Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Ulevi

jamboree is on a distinguished road

Default 03-21-2008, 06:32 AM

Originally Posted by Kabunja wa Gathuita View Post
It is true, not a Kenyan problem. I am in a country where men consume the hard stuff like madness!

But focussing Kenya, it is a social issue, a big problem. I do agree with you on the EABL and the profits, but not fully. There are many other sources of alcohol - think of changa'a and all the illicit brews. I think the capita consumption of other brews is higher than those produced by EABL.
Actually consumption of illicit brews has gone down considerably. However you will find people consuming hard drinks and the cheap EABL senator brew commonly known as obama. Just take a stroll through the back alleys in the city and see how promising youth some in professional jobs are wasting away. Its a pity the society is not addressing this vice.

Last edited by jamboree : 03-21-2008 at 09:02 AM.
Titchaz is on a distinguished road

Default 03-21-2008, 08:22 AM

Originally Posted by jamboree View Post
Yaani i dont know whats wrong with Kenyans and the drink. Its like the love affair between the opposite sexes between jangos and kiuks. Ok just had to prove that there is no love lost between these 2 communities. Easter holiday is here and now this is another excuse for Kenyans hitting the bottle like there is no tommorrow. I think this culture ought to stop. Anyway as Titchaz says, at least drink responsibly. I wonder Titchaz is your advice for ODM only or now you embrace PNU and your brethren from Central in line with the reconciliation spirit in the country?
Jamboree,heshima yako upewe
My love is for all Kenyans regardless of ethnicity and party
affiliations.I have always embraced my brethren from central
na I have no problems with that.So the advice is to all those
Kenya beer lovers...hakuna noma na kupewa..just be careful.
Happy Easter!!

Default 03-21-2008, 08:22 AM

Ulevi haina ukabila ama chama! Drinking responsibly should be for - if you are bussted, no law abiding police will ask you tribe or party.
I second your sentiments.Asante.

Default 03-21-2008, 09:00 AM

Originally Posted by Titchaz View Post
Jamboree,heshima yako upewe
My love is for all Kenyans regardless of ethnicity and party
affiliations.I have always embraced my brethren from central
na I have no problems with that.So the advice is to all those
Kenya beer lovers...hakuna noma na kupewa..just be careful.
Happy Easter!!
hio freshi basi!

Default 03-21-2008, 09:27 AM

hio freshi basi!
Karibu sana!!!

Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default Dilemma or catch 22 - 03-22-2008, 01:02 AM

Actually consumption of illicit brews has gone down considerably. However you will find people consuming hard drinks and the cheap EABL senator brew commonly known as obama. Just take a stroll through the back alleys in the city and see how promising youth some in professional jobs are wasting away. Its a pity the society is not addressing this vice.
I do not know if it is a dilemma or a catch 22 situation for EABL. They have been promoting the "drink responsibly campaign" yet driven the desire to make more profits and satisfy their shareholders, they came up with cheap and affordable drinks like senator. This is the kind of drinking that is eating into the society's productive generation. May be other than the "drink safely campaigns", there should be counselling sessions!

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default Yeah its a big dilemna - 03-22-2008, 01:28 AM

I do not know if it is a dilemma or a catch 22 situation for EABL. They have been promoting the "drink responsibly campaign" yet driven the desire to make more profits and satisfy their shareholders, they came up with cheap and affordable drinks like senator. This is the kind of drinking that is eating into the society's productive generation. May be other than the "drink safely campaigns", there should be counselling sessions!
And they charge the counselling sessions ensuring they reap drunkards off well. Anyway I know EABL is doing business and their aim is to maximize the shareholder's value. However the government should regulate alcohol consumption. Like what basically Sigei had implemented which appeared to work for quite a while. The hours of operation should be say 4pm to 10 pm on weekdays and weekends from say 2 pm to 10 pm unless the venue is a licensed night club. The police seem incapable of monitoring this and so perhaps a new team maybe under NACADA should be in charge.

The law should be such that KBL and its distributors can only supply those establishments that have a license. But then I am saying nothing because trust Kenyans with finding loopholes to quench the masses.

Last edited by jamboree : 03-22-2008 at 01:31 AM.

Default There is a law - 03-22-2008, 02:21 AM

And they charge the counselling sessions ensuring they reap drunkards off well. Anyway I know EABL is doing business and their aim is to maximize the shareholder's value. However the government should regulate alcohol consumption. Like what basically Sigei had implemented which appeared to work for quite a while. The hours of operation should be say 4pm to 10 pm on weekdays and weekends from say 2 pm to 10 pm unless the venue is a licensed night club. The police seem incapable of monitoring this and so perhaps a new team maybe under NACADA should be in charge.

The law should be such that KBL and its distributors can only supply those establishments that have a license. But then I am saying nothing because trust Kenyans with finding loopholes to quench the masses.
There is a law in Kenya on operational hours for bars. I am not sure of the time but they should not open before 11 am and they should be closed around 2 pm then start serving alcohol from 5 to 11pm. But as you say, Kenyans are good in flouting any law and regulation! EABL can extend the Social Responsibility by ensuring adherence of such a law/by-law and work closely with NACADA or any other team that will be responsible.

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.

Default 03-22-2008, 03:01 AM

There is a law in Kenya on operational hours for bars. I am not sure of the time but they should not open before 11 am and they should be closed around 2 pm then start serving alcohol from 5 to 11pm. But as you say, Kenyans are good in flouting any law and regulation! EABL can extend the Social Responsibility by ensuring adherence of such a law/by-law and work closely with NACADA or any other team that will be responsible.
Yeah there is such a law- they ve nicknamed it "masaa ya Sigei" after the former Nairobi PC. EABL CSR is a good way to go but I hope people can just be more enlightened and shun the excessive drinking. I dont see the reason why pubs should be competing for space with other businesses. This thing is stagnating our economy bwana- instead of thinking to buy a shirt, or carrots from hawkers one would rather guzzle a senator keg or whatever brand out there.

Default Sigei - 03-22-2008, 03:29 AM

Yeah there is such a law- they ve nicknamed it "masaa ya Sigei" after the former Nairobi PC. EABL CSR is a good way to go but I hope people can just be more enlightened and shun the excessive drinking. I dont see the reason why pubs should be competing for space with other businesses. This thing is stagnating our economy bwana- instead of thinking to buy a shirt, or carrots from hawkers one would rather guzzle a senator keg or whatever brand out there.
I think was just enforcing laws that were made kitambo but nobody was practising - I remember many years ago there classes of bars. Some were called off-licence and could only operate within specified time and locality. Nowadays, it is like everyone can't get a licence to operate anywhere, and I agree with you pubs are competing onm any available space like is the case in the Nairobi CBD. The economy may not be stagnating due to drink as much of the profits are retained in the country -the pubs do employ many youthful attendants. But money may be used ifor the wrong as per your example.