu/transport industry (ask George Thuo, Mwakwere, et al) and they know regulating the industry will take off butter from their bread!

We can do with the rails -as for the rooting - that's politics for a different thread. But yes we need the subway/metro and as it is under the process, the minister for transport can give guidelines as to how we can efficiently use the existing lines.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.
Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default 04-30-2008, 03:41 AM

Originally Posted by faiyyy View Post
True, i think that its time that the govt should invest in the rail system, but what KR are saying is that expansion is going to take 15 years, by then i think that we would have found another system of transport.

Then the roads network should be expanded, in the next five years at this rate, to reach tao from buru will take two hours on average.
They say where there is will, there is way. Has KR and the govt provided a road map as to how they will expand the railway system? My doubts,and possibly the answer is no. The govt has been leaning on the east (China to be specific) - the chinese have been known to start projects and finish with a very short period! If KR with the support of the govt are willing to expand, it wouldn't take the 15 years. They can even start the expansion bits by bits targeting the major towns of which most are covered or are with range of teh existing railway network.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.