Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > A post for the more nostalgic people who grew up in nairoberry

falaah mang'aah is on a distinguished road

Default 02-18-2008, 05:03 PM

the revolving kukus at kenchick were known as kuku ya porno.

t.D.A. is on a distinguished road

Default 02-19-2008, 08:42 AM

And then she doesn't even think of gloves when she is cutting the mutura, salting it and throwing kachumbari all over it. Anakohoa, vumbi inapita....hakuna shida. Tutakula tu!

Beenie_gal is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 02-19-2008, 01:39 PM

imagine....but wen u sit down and think about it
u c kama sii mungu
the infections wud ave caught up!!

Am tryin to see things from your point of view.. but i cant stick my head that far up my ass!
khalif

Default 02-19-2008, 09:36 PM

alafu wasee wako na ujanja ya ku buy mutura, as in u go to the butcher guy with alot of ashus, alafu utakuwa unamshow, "kata ya kumi" you clear the thing,piga a rao then come back, "boss, ingine ya kumi" utaendelea hivyo mpaka karibu ukule mutura ya soo(100) bana. ju ukimshow akukatie ya soo, atukugonga juu it will be way too small!!!
aki kenyans, always looking 4 a bargain

Default 02-20-2008, 05:33 AM

Go with 3 of your boys and nylon paper bags. Toa twenty bob per person, go home and have a feast

Beenie_gal is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 02-20-2008, 06:17 AM

apana ... at the mutura place
the guy used to be called 'kase' we used to go there and be like
"kase kata ya ashu" we eat and then afeter finishing "kase kata blu"
then we walk away one by one and run!! now i know its not fair because that was his business and we were just running him out of business, i went back to kenya last summer and the funny thing is ; after all this years the dude is doing the same same line of business.........to think he would have taken a risk and tried something else in his life!! wow! speak of comfort zone!

Am tryin to see things from your point of view.. but i cant stick my head that far up my ass!

Last edited by Beenie_gal : 02-20-2008 at 06:20 AM.
khalif

Default 02-20-2008, 09:41 PM

imagine at a point tulikuwa tumeweka base karibu na mse wa mtura, ile design tamaa ikikuwai, ni binja tu utapiga, alafu ya ashu inakamu mbio mbio na pilo mob, kweli those were the fine days. about moving on, our jamaa started selling samos, and they r really selling.

Default 02-21-2008, 01:26 AM

These guys should hook up and start a franchise Mcmutura and compete with akina 3 wheels and Njuguna's. Because nothing beats the mutura that has that personal touch + vumbi + contaminants....Good times. Good times

Nerimae is on a distinguished road

Default 02-21-2008, 06:54 PM

You forgot the most important one. Hanging out of mats and jumping onto buses, growing up I thought this was normal, you spot your bus from a distance and start running towards it before it stops and jump in just so you can get a seat. That time I was in primary school so the next thing you do is instantly fall asleep so that an old lady wont ask you for your seat. Another thing is bribing, thank God someone schooled me when I first came to the US coz I thought the only reason cops stop you is coz they want kitu kidogo, I dont even know how I could have explained my way out of a US jail had I done that.
Call me crazy but one of the first things I plan on doing is going straight to the mutura shack, dust and dirty hands wont stop me.

Lensa is on a distinguished road

Default 02-22-2008, 09:47 AM

Originally Posted by falaah mang'aah View Post
do you check out where the exit signs are as soon as u enter a club? have u ever been driven home by nation newspaper delivery vans at night(pesa ya taxi haitoshi) did you "charge" mtaani first before going out.are your local soccer stars nicknamed cantona,okwaraji,george best,lefty,lighty,gaza etc.
Well i was once driven home by a police patrol car after stopping it thinking it was a cab. I was driven home hadi kwa gate

life is something more than time and more than mere success
life is living
life is giving
life is happiness