Nordic -
04-24-2008, 10:15 AM
Bachelor level studies are offered in finish, swedish, danish or norwegian in Nordic countries. Its only few international masters programs that are offered in English.....plz

04-24-2008, 10:28 AM
Originally Posted by Lobix
Bachelor level studies are offered in finish, swedish, danish or norwegian in Nordic countries. Its only few international masters programs that are offered in English.....plz
In sweden & Norway is where they have only a handful of bachelor level education in English. Sweden have mostly Masters but In Finland its different, every Uni has an International English side and a Finnish side both Bachelor and Masters.

04-24-2008, 12:43 PM
My opinion is that this idea ya kuoana for papers is sellfishness. Some even get pregnant or make some lady with papers pg coz of the papers. What about the child that is being made through this selfish tricks. Here, it really doent work, i see frustrations na watu wanaangaika kweli. It will be ok if you take a post graduate study abroard na scholarship. But bachelors.....not easy.

04-24-2008, 01:45 PM
Originally Posted by Sanaa-
Tsk... kumaanisha I'm in high school? . 
did you say you live in Sweden, dont you guys take a loan to pay for your High school?

04-24-2008, 07:54 PM
1.High standard of education.
If you go to a well-ranked school, yes. In fact, people in Kenya say US masomo is cheap. Well, unless you go University of Phoenix
2.Easy to get jobs that will help you pay fees on your own.
I don't think I would survive undergraduate education here. But, with most hardworking souls I know, you can do it in a fairly priced college. It would never happen in Kenya
3.Takes shorter period to complete degree/master programs.
Yes, but depends on your hard work. It took my sister 8 years for her committee to meet so that she can defend her thesis she completed when I was in form one. We graduated together in 2000 at the University of Nairobi, yet in those 8 years she didn't add a single letter on her thesis. Well, it took me two years to get my masters, plus taking extra courses with a thesis.
4.When you finally get a job after completing your program the salary will be hefty.
We think in Kenyans terms. They are fairly easy.
5.It is easy to meet a citizen and marry to get makaratasi.
You can do easily if you are skilled. I have been in more than five opportunities, but thats not my way.
6.It is easy to get well doing kenyans and marry them.
Women in Kenya are disadvantaged compared to men. Very few make it here.
So a nice Kenyan lady (in all terms) is hard to get. And more.... you know which class most of them come from. If you are poor, men easily hustle and make it.......

04-25-2008, 05:59 PM
Ok lemme make something clear, I'm not in any way encouraging people to break laws, coz re-reading my post it sounded like thats what I was saying. Pliz, make sure you abide by the laws in your new host country. At the time that I was in France, I was a teenager who threw all care to the wind, plus I spoke French which is very criticial coz they tend to give you leeway if you speak their language.
Kemi, I think you missed my point.What I was saying is, American citizens, I feel should not say ati the rich are stealing from the poor, why? Coz they all have equal opportunity, if you choose to work at Walmart, dont be mad at Sam Walton coz he is paying you way below your worth. You can either find a better job or you advance yourself so that you get what you deserve. People forget that above anything else, America is a capitalist nation, it rewards entrepreneurs/businesses and punishes jobs/ careers ( to a point). The economic stimulus package you are talking about, I questioned why a capitalist nation would give out $600 checks to millions of its citizens until I found the catch. While the common mwananchi is being appeased with $600, small business' tax deductions have doubled. Before small businesses could deduct upto $250,000 on taxes, now its at $500,000 and the maximum you can deduct is $800,000, talk about a real economic stimulus package. Now I understand why Republicans love Bush!!! So basically that $600 check is for wananchi to plough right back into small businesses. As much as America may not be the best place socially, I think when it comes to business, very few countries can compete. And remember as a business owner, you can provide your own healthcare, which basically means free healthcare. How I measure the economic might of a country is by how many self made Millionaires it has, so you can come up with lists of how the UN, or whichever agency ranks countries but at the end of the day, show me the money. The way I look at it, work hard in the US, vacation hard in Europe and Africa. As I write this I have less than $1000 in my account, but the reason I love this country is nothing is impossible, there are too many self made Millionaires and I aspire to be one of them one day.

04-26-2008, 01:25 PM
Just to make something clear, my view of no one owes you anything pertains only to people living in the US and Western nations. In Kenya, I think that you should help out wherever you can, nothing is too little. When you go home, if your budget is $2,000 give atleast 10% of that to a small business owner preferably those in under developed areas. 10% is $200, instead of giving tithes and sadaka to a church, give that money to someone who really needs it. Or instead of giving money, you can choose to support small businesses by not eating at fancy mostly foreign owned restaurants, eat at the local kiosks and leave a tip, however much your bill is, leave three times your bill as tip or more. In any case, your total expenditure would have been way more at the fancy restaurant and that tip will mean alot more to the local kiosk owner. Instead of shopping at Nakumatt, shop at your local kiosk and when you travel upcountry wait till you get there then buy items such as rice from the locals, coz chances are Nakumatt rice is imported or if its not, the farmer is hardly making any profit from it, the retailer is. Support your local mutura man and mama mboga. Buy books and distribute them to needy children, if possible sponsor one of those children's education. Together we can all make Kenya and Africa a better place. Hopefully in the near future we wont need to ask which country is the best to study in because we will already be in it.

04-27-2008, 07:36 AM
Nerima,
Dont think we r on the same page. It is not necessarily walmart. In general, US workers get paid less and part of the reason is coz of lack of unions. When I got here, I was told my pay would be $15 an hr higher than US....at least $5 an hr extra minimum. Clearly even $5 an hr is good...that's $200 a week better off. Enough to pay your monthly rent.
You cant blame the workers when govt policies are suppressing worker rights or mexicans jumping the walls to come and happily earn $5/hr. True it helps to be skilled. But Even the educated workers are getting underpaid or else the jobs get shipped to India. Now John howard wanted to lete maneno ya US, he quickly got booted. U know what Aussies did? They went and brought american workers who confessed that OZs would be stupid to change their system.
Did I say in Aussie people get 4 weeks vacation per year minimum? People who work on weekends/holidays such as nurses get paid extra and get extra days for vacation. In US to get 4 weeks vacation u'd have to work for a company 5 or so years at least.
Not to say it is all perfect....but America is abit on the extreme. What am saying is every country has upsides and downs and one shouldnt just look at the name/glory of a country to make a decision. Sometimes the devil is in the details.
Last edited by KEMINOKANA : 04-27-2008 at 07:39 AM.
Good reading -
04-28-2008, 07:30 AM
This is the best thread in a very long time - thanx to y'all: kemi, state, Sanaa, nerima, etc.. (but keep contributions going, this is not a farewell)
"Peace has come to Zimbabwe."
- Stevie Wonder, singing in 'Master Blaster' (1980)

04-28-2008, 08:34 AM
Originally Posted by KEMINOKANA
Nerima,
Dont think we r on the same page. It is not necessarily walmart. In general, US workers get paid less and part of the reason is coz of lack of unions. When I got here, I was told my pay would be $15 an hr higher than US....at least $5 an hr extra minimum. Clearly even $5 an hr is good...that's $200 a week better off. Enough to pay your monthly rent.
Did I say in Aussie people get 4 weeks vacation per year minimum? People who work on weekends/holidays such as nurses get paid extra and get extra days for vacation. In US to get 4 weeks vacation u'd have to work for a company 5 or so years at least.
Not to say it is all perfect....but America is abit on the extreme. What am saying is every country has upsides and downs and one shouldnt just look at the name/glory of a country to make a decision. Sometimes the devil is in the details.
I'm not really sure if I would like to be unionized. Then there's the union dues and all that crap all in the name of a 20cts raise...eish.
I also came to learn most European nations tend to have good vacation plans esp UK,France et al. I decided if I get pregnant *oh lawd not yet* but just in case, I would fly my ass into France or the UK. After watching "Sikko", every to be mother should give birth in those nations. You get almost 6 months off in total and additional "state" help. Also some mama comes to check on you all the time, all free of charge from the govt. Here in America you get a C-section, you go home in 3 days, and your employer expects you back in a month or 2. Woe unto u if you had taken a month off before the due date. No wonder u see many Kenyans shipping their parents to the US so they can be "watching" the kids...lol...