Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Tap water in Nairobi

Default Tap water in Nairobi - 11-21-2007, 07:54 AM

Is nairobi tap water clean of bacteria?In europe tap water is clean and cheaper than bottled water.In most arab countries tap water is just shunned for its taste not microbiological portability.

BBB is on a distinguished road

Default 11-21-2007, 08:23 AM

Originally Posted by jasakwa View Post
Is nairobi tap water clean of bacteria?In europe tap water is clean and cheaper than bottled water.In most arab countries tap water is just shunned for its taste not microbiological portability.
Not only Nairobi the whole of Kenyan water is not good. It very sad that you have to boil so that you can drink the water. When i go home i have to buy bottle water juu i can get sick mbaya. What about Mombasa water very very bad...........

lulu80 is on a distinguished road

Default 11-21-2007, 10:33 AM

Don't know about you but when i went home last Dec, i drank straight from the tap and never got sick. my buddy also drank tap water and she never got sick.

Default Test - 11-21-2007, 11:19 PM

Carry out his experiment: -

Put some tap water in a clean transparent plastic bottle. Let it sit somewhere where it wont be disturbed/drank for a month or so. Then take a good look at it, preferably in bright sunlight. Don't disturb it too much. You'll see brown 'clouds' at the bottom.

Buy a home filter and perform the same experiment with filtered water. Even after two months, the water will be crystal clear.

chemical has a little shameless behaviour in the past

Default 11-22-2007, 10:50 AM

Originally Posted by lulu80 View Post
Don't know about you but when i went home last Dec, i drank straight from the tap and never got sick. my buddy also drank tap water and she never got sick.
Thank you lulu80. I do the same both here in the west and at home....

But there was a rumour that kimani kongo sold chalk to NCC instead of chlorine powder ..(coincidentally about the same time there was an outbreak of typhoid in nairobi and kenyans died. talk of blood money!)

TypeR hio ni vumbi tu...you inhale it all the time you're breathing anyway

maziwa

Default 11-22-2007, 10:33 PM

Originally Posted by chemical View Post

TypeR hio ni vumbi tu...you inhale it all the time you're breathing anyway

do u want to tell us that hiyo vumbi is ok to drink or breathe? last time i checked hiyo "vumbi" causes diseases

Hermione is on a distinguished road

Default Maji - 11-23-2007, 12:13 AM

Wacheni ubabi! Nairobi tap water tastes great!

Ok, it's true that it's full of microbes & stuff but this is what strengthens your immune system. If you've been drinking boiled/bottled water all your life, don't even venture in that direction; you'll be as sick as a dog. But the likes of me who are hardened can even drink questionable water from kiosks and not be as likely to get sick. But there are towns you don't even risk it.

Beacause I know!
Msesh

Default 11-23-2007, 01:16 AM

Originally Posted by lulu80 View Post
Mmm..Don't know about that. It depends how long you've been away. My mom travels home way more than I do and doesn't get sick but I got sick as hell when I was home due to the water. I won't ever chance it again..

Default 11-23-2007, 01:26 AM

it's all in your minds,tap water in Nairobi iko sawa.I have been drinking it bila kuchemsha and i'm here today,alive and kicking.When there is something wrong with the water,the Ministry of Health dispatch an alert lakini if you are too cautious with maisha and so forth..chemsha ama get the bottled one.

I Eat, Drink ,Smoke MASHADA
If i'm not here try CHIZIKA

tsoni

Default 11-23-2007, 01:29 AM

nairobi's tap water is safe. i have been drinking it for 4 yrs straight from the tap without boiling. eight glasses in a day. lunch time kwa kiosk thats what i always take, provided its coming straight from a running tap. other towns not really advisable. but if your have been away from kenya for some time, advisable to boil then on getting used to it kunywa bila ku-boil. also do not store water for ati long periods in a 20 litre container for drinking; fungulia ya tap ukunywe (running water). water for a healthy body