See Your Text Ad on Mashada For Just $19 (Limited Time Offer)
Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Life abroad kenyan students perspective

rayfisher is an unknown quantity at this point

Default Life abroad kenyan students perspective - 03-31-2008, 10:24 PM

Most fresh college and university graduates in kenya have the following notion about life abroad;

1.High standard of education.

2.Easy to get jobs that will help you pay fees on your own.

3.Takes shorter period to complete degree/master programs.

4.When you finally get a job after completing your program the salary will be hefty.

5.It is easy to meet a citizen and marry to get makaratasi.

6.It is easy to get well doing kenyans and marry them.

Now please help our young minds in kenya who read this to realise and understand the reality of life abroad,if any of the above is true where you are.

If A equals success, then the formula is A = X + Y+Z. X is work. Y is play. Z is keep your mouth shut.

Default 03-31-2008, 11:52 PM

Good topic. I dont know about other places, but i will speak for stato.brito nilipitia tu 6 - 7 months so i cant speak. Anyway..my opinion which is like morning breath..kila mtu anayo

1.high standard of education. what does the word "standard' here mean? degrees from here of course are sort all over and recognized.so this makes it a 'high standard". No matter what colle or univ. one attends long as the gpa is sawa you can get employment. Many times i've also seen people with fc.uked up gpa's with good jobs.there is one who supervises me everyday.

2.easy to get jobs that will help you pay fees on your own. blatant lie.i dont know who it is who goes to jamhuri and keeps feeding this lie and dumbos still believe it.going to school and working to pay bills and fees is no joke and not for the weak/faint at heart. Dont believe, take a tour among kenyans in my hood.

3.takes shorter period to complete degree/master programs. lol considering it took me about 6 yrs, and me not knowing one single jamaa who did it in 4 yrs flat, i'll dismiss this point too.

There are two sides here: 1) either you got some rich folks back home who are paying for your fees (<30% of wanainchi) in which case these spoilt brats fail in all other aspects social(DUI,baby daddy/mama drama etc) and consequently drop out. Or 2) you are hustling on your own in which there is no way you be done in 4 yrs. I tried.

4.when you finally get a job after completing your program the salary will be hefty. This is kiiiinda true. Of course it depends where you live and if your pay has been adjusted accordingly for cost of living.but if you graduate at least you will get a job somewhere.

Starting salaries are not the best, but depending on profession you will make it. Plus if while in school you were doing $9/hr and after graduation one is at ~$60k odds are on your side.

5.it is easy to meet a citizen and marry to get makaratasi. very contrary.in my opinion for jamaas it seems easier than for chics. See we can nyandua some fat white train wreck of a specimen, convince her you love her and evthing is set. She may do it knowing what the deal is ama if you want to tell her its a 'real' marriage shauri zako. 3- 4 yrs bounce. Dont know how long it take siku hizi.

Chics{esp. Kenyan} will throw hints at some serious hints, need some good looking akata with sijui what traits blah blah blah.we all know <2% of kenyan mamas will propose to a man. If you are a chic its easier and in your best interest to go the long route...colle>>job>>h-1b>>makaratasi

6.it is easy to get well doing kenyans and marry them. Well depending on where you live again. Huku there are tons of well doing wanainchi but the truth is nobody wants to marry your as.s. Get your own paper wacha kunyemelea za jirani.

I cant be here coding all this bull day in day out while you are 'front desk' and expect me to be head over heals for you. This said, i did my share of front desk. Btw, marry such, divorce time its 50-50. You loose male or female.

My $0.02 + tax

AM STILL HERE

Last edited by stunner : 03-31-2008 at 11:58 PM.

Default 04-01-2008, 02:28 AM

1.High standard of education.: This is mostly true, the universities and the industries in (especially the US) are quite interlinked, sio kama kenya where you get a degree and industries dont know what you did.

2.Easy to get jobs that will help you pay fees on your own. Lets jus say people should stop watching too many movies. Guys here dont sleep, rather, the schedule guys work makes guys force themselves to sleep and force themselves to wake up. You buy sleep inducing drugs, which force you to sleep for 6 hours before your next shift starts, then you take amphetamine drugs which give you a big kick, so that uko kama mtu amekunywa bangi, you dont feel sleepy, so that you can work for the next 8 hours.

3.Takes shorter period to complete degree/master programs.: 6 years is the standard period if you are hussling on your own.

