Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Life abroad kenyan students perspective

(#61 (permalink))

Default 04-23-2008, 08:45 AM

What crazyboo doesnt tell you is that there are lots of americans in southern texas living conditions of a third rate third world country. Some of them have never seen a proper job in their lives and the most advanced businesses ni kiosks. Not much different from nakuru. But yo find some of these people thumping their chests that they live in the best country and all that. LOL talk about ignorance! You will find them wearing even neckties with american flags yet they cant afford healthcare although they pay alot in taxes for the same. They dont believe that in some countries, one will never see a slum. But in the US, every city has a shanty town. The US is one overrated country...in all honesty. Am quite sure there are lots of Finnish who are happy while majority of americans are saddled with debt, foreclosures, recession. Their socialist system is serving them well whereas americans are ****ting with their capitalist system. Switzerland is considered by everyone except americans to be one of the finest countries. Not perfect....but the discrepancy of wealth exhibited in the US where the rich are robbing everyone else doesnt exist and that's not a bad thing. Better a society of thousandanairs than one of ten millionaires with ten million beggars.

I would encourage anyone studying abroad to consider those facts. America is not all roses especially for students. I'm one of those who've left States to study abroad because not only is it cheaper, the programs are shorter and jobs for students pay better than those $7/hr walmart jobs. It's good to be open minded.

My .02222349 cents.

Bla bla yada yada

Last edited by KEMINOKANA : 04-23-2008 at 08:52 AM.
(#62 (permalink))
crazy boo has a little shameless behaviour in the past

Default 04-23-2008, 10:05 AM

What crazyboo doesnt tell you is that there are lots of americans in southern texas living conditions of a third rate third world country. Some of them have never seen a proper job in their lives and the most advanced businesses ni kiosks. Not much different from nakuru. But yo find some of these people thumping their chests that they live in the best country and all that. LOL talk about ignorance! You will find them wearing even neckties with american flags yet they cant afford healthcare although they pay alot in taxes for the same. They dont believe that in some countries, one will never see a slum. But in the US, every city has a shanty town. The US is one overrated country...in all honesty. Am quite sure there are lots of Finnish who are happy while majority of americans are saddled with debt, foreclosures, recession. Their socialist system is serving them well whereas americans are ****ting with their capitalist system. Switzerland is considered by everyone except americans to be one of the finest countries. Not perfect....but the discrepancy of wealth exhibited in the US where the rich are robbing everyone else doesnt exist and that's not a bad thing. Better a society of thousandanairs than one of ten millionaires with ten million beggars.

I would encourage anyone studying abroad to consider those facts. America is not all roses especially for students. I'm one of those who've left States to study abroad because not only is it cheaper, the programs are shorter and jobs for students pay better than those $7/hr walmart jobs. It's good to be open minded.

My .02222349 cents.

Shame on you Kemi for ranting that much and then reiterating what I said to students. See previous posts. By far free educ beats anything. I didnt say US is good for education at all. I also know switzerland and most western European countries-France,UK,, or even Canada are may be alil better than US for the working class as far as social goods like healthcare go.

p/s I see you finally decided to move.

(#63 (permalink))

Default 04-23-2008, 10:16 AM

Originally Posted by fiery_preacher
There was a kenyan student brutaly murdered in Czech,and his parents had a difficult time getting assistance from the authorities.His body parts were missing when his body was discovered.Some countries are just sheer trauma.SO it is in good taste for kenyans living abroad to give good guidance to kenyans who want to study abroad,no need directing them to such countries.
Like I said, I also don't know about Czech republic, save from what that Ghanian told me about life being cheap, and school being free. Very sad story

Lol kemi @ American neck ties

Last edited by Sanaa- : 04-23-2008 at 10:19 AM.
(#64 (permalink))
Nerimae is on a distinguished road

