Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > African Accents

TMZ is on a distinguished road

Default 12-11-2007, 07:33 PM

Originally Posted by jasakwa View Post
are you another Nigerian in mashada?plsssss,kenyans have better accent than Nigerians.
No my African brother. Nigerians are on another level compared to Kenyans. Kenyans have a long way to go for them catch up

Nigerians accents rocks

ReGGaE4LiFe is on a distinguished road

Default african accents swahili of a somalie - 12-12-2007, 06:37 PM

once at a mtambo wa kusgaga a somalie guy was sitting a woman came with a mkunde to be grinded and as she left he he noticed the paper bag she had put ehr grinded unga of mkunde in was torn and spilling to trying to tell her mama mkunde wako wa mwagika he said mama mkun du yako na mwagika lool

roots oparator
MA-HE-GOAT

Default African accents - 12-14-2007, 01:41 AM

Before when i was in Kenya, i could not detect the accent in our news men/women but the accents sound like those of Jamaicans. I have listened to Kenyans talking on t.v. or in conferences and they all have the same accent whether they are Kikuyus, Somalis, Luos or any other tribe (I am talking about the ones in the cities who do not speak with Kikuyu, Luo, Kamba and other tribe accent) Even the newscasters have a heavy Kenyan accent even though those days i was back home, i thought they spoke like British. I guess it is the influence of all the tribes we have cause even the whites in Africa have an accent. The Britons have an accent too which i was able to understand before but which i now have a hard time understanding.

NUNEZ FUENTES
youngben is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 12-14-2007, 02:39 AM

Currently on Mnet, there is an advert for an African magic movie, Theme: Revenge

Quote: Dont you wan' get de man who "modda your modda" (read - murder your mother)

There is no distinction when you listen to that statement

Najivunia Kuwa Mkenya
Am harvesting to be a Kenyan
jungunijinga is on a distinguished road

Default 12-14-2007, 08:58 AM

Originally Posted by TMZ View Post
No my African brother. Nigerians are on another level compared to Kenyans. Kenyans have a long way to go for them catch up

Nigerians accents rocks
Broda,

Kenyans have absolutely no time for your good for nothing big ego, small brain, big head and your pathetic English. Get outta here, ****n fascist. Now!

Default 12-14-2007, 09:37 AM

Originally Posted by Type R View Post
Man on telephone (let's call him Zulu Xhosa, ZX in short): "Can I send you the fakes?"

Me: "Why the hell would you want to send me fakes? I wanna buy the real thing!"

ZX: "Yes, I understand that but before you buy, I wanna send you the fakes."

Me: "Are you making fun of me? When you called, I thought you were serious."

ZX: "Of course, I em serious, that's why I want to send you a fakes right now!"

Me: "What?"

ZX: "I want to fakes you a quotation. Please gimme your fakes number!!!"

O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-O-HHHHH, THAT'S WHAT HE MEANT! AAAAAHHHH, TCH! Silly me!

ooooohh... lol... ati fakes!

mukwano is on a distinguished road

Default 12-14-2007, 02:05 PM

Originally Posted by Type R View Post
The way Ugandans pronounce "L" - in a rolling double-L sort of way, that's cool! (coollu? )
oil - oilo ..... still cracks me up
and the g - in vegetables the g is pronounced as g in girl

Thouthan - thousand

namefulsana

Default Yo Kidding!! - 12-15-2007, 04:09 AM

Okay what?! You pple are nuts.Eti Zims and most Southern African countries have sawa accents? Gotta be kidding!I DISAGREE!!

There is huuuuuge weirdness in saying FEX (FAX) when it's not with the correct tweng. So you end up soundin really really STUPID and wanna-be-ish!Coz the trend aint uniform. A simple 'what' sounds like "WH---AA-TE!Then they have sum funny voice notation.Du!sht no, they don't have cool accents.

South Africans have a terrible accent. And i don't mean the brushed up Channel O presenters who know stuff. Pitia Jo-burg or something for a day next time you're flying home utashangaa.

Don't even get me started on Nigerians.

Basically styled up Kenyans and Ugs have it cool and clear. Especially for Journalism outside Africa.I know this chic from i think Ug who works for some Radio station hukuz and man, she'll fly high.CNN material.

Zambia hata nyamaza tu. Botswana/Motswanas the better country in Africa are worse.
No hating but, East Africans have cool accents and YOU CAN UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE SAYING IN FLASH without going HUh?Ho?What Oh! you mean this and that! Biased maybe, but I don't hear pple pardoning Kenyans and Ugandans sana. TZ wana shida ya R and L (e.g PEREKA for PELEKA. My neighbour tells everyone he studies ENGINEE-li-NG 7 years abroad.It's uniform, no tribe gets it right)

J'mister is on a distinguished road

Default Tongue Chaos! - 12-18-2007, 08:57 AM

An Akamba and A Luo in a matatu, the akamba looks tense and wants to alight:

Akamba: "Chukicha Gari, Chukicha!" (Wanting to say Shukisha Gari)

Matatu Tout: "Ati nini?"

Akamba: "Wee Mchamba wewe! Nachema chukicha gari hapa!"

Luo: "Angalia huyu mjinga, si Chukicha hapa, ni Sukisa hapa!"

Donny is an unknown quantity at this point

Default Accents - 12-18-2007, 02:43 PM

Originally Posted by TMZ View Post

Nigerians accents rocks
Yeah Nigerian accents rock while in Kenya. Abroad hmm I dont think so.

People do not vote for a candidate but against a political opponent