4.When you finally get a job after completing your program the salary will be hefty.: Hapo i agree, nursing is the shizzo these days.

5.It is easy to meet a citizen and marry to get makaratasi.: These days akataaz have erevukad. So you meet an akata chiq and you pay for her rent, in exchange for her love and marriage and the makaratasi. Woe unto you if you fail to pay her the monthly fee, and you are out of status, ICE will be on your azz like a virus. Bloody lying life.

Chiqs and getting paged by white men, its crappy man,...very very crappy, people use people. The good thing is this. People nowadays PAY to use people. You rent me for 4 years, every month you PAY me every month for makaratasi. At the end of the 4 years its bye bye. What a waste of time. But hey the big american pie beckons with the right status, so....it gets ugly before it can get pretty.

6.It is easy to get well doing kenyans and marry them

As someone said, there are kenyans(those who came here before 99) when things werent soo strict, and have established themslves.
But marriage? Working like a donkey, doesnt give people time to socialize, all i can say is that sex is what is rampant, but not marriage. You cannot have lovey-dovies if all you working for is bills, ama you jus getting minimum wage, and your papers are not in order. hapana. You will first have to feed yourself.

Having said that, if you are grounded. you are well to go.

Only fools learn from experience. (Mkenya 2004-2007)
jamboree is on a distinguished road

Default 04-01-2008, 05:44 AM

Mkenya hit it spot on. I reckon Kenyans abroad are insincere when they yap about how life is hard outside Kenya. I think Kenyans are at times fine tuned to complain. Look at how we blame everything on other communities and you get the sense of my vibe.

By all honesty life abroad is better than back home especially if you are young and lack proper job experience that would land you a good job. Look at how much Kenyans remit monthly and tell me if thats not great. If I knew someone wishing to come abroad I would encourage the person and not telling him/her of the hustling bull yall like talking about. As I have always said, the Kenyan middle class is the worst creature one can come across (no pun intended). Kenyan middle class fellas seem to have a warped sense of life. So in Kenya its usual to see the usual limitations of class on our society since a lot of people shun certain jobs not because they dont pay well but they are conscious of what the society thinks of them. Thats why this class is notorious here abroad of complaining how life is hard. Has it occured to you that good things dont usually come easy?

As much as life abroad is not a bed of roses i think it would be foolhardy to suggest that life here is harder than in Nairoberry.
But of course dont forget home.

Default 04-01-2008, 06:58 AM

In my opinion, it is the best Free Education, especially the facilities & resources if you are doing Sciences/Engineering.

Education is free, So I don't know about other countries. However, you have to pay for your living (rent,bills etc) and that is managaeble if you are good at managing your finances, and if you are not a mchagua jembe.

Depends on your dilligence. With free education, one might think that you'll even graduate earlier than expected, but its very ironic, that even after going to school for free, people will always have some other excuse or reason not to wake up in the morning and go to school. I have always sort of believed that if one pays for their education then you don't mess around at all.

4.When you finally get a job after completing your program the salary will be hefty.

Most def.

Hefty is relative, depending on the country (we have very high taxation) also it depends on your standard of living. If you live on a beach front condo, then most def. a hefty salary will turn into a very ordinary salary.

All industrialised , developed countries pay reasonably well if you have educational qualifications, its not the salary that should be the issue but what you do with it.

Yes very easy . But story za kuoana for papers are old tactics and for losers. The law here states that if you earn at least 900 euros a month, you get your makaratasi. So why the hell should anyone suck old grey balls for 4 years to get makaratasis?

Every man for his own. Very rare to see Kenyans giving each other makaratasi, let alone fall in love for marriage.

Now please help our young minds in kenya who read this to realise and understand the reality of life abroad,if any of the above is true where you are.
My advice to anyone who wants to live abroad is:

Don't work on a strict time line, be reasonable and keep an open mind. E.g if you are say, 26 years old and want a decent life and an education, go for an associates degree for example in practical nursing, takes a very short time, earn the money to support your expenses while studying for whatever it is you want.

OR..

If you feel pressed for time, apply for your choice of degree, and get any job at all e.g in restaurants/hotels and life goes on.

Be realistic and smart. Find a country with affordable quality education and after you graduate you can move to an Ideal location where there are alot of jobs, good salaries, good quality of life and reasonable taxation for example Ireland. I know that in many countries, you can only have one or the other i.e a good and expensive education but little or no time to work (maybe even permission to work) So you have to be wise and chose which should be a priority so as to break even (education/finances).

With an education and a valid passport while outside of Kenya, you can consolidate your efforts in whatever country you like.

The Image is an Image - Lenny Kravitz

Default good question - 04-01-2008, 08:29 AM

Most fresh college and university graduates in kenya have the following notion about life abroad;

Yes with a degree from Eu/US/AU be sure you will land any plum job when you go back home.

Depends;in Europe its hard,but may be its possible for people doing nursing in the US,also might depend on the university,and programs available.3.Takes shorter period to complete degree/master programs.

May be back home for a repartriating mind.In germany you have to remain competitive to climb salary ladder.

In Germany many kenyan girls can easily achieve this no.5,the cost however sometimes includes one's life.Its a risky business.6.It is easy to get well doing kenyans and marry them.

Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default The East - 04-01-2008, 12:06 PM

I see most of the threads here are on the west - anyone in the east? I am not a student but have been in close touch with some

This is relative - which country you are in and the college. Come colle degrees like India will be considered useless back in Kenya

This is a big joke in some countries - no jobos

Country relative - but could be shorter than the public uni's in Kenya.

If you get the papers, yes you can get a good salary.

You marry and take them to Kenya!
Bet your luck!

Advice
Some countries in the east will be good, you must have a reliable source of money back home to support you.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.
african_luv

Default responsible citizens - 04-01-2008, 07:35 PM

I’d jus like to add that people living abroad have to be responsible when on holiday in Kenya.

Some people will incur debts to fund their trip, which is fine. But the showing off and creating illusions in peoples minds that money grows on trees abroad is just not right.
This behavior causes alot of problems especially when friends and relatives call from Kenya asking for money. You try to explain how you have a mortgage to pay and other overdue bills and they just think ur lying. They can’t see how its not possible to pick money from a tree outside.
It’s just irresponsible. We all know you will be paying off your debts when you get back.
And for those who are actually doing very well out here, try not to show off toooo much if at all you do. While you can actually help everyone who asks you for help, some of us struggle to. Some people esp in the rural areas, they wont differentiate between a successful person living abroad, and someone just doing ok. All that matters is that ur from abroad and therefore have money to help them. I don’t totally blame them for having this perception if we go back home and carelessly spend money while they watch.

ikea is on a distinguished road

Default 04-01-2008, 09:33 PM

Originally Posted by african_luv View Post
I’d jus like to add that people living abroad have to be responsible when on holiday in Kenya.

Some people will incur debts to fund their trip, which is fine. But the showing off and creating illusions in peoples minds that money grows on trees abroad is just not right.
This behavior causes alot of problems especially when friends and relatives call from Kenya asking for money. You try to explain how you have a mortgage to pay and other overdue bills and they just think ur lying. They can’t see how its not possible to pick money from a tree outside.
It’s just irresponsible. We all know you will be paying off your debts when you get back.
And for those who are actually doing very well out here, try not to show off toooo much if at all you do. While you can actually help everyone who asks you for help, some of us struggle to. Some people esp in the rural areas, they wont differentiate between a successful person living abroad, and someone just doing ok. All that matters is that ur from abroad and therefore have money to help them. I don’t totally blame them for having this perception if we go back home and carelessly spend money while they watch.
I agree I ain't with all that maringo sh1t 4 real.

“I fell asleep reading a dull book and dreamed I kept on reading, so I awoke from sheer boredom.A father carries pictures where his money used to be.

Default 04-01-2008, 10:53 PM

Originally Posted by Sanaa- View Post
In my opinion, it is the best Free Education, especially the facilities & resources if you are doing Sciences/Engineering.

Yes very easy . But story za kuoana for papers are old tactics and for losers. The law here states that if you earn at least 900 euros a month, you get your makaratasi.
Hmmmm Very interesting.Questions:

So is education free even for International students? i dont understand how this works. i mean dont you pay anything for admission,classes nothing just jet in the country and appear your diabs in class?? elaborate kidogo.

Second, 900 euros(abt $1400) you get makaratasi? Is this regardless of what job you are doing? Or does it have to be a professional job?

third.By makaratasi you mean a working visa or citizenship?

here a jamaa working in wal-mart (supermarket) earns $7-8/hr. Scandinavia je?

AM STILL HERE

Last edited by stunner : 04-01-2008 at 10:57 PM.