Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Just the old days...maybe you have seen this but it makes my day

Bozi is on a distinguished road

Default Just the old days...maybe you have seen this but it makes my day - 02-20-2008, 06:13 AM

Sandaks that came in all the colors known to man, and when it got hot your feet felt like they were in a freaking sauna closing day in primo and your parents gave you ksh. 5.00 and you felt hot coz the chips (& fish), soses and cools are on you. "wanteds" on closing day from the school bullys and class prefects were usually the target after three months of being on the noise maker list. Relas from shags come to your house and take over the tv and all they wana watch is press review, nyimbo za dini, dunia wikihii, press conference and to top it off, they put national service on the radio. Games like kalongo, tapo, shake, taking jualas and wrapping them around so tight with kambas and the result was an oddly shaped but functional mpira. Leonard mambo mbotela - je hii/huu ni ungwana? what about magazines like true love (still there!!), drum, viva, step, picha hadithi..... . Covering your primo books with brown paper or gazetis ha ha ha miss them days !! you're forgetting.. . We had to cover the books with brown paper, plastic paper and put those blue and white labels with our names on them. Remember holiday homework?? we used to wait mpaka the last two days of hol's before beginning math "sums" and inshas on akina inspekta wingo of simu ya kifo.. Kumbuka days of mamboleo, that was the most boring and what about washaing the tv to get those test signal lines, (yaani tv haijanza) ama those messages of do not adjust your set after you've been trying to reduce brightness for kitu 1/2 an hour and kumbe kbc are cocking up as usual. When ktn first came out and some jamaas used to feel hot cauze their tv's showed ktn clear bila any antennas hoisted atop their houses. Some of us had 2 antennas and a booster lakini bado ktn haiwessssss!!!. When everybody used to watch neighbours on ktn and weekend movie on kbc. Before the fm revolution jamaas used to listen to sundowner on kbc english service. When capital and metro hit the scene jamaas switched fast........ ......... ......... .no doubt. What about playing that game for pele...you remove the (tumthings from bottle tops and blow "pa"!) ...rounders. ..and cha mama.. Manze playing shake in the esto-the jamaas against the chicks, back in the day when we were all too young to feel sweet.... Also those days of playing police and robbers and mkebe (another version of hide and seek, only using a kimbo or blueband mkebe) also gone are the days of playing "tapo", drinking chai ya saa kumi, eating hot lunch in school, walking to the bus stop and playing mpaka six before entering a full bus, , a wall with broken bottles and a dog called chui... How about "tushauriane" and the way it was banned so fast and remember the programme "usiniharakishe" which aired for two episodes and then was banned? i remember way back then, we used to make "safo cars" using kimbo and cowboy tins, steal coat wire hangars, and cut bata slippers for the wheels and stuff. Then race around the estate over the weekend during the safari rally. Others would make motis out of wire and blada alone, and have its own steering wheel. And also, when guys used to play, i cant remember the name, but someone would draw a road track with many curves and guys would bring bottle tops. One would place it and hit it with the middle finger 3 times and it had to be in the track or you were out of the game. The game of was called "bottle tops". We called the game "1 2 3". Days when blada & kati was the game 4 chics. They also had those funny nursery rhymes the whole day-"concentration, concentration now begins….names of…meat please….for example...cow… be quick!!!" remember the days when we used to be all excited kama kwenyu kulipikwa chapo and that day you would be wishing for the day to end so that you can go and eat the chapos. Don't forget akina wild rose, the rich also cry, the bold and the beautiful and no one but you-much better than todays esmaraldas!! !. Who recalls christmas wouldnt be christmas without nguo za chrisi???????? closing days used to fall on fridays and in the evening the whole family would be boardning a bus to shags mpaka holz ziishe-siku hizi hakuna watu shags remember those sodas that came in every color and flavor imagineable ... Schweppes... Remember the soda called "mirinda"? and seven up!!!! remember the signature tune for kbc radio news? the tune for "sundowner"? the classic tune for "late date"? when you had a kobole (5 bob) you were the hero of the esto coz u could buy (puruz) patcos for everyone.? man the good ol'days and ***** cat chewing gum!!! both pink and black!!!!!! remember those mare kwa mare guys? ( mali kwa mali ) they used to come to the estate and exchange all your old clothes and shoes for a plastic basin and two glasses... Who was or what is shokolokobangoshe? ? shining outside church as a teenager with the latest clads... Going for debate against other government chuos.....and the most exciting part is your enemy losing... Remember milk ya nyayo in primo. Those who scored well in class that day would take home two pakos of milk or the class teacher carries away all the rest. All in all, we should never forget where we have come from...because i believe it has partly to do with what we are today.

Be happy
Beenie_gal is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 02-20-2008, 07:20 AM

PARAGRAPHING

how many years have you been in skool!!

ala

Am tryin to see things from your point of view.. but i cant stick my head that far up my ass!
khalif

Default 02-20-2008, 10:54 PM

Originally Posted by Beenie_gal View Post
PARAGRAPHING

how many years have you been in skool!!

ala
LMAO Good one!

ikea is on a distinguished road

Default 02-20-2008, 11:51 PM

I cannot concentrate on that looooooooooooooong shi*T.Who was your teacher?

If you haven't got all the things you want,be grateful for the things you don't have and that you don't want.
Bozi is on a distinguished road

Default 02-21-2008, 02:50 AM

Yeah...

I understand....thats the problem with copy and paste, no paragraphing.

Anyway bottom line, you all went through that. As for the number of years i have been in school , how do i answer that one?

Well it is long, i agree but interesting.

Good day.

Be happy