Default 04-23-2008, 04:06 PM

Sanaa coupla questions, the education you are getting is it in English or Finnish? Coz my friend in Russia is getting free education on Chemical Engineering in Russian!!!!! I admire her coz I jua that has to be hard, BUT how relevant will that education be if you decide to move out of your host country. Knowing Americans, i'm sure they will demand you still get more schooling if you decide to move here with a degree in Chemical engineering in Russian.
Halafu how can you be a socialist and a capitalist at the same time? I think in Europe socialism can work out coz people are pretty much honest and work for their money. In the States it wouldnt work coz I would have to chip in on the medical bills of an obese excuse of a human being while he/she sits ( or in some cases lies) at home getting fatter, how??? No way, nimekataa!!! Coz you know how they always have excuses sijui I have high blood pressure, sijui low metabolism, sijui genetics. And LOL at you feeling guilty about not paying metro fares, I guess that gene doesnt run in me coz Lord knows I got warned enough times by the French police.
Kemi please just stop, ati you said the rich in the States are stealing from the poor? No one owes anyone anything, so this idea of its unfair for rich people to get richer is just absurd. The formula is come up with an invention, overcharge the American public , make your Millions then find ways to evade taxes like giving to charity. So you cant be mad at someone for being an entrepreneur.
Honestly, I think the standards of living are way better in Europe than in the US but, chances of one becoming a millionaire are far greater in the US than in Europe. So I guess at the end of the day it boils down to would you rather hustle for yours or would you rather the govt give it to you on a mediocre platter? (Possibility of) Millions or free healthcare?, choice is yours.

(#65 (permalink))

Default 04-23-2008, 08:11 PM

CB, I'm not ranting but you can also agree that alot of americans' patriotism is illogical. LOL it is even a crime to some of these nutcases to complain about the lack of healthcare. They go, how dare you criticize this great country, why dont you leave it? LOL am like dang...easy...
I think u are looking at gross pay in terms of taxes but I'd imagine the disposable income is not much different. Yes I finally moved and am enjoying being made to feel stupid coz its like...shiet! am I dumb or what. LOL. But I would never have made a better choice although alot of people think am crazy.

Nerima,
The US is one place where the rich steal from the people. Look at the war in iraq. A trillion plus dollars....all of it from people's taxes. Kumbe akina **** cheney engineered the war to benefit halliburton and other war machine companies some of which his friends stuff the boards. That is not theft? If u think am being silly, imagine this, the economic package congress passed was for less than @200b. But a few months ago, congress passed a bill to finance the wars of $100b, another 100b is coming up this month and u can be sure another is coming in a few months. LOL. That is not theft? it is to me. Then workers are getting paid $7 dollars walmart in the US. Do u know how much the same cashiers get paid in australia? $20 at least! Taxes are not much different. I mean even if living expenses doubled, the aussie cashier is still $6 an hr ahead...lol. U tell me the american cashier is not being screwed? And the CEO earns how much? Come on. I know UK is about the same as US in terms of pay so I cant single out america alone.

As for education, one of my professors is Israeli with an obvious israeli accent. He definitely makes good cash. Alot of russian/german engineers are respected even though they learn in their native languages. It is the content, not the language that matters. A friend of mine did his phd in germany in chemistry, he teaches in the US. Only thing is learning the new language.

Bla bla yada yada
(#66 (permalink))

Default 04-23-2008, 08:23 PM

Before I leave, Nerima, am not saying that people should be lazy. This is the brainwashing america does to people. Some of the rhetoric is too simplistic although it has some truth to it. I tell u what, systems can only work if the people respect the system. Alot of scandinavians respect their socialist system and wouldnt want capitalism. As such, they do not abuse it. The problem with US is simple. U cant have extreme capitalism and socialism on the same plate. Like I said, alot of americans bila college education earn very little. If a govt designs relief packages whose sum outsums the worker's pay, the person is gon choose the relief package over work.

As for school fees, what I said is this. I would gladly pay taxes so that my fellow countrymen get education because they too will pay for the upcoming generation and so forth. That to me is fair. Alot of people are not poor by choice and I do not believe a system that punishes the disadvantaged makes sense. For instance, fine say u work hard and make it. U dont wanna share ur money with anyone via taxes. What do u think will happen? Those who wont make it to school will be desolate and eventually, they will come steal from u by force. Simple logic really. But as I said, if everyone is participating in the system, am ok with it.

And as I said, alot of americans' disposable income is not all that after you pay college debts, transportation(normally a car loan since hakuna public transport), healthcare, taxes and etc.

Bla bla yada yada
(#67 (permalink))
crazy boo has a little shameless behaviour in the past

Default 04-23-2008, 11:02 PM

Before I leave, Nerima, am not saying that people should be lazy. This is the brainwashing america does to people. Some of the rhetoric is too simplistic although it has some truth to it. I tell u what, systems can only work if the people respect the system. Alot of scandinavians respect their socialist system and wouldnt want capitalism. As such, they do not abuse it. The problem with US is simple. U cant have extreme capitalism and socialism on the same plate. Like I said, alot of americans bila college education earn very little. If a govt designs relief packages whose sum outsums the worker's pay, the person is gon choose the relief package over work.

As for school fees, what I said is this. I would gladly pay taxes so that my fellow countrymen get education because they too will pay for the upcoming generation and so forth. That to me is fair. Alot of people are not poor by choice and I do not believe a system that punishes the disadvantaged makes sense. For instance, fine say u work hard and make it. U dont wanna share ur money with anyone via taxes. What do u think will happen? Those who wont make it to school will be desolate and eventually, they will come steal from u by force. Simple logic really. But as I said, if everyone is participating in the system, am ok with it.

And as I said, alot of americans' disposable income is not all that after you pay college debts, transportation(normally a car loan since hakuna public transport), healthcare, taxes and etc.

True...there's lots of poor people here. American system at its best is good at making people feel they don't have to work due to numerous programs-food stamps,welfare etc etc. I honestly do not support food stamps/medicaid/medicare programs. I would however want to see the money redirected more to healthcare for all. The hardest thing ever is to get sick here, and before you qualify for medicaid you may as well go to Cuba for treatment.

Lakini Nerimae, its tru there is a big gap between the rich and the poor thanks to stupid George Bush and his poor economic policies. The economy is HEAVILY dependent on the middle class $ 45,000-$250,000. These people are the ones who support the economy while people in hollywood cruise. Ever wondered why celebs donate alot(millions) at the end of the year? These people are beating the system. They turn back and claim that money or to reduce their tax debt.

I remember one doc who was offering to pay for a pals medical school....I'm like WTF. Kumbe the doc would get a tax break for supporting a " grossly needy student".

In all respect education is expensive in states. I still believe Texas has the cheapest and subsidized education. When my friends spent about $4,000 a sem in a comm college, I maxed out at $3400 including fees/labs at a uni.

That said, if one can get Free education tafadhali go for it. Just make your life easy too and take classess with English instruction. Its obvious one is likely to get more marketable in the world arena if they have English as the primary language.

(#68 (permalink))
Borse is on a distinguished road

Default 04-24-2008, 12:16 AM

I will always say this to anyone willing to hear. Life is just that....an illusion. This is just a game and what u looking for to safisfy ur inner self can only be found in one way. Love for one another. U dont realize how much this can change the world. As for u thinking life abroad is a bed of roses picture this. Do u know that a human being will always resort to looking at the bright side of things even when they are tratas? those illusions u are shown on tv by the media are just that. Illusions. I am still yet to find that nice part of states i see on tv. Do u also know that 70 percent of americans live on debt? oh yes. Mali sio yao ni ya kukopa and it results in no life just struggling to make ends meet. They never show u that on tv just the rich people out there living a life of luxury. Oh and by the way do u know there are alot of homeless people, poor people, potholes etc in the west too? this are human beings and if they ever want the best for themselves then they eint stupid enough to wish such a life. Somewhere kuliumana and u better reason that u might fall in that trap too. Do u also know that there are many rich people but they have no life because they thot that money will change their lives but wapi....it was all ego. But there are alot of opportunities out there but it depends mostly on fate here. Some will get them some will end up masuruali kabisa. Have u ever pictured urself meeting obstacles and how easily u can give up. Its just a game out here and u better stop dreaming and wake up for ur dreams to come true. The point is, life is just an illusion and the future belongs to those who open their eyes wide enough to see the game that they are part off and the game is...God sending u here to accomplish a mission that u long forgot before u were born. Peace, Love, Dec 21st 2012

(#69 (permalink))

Default 04-24-2008, 12:48 AM

Originally Posted by Borse View Post
...I am still yet to find that nice part of states i see on tv.
Are u in USA? Get a job on a golf course - grass cutter (mow the tee every few mins!). Impress them with your African-accented "perfect" English -- you will become a lounge topic!

"Peace has come to Zimbabwe."
- Stevie Wonder, singing in 'Master Blaster' (1980)

Last edited by Type R : 04-24-2008 at 12:55 AM.
(#70 (permalink))

Default 04-24-2008, 12:53 AM

Nerimae , Education for International students in Finland is in English. As for the quality of education in relation to the rest of the worlds, Finland is ranked No. 1 by the World Economic Forum in enrollment and in quality in Maths and Sciences. Education in Finland - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia