Remember Those High School Weekend Functions? -
10-19-2007, 04:37 PM
Oh my days in Lenana (Changez)....
When Kenya High (Boma) came visiting, you were guaranteed some 'talking time' coz they were our choir partners (before we ditched them for Precious Blood, Riruta). They were our allies, so it was fair game for kila mtu.
Enter Pangani aka Pango and Moi Girls (Qabbs/Kabbs) and the goal posts shifted slightly. They were a notch higher, but still let jamaas run their game, if they had any. Patient and ever smiling, they were glad to see you empty your wallet as you bought soda after soda and the ever tasty funkies from Tac Shop.
You knew it was going to be a cold day when St. Georges (Saint G) and State House Girls (Stato) came knocking. You would think they were forced to make the trip or risk being suspended from school for the term. They alwas huddled in groups of about eight chics, and separating them was a feat left to the Rugby or Basketball big names. You stood a chance if you were a regular feature in the sports page of the Daily Nation. You were lucky if your cousin was part of the group, for you would most likely feature in the upcoming edition of Peep or Scandal, under the title 'Landing Masters'.
As always, Ngara Girls were a welcome sight because they were ready and willing to negotiate. If one approached you, you had to talk to her or risk being reported to her cousin/brother/pal in Jamu or Dago. They did help those of us from shags hear the voice of a female that wasn't related to you. I'll delve into some more schools baadaye....
A Kenyan by any other tribe is still a Kenyan.

10-22-2007, 03:48 AM
imagine i never experienced high school funkies. Was in a tired school!!

10-22-2007, 03:52 AM
Originally Posted by sweetesthing
imagine i never experienced high school funkies. Was in a tired school!!
kwani wat skul were you @? i cant imagine 4 years bila funkie.
high school funkies -
10-22-2007, 03:59 AM
I somead in shaggz, but I attended some of the funkies. Yaani it was just time for hook ups. One time our head girl reported some of my pals and they were suspended. Wacha when their boyfies came for a funky at our school, they almost stabbed her for causing their mamas to go home. You know the issue of saved chics (no pun intended) imagining that the other gals are getting their groove on and having all the cute jamaas from Nai and Coast etc etc?! yeah! that was the case.
One time we were to attend music fests in another district, we thouyght we'd camp there for a whole week...oooooh! the teachers were wiser. We'd drive to and from the place. The journey took like 3 hours or so. Damn.......all the kisses we missed and the cuddling during those cold evenings . Tsk! tsk! tsk! But thank God some of us came out of high school in one piece - untouched.
Reach for the stars, so that when you fall you land on the clouds. Kanye West

10-22-2007, 04:21 AM
My high school uniform was a green pullover and a beige short (at least when I was a 1st former.) you can imagine how hard it is for a girl to take you seriously dressed like a prison warder in shorts.
However, our sister school (acroatians as we fondly called them) were just a stone's throw away and every inch as shady - so they didn't judge us too harshly (and there were schools with worse uniforms to laugh at - caltex colours)
It takes only one drink to get me drunk. The trouble is, I can't remember if it's the thirteenth or the fourteenth.-
George Burns

10-23-2007, 05:06 AM
Originally Posted by Mfisadi
kwani wat