Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Our legal system

goigoi is on a distinguished road

Default Our legal system - 04-01-2008, 07:03 AM

Do you have faith in the judiciary? read this, it was in today's kbc news; " abraham saod abraham was charged with stealing a bottle of spray from uchumi super market along agha khan walk on 29th of march this year. He pleaded guilty to the offence and was fined 10 thousand shillings or three-month imprisonment."

I am a member of idhaa Community Forum

Default 04-01-2008, 07:12 AM

Goigoi I like your name.

A thief is a thief.

Anyway if he stole perfume and was fined 10,000 Ksh. Its not a big deal, he should assume he bought a Giorgio Armani 50ml for 100 euros.. same price as the fine.

Last edited by Sanaa- : 04-01-2008 at 07:46 AM.
Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default 04-01-2008, 11:45 AM

THe system is heavily punitive especially for small time thieves! The big fishes will always by their way out.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default 04-02-2008, 12:59 AM

What can I say? Its ****y but hell ! Let those who can make money out of it do it.

Usiniharakishe please. You can’t hurry meringues, couture, or the Hermes Birkin bag waiting list. So why try to hurry a vision of loveliness? (Fraglante)

Default 04-02-2008, 01:53 AM

Originally Posted by goigoi View Post
Do you have faith in the judiciary? read this, it was in today's kbc news; " abraham saod abraham was charged with stealing a bottle of spray from uchumi super market along agha khan walk on 29th of march this year. He pleaded guilty to the offence and was fined 10 thousand shillings or three-month imprisonment."
That is just meant to discourage one from attempting to do anything like that ever again. Stealing a perfume means he was learning to steal, for discouragement you get harsh punishament

YOU MAY BE DISAPPOINTED IF YOU FAIL,
BUT YOU ARE DOOMED IF YOU DON'T TRY.
itchyfingaz is on a distinguished road

Default 04-02-2008, 02:41 AM

Do you have faith in the judiciary?
enyewe hii sytem ni noma.others go unpunished for commiting very serious offences just because of corruption!! but the law is an ass and will always be.

"The one who thinks it cannot be done should not interrupt the one doing it"

Default 04-02-2008, 06:28 AM

Originally Posted by wanaume View Post
That is just meant to discourage one from attempting to do anything like that ever again. Stealing a perfume means he was learning to steal, for discouragement you get harsh punishament

yeah!!what about those fogo judgement passed to child molesters or rapists ati five years in jail instead of death or life time imprisonment.Our legal system is f#cked up and corrupt.if you have the money,you can buy justice or freedom.

"I've got the moves ks, you got the motion
If we got together we'd be causing a commotion"

Default My stand is Kenyan judicial system is crap - 04-02-2008, 09:28 AM

Okay I am not encouraging crime. But considering that we are in a country where the top 20% own 80 percent of the country, we should be realistic. This guy who stole something costing 100,he is indeed poor. Where the hell is he going get 10,000 he was fined if he cant pay 100 for the perfume?

In the civilised world-uzunguni, they would have given him suspended sentence. That thing we call community service. Let these petty thieves clean the city and reduce the need for a bloated City Council pay roll. Let then go to Government office and remove old furniture and clean Nyayo house. They could be used in repainting zebra crossings rather than spend prison money feeding them ugali + cabbage.

We can argue the whole day ati mwizi ni mwizi but the truth is we behave like an evolving mindless society.

If the system can not catch those who have signed for Anglo-leasing with the paper trail all the way to Geneva, why fungia such guys?

Last edited by goigoi : 04-02-2008 at 09:31 AM.
Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default Community service - 04-02-2008, 12:04 PM

Originally Posted by goigoi View Post
Okay I am not encouraging crime. But considering that we are in a country where the top 20% own 80 percent of the country, we should be realistic. This guy who stole something costing 100,he is indeed poor. Where the hell is he going get 10,000 he was fined if he cant pay 100 for the perfume?

In the civilised world-uzunguni, they would have given him suspended sentence. That thing we call community service. Let these petty thieves clean the city and reduce the need for a bloated City Council pay roll. Let then go to Government office and remove old furniture and clean Nyayo house. They could be used in repainting zebra crossings rather than spend prison money feeding them ugali + cabbage.

We can argue the whole day ati mwizi ni mwizi but the truth is we behave like an evolving mindless society.

If the system can not catch those who have signed for Anglo-leasing with the paper trail all the way to Geneva, why fungia such guys?
We used to have or possibly we still have the community service thing for petty offenders. But one problem with it was it lacked the proper monitoring/supervision mechanism. Most the guys doing community service would be cleaning courts ama kuokota takataka within the court premises.

In this case of a jamaa shop lifting, you can't rule out the possibility of the magistrate being influenced by the complainant (Uchumi or whoever).

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default Kenya the land of drama - 04-03-2008, 10:17 AM

Yes,It is true that when our lawyers meet in court, they want to impress those who might give them something back-I mean the magistrate knows that Uchumi will have a good word to say if they are favoured. What will the poor guy give.?

A quick story to show you how rotten the legal system is. My nephew went to one of the National school in Nairobi. He went to a Nairobi primo as well.

He has an uncle who shares the same names as his father- (the uncle is a cousin of his father-another interesting story, which i leave for another day). This uncle changed the names of his son and got an ID with the exact names of my nephew then went to this school and got my Nephew' certificate. Being a corrupt and connected fellow he went to a parastatal in Nairobi and got his son a job using my nephew's certificate.

To cut a long story short. When it was discovered, the matter was taken to court. The guy insisted he is the owner and the parents too. The funny thing is even teachers from the primary school and the High school came and gave evidence. His mother-my sister is one of them. My in-law produced fee receipts, House master and fellow classmates came and said they knew nothing about the thief. Yet, believe it or not- a stupid and self-righteous female magistrate in Kibera -rules-after about one year of drama-that the thief had convinced the court that the certificate is his to keep.
as we speak, my sister is preparing for an appeal.

that is a true story.

Back to the original observation, i think the cost of supervising them is much lower than feeding then in jail. Besides they will save money.

Last edited by goigoi : 04-03-2008 at 10:21 AM.