A post for the more nostalgic people who grew up in nairoberry -
01-28-2008, 10:02 AM
I just got this email from a friend of mine and I just thought I would share it with everyone:
"I grew up in Nairobi, sorry if you didnt
Do you always check for your wallet and/or mobile phone everytime you get off a bus? Are you shocked when your in a traffic jam in a foreign country and no one is overtaking on the pavement? Do you instinctively say 'gota' when someone is about to greet you? If someone asks you for a shoe do you give them ten of whatever currency you have? Do you know which pastor is synonymous with the words 'miracle baby'? Do you know whether or not Vioja Mahakamani is a T.V. show or a place between Tierra Del Fuego and the Argentinian border? Do you know the meaning of the following words, sorora, kwachu, ngeta, wadhii, bano? Do you find it normal for someone to be selling roast maize, oranges and charcoal at the same time? Can you speak swahili, english and sometimes both at the same time? Do you have firends called Toma, Mato, Kabz, Bryo, Pato, Deno, Jemo, Kevo and so on? Do you crave goat meat roasted over an open fire? Are you scared of obz? Can you complete the phrase, 'ukiona wao, weka _______'? Does the word KENCHIC bring back memories of first dates, oily meals and revolving poultry? If the answer to any of these questions for you is no, then you've had a deprived childhood. If the answer is yes you were blessed to grow up in the craziest town on planet earth. NAIROBI DAMU!!"
You dig?

01-28-2008, 11:32 AM
do you check out where the exit signs are as soon as u enter a club? have u ever been driven home by nation newspaper delivery vans at night(pesa ya taxi haitoshi) did you "charge" mtaani first before going out.are your local soccer stars nicknamed cantona,okwaraji,george best,lefty,lighty,gaza etc.

01-29-2008, 12:38 AM
Originally Posted by falaah mang'aah
do you check out where the exit signs are as soon as u enter a club? have u ever been driven home by nation newspaper delivery vans at night(pesa ya taxi haitoshi) did you "charge" mtaani first before going out.are your local soccer stars nicknamed cantona,okwaraji,george best,lefty,lighty,gaza etc.
You have actually been driven home by a nation newspaper delivery van  . No way??!!! That takes the cake. That is hands down the most creative way I have ever heard to get home from the rave. If I had a trophy I would give it to you.
Only in Kenya! -
01-29-2008, 01:47 AM
Have you ever had a drunken booze at a police station canteen?
OK, that is not only Nairobi, all over Kenya. I've had a good beer at a cop station in Mombasa, the one right next to the YMCA.

01-29-2008, 07:47 AM
Originally Posted by Type R
Have you ever had a drunken booze at a police station canteen?
OK, that is not only Nairobi, all over Kenya. I've had a good beer at a cop station in Mombasa, the one right next to the YMCA.
4:30 pm, calmly walk to KBC, the lower non descript gate nearer kijabe street.
Approach the cop on duty, with a soc in hand (kshs 100).
Say Hi to him, tell him you want to see your bro at the canteen.
Voilla, cheap drinks at AFCO prices, by 6:30 uko mataa.
Kisha pale guys wamenyota sana
Ukiagiza beer moja moja, utakunywa mbili
Mtu ununua wholesale juu zinaisha mapema
It was my first place to order, "Nipe pili saba" and all were mine
Was in campo then. the drama was drinking with a jamaa.
Who is to later tell you he remembers you beating him up during riots, coz the local AP's there would supplement riot police from central. Then he says you aer in his home turf, ati ata revenge. Na huwezi kataa juu unajua nilikua full member of the riot squad
Hata ukikunywa beer ngapi, hulewi hapo. Kumbuka you are in their barracks illegally, you are not logged kwa gate. Damn my first time was scary.
But they are good jamaas, thats how they tease
Najivunia Kuwa Mkenya
Am harvesting to be a Kenyan

02-17-2008, 07:24 AM
[quote=t.D.A.;609806]I just got this email from a friend of mine and I just thought I would share it with everyone:
Do you always check for your wallet and/or mobile phone everytime you get off a bus?
yes
Are you shocked when your in a traffic jam in a foreign country and no one is overtaking on the pavement?
very
Do you instinctively say 'gota' when someone is about to greet you?
yeah dats actually now part ofmy reflex system
If someone asks you for a shoe do you give them ten of whatever currency you have?
Na, i feel to run
Do you know which pastor is synonymous with the words 'miracle baby'?
who doesnt know the infamous DEYA
Do you know whether or not Vioja Mahakamani is a T.V. show or a place between Tierra Del Fuego and the Argentinian border?
hahahaha
Do you know the meaning of the following words, sorora, kwachu, ngeta, wadhii, bano?
sorora=cheki.....kwachu=shika.....ngeta=summin 2 do do with getting beaten up b4 ur stuff is jackd......wadhii=wasee.....bano=best game ever invented(i remember my mum grounding me and threatning 2 beat me next time she finds me with my legs open next 2 so many boiz)
Do you find it normal for someone to be selling roast maize, oranges and charcoal at the same time?
yeah dont 4get parrafin
Can you speak swahili, english and sometimes both at the same time?
yeah its wierd
Do you have firends called Toma, Mato, Kabz, Bryo, Pato, Deno, Jemo, Kevo and so on?
yeah
Do you crave goat meat roasted over an open fire?
its england i still get that
Are you scared of obz?
alittle
Can you complete the phrase, 'ukiona wao, weka _______'?
"Tairi"
Does the word KENCHIC bring back memories of first dates, oily meals and revolving poultry?
wacha tu
Am tryin to see things from your point of view.. but i cant stick my head that far up my ass! 

02-18-2008, 07:02 AM
[quote=Beenie_gal;612409]
Originally Posted by t.D.A.
I just got this email from a friend of mine and I just thought I would share it with everyone:
Do you find it normal for someone to be selling roast maize, oranges and charcoal at the same time?
yeah dont 4get parrafin
2 2 funny 

02-18-2008, 11:05 AM
[quote=t.D.A.;612926]
Originally Posted by Beenie_gal
2 2 funny 
yeah i know
i still used to buy the maize and eat it
ata mutura!!

Am tryin to see things from your point of view.. but i cant stick my head that far up my ass! 

02-18-2008, 11:14 AM
[quote=Beenie_gal;613054]
Originally Posted by t.D.A.
yeah i know
i still used to buy the maize and eat it
ata mutura!!

njugu and maembe also part of the ingredients, in kibera popcorn and fried viazi and mihogo. I used to eat all that.
THE KENYA WE WANT IS THE KENYA WE AS WANANCHI BUILD POLITICIANS DO NOT BUILD KENYA THEY BECOME FAT CATS.

02-18-2008, 11:17 AM
at that time it really doesnt make a diffrence does it?!