Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Ulevi

Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default Ulevi - 03-20-2008, 04:14 PM

It is a long Easter weekend. Guys will be out drinking. Anytime for break, Kenyans are there drinking. How many would admit having a drinking problem?

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default 03-20-2008, 08:28 PM

Yes i have a problem with the drink; can't bloody afford it this weekend and i have to work as well.

Titchaz is on a distinguished road

Default 03-20-2008, 09:21 PM

Originally Posted by Kabunja wa Gathuita View Post
It is a long Easter weekend. Guys will be out drinking. Anytime for break, Kenyans are there drinking. How many would admit having a drinking problem?
Until you get busted, then you cant really admit u have a drinking problem!
Drink safely and no D.U.I.s!!!!

jamboree is on a distinguished road

Default Kenyans and the drink! - 03-21-2008, 12:39 AM

Yaani i dont know whats wrong with Kenyans and the drink. Its like the love affair between the opposite sexes between jangos and kiuks. Ok just had to prove that there is no love lost between these 2 communities. Easter holiday is here and now this is another excuse for Kenyans hitting the bottle like there is no tommorrow. I think this culture ought to stop. Anyway as Titchaz says, at least drink responsibly. I wonder Titchaz is your advice for ODM only or now you embrace PNU and your brethren from Central in line with the reconciliation spirit in the country?

Default Hakuna ukabila - 03-21-2008, 02:47 AM

Originally Posted by jamboree View Post
Yaani i dont know whats wrong with Kenyans and the drink. Its like the love affair between the opposite sexes between jangos and kiuks. Ok just had to prove that there is no love lost between these 2 communities. Easter holiday is here and now this is another excuse for Kenyans hitting the bottle like there is no tommorrow. I think this culture ought to stop. Anyway as Titchaz says, at least drink responsibly. I wonder Titchaz is your advice for ODM only or now you embrace PNU and your brethren from Central in line with the reconciliation spirit in the country?
Ulevi haina ukabila ama chama! Drinking responsibly should be for - if you are bussted, no law abiding police will ask you tribe or party.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.
jamboree is on a distinguished road

Default 03-21-2008, 03:25 AM

Ulevi haina ukabila ama chama! Drinking responsibly should be for - if you are bussted, no law abiding police will ask you tribe or party.
True dat. All they ask is "Ghuja hapa kichana. china yako nani? umetoga wapi na unaelegea wapi? na wewe kichana unaghaa umelewa" Then they take u aside and go like " sasa unajua...." What happens after that your guess is as good as mine. That was good Ol Nai for you..

I wonder what the new lines are now going to be. Maybe something like "ugo coalition compliant ama wewe ni chambanzi ya ukabila". I cant even come with original lines coz those guys are just clowns at times. Funny thing they r so so different when not in uniform.

Last edited by jamboree : 03-21-2008 at 03:36 AM.

Default Funny - 03-21-2008, 03:53 AM

Originally Posted by jamboree View Post
True dat. All they ask is "Ghuja hapa kichana. china yako nani? umetoga wapi na unaelegea wapi? na wewe kichana unaghaa umelewa" Then they take u aside and go like " sasa unajua...." What happens after that your guess is as good as mine. That was good Ol Nai for you..

I wonder what the new lines are now going to be. Maybe something like "ugo coalition compliant ama wewe ni chambanzi ya ukabila". I cant even come with original lines coz those guys are just clowns at times. Funny thing they r so so different when not in uniform.
Yep, the coppas are quite funny and at times I take some fake that accent and clownness (such word exists!).

But what do you make of a country where even pastors/priests are caught drunk and yet they are supposed to shepherd their sheep (people of God)! away from the tipple?

Papa_Shirandula is on a distinguished road

Default 03-21-2008, 04:20 AM

Its not just akenyan problem. Av been to UG and I tend to think there things are worse. Pubs there are opened from 12pm to 8am. With all the marketing done by EABL what do you expect? This can only be summarised in the profits they reap every yaer. If theirprofits are on an upward trend then your guess is as good as mine.

Searching for the sign and the sign is us. Searching for the truth all you find is us

Default 03-21-2008, 05:17 AM

It is true, not a Kenyan problem. I am in a country where men consume the hard stuff like madness!

But focussing Kenya, it is a social issue, a big problem. I do agree with you on the EABL and the profits, but not fully. There are many other sources of alcohol - think of changa'a and all the illicit brews. I think the capita consumption of other brews is higher than those produced by EABL.

Papa_Shirandula is on a distinguished road

Default 03-21-2008, 05:51 AM

There many reasons why different people drink the way they do. Most people are experiencing the highest levels of stress in their lives especially in the slums. Their only way to calm themselves is the the readily available illicit brews.
For the rich its just a matter of fiiting into the class. Every Friday guys must drink no matter what.

Searching for the sign and the sign is us. Searching for the truth all you find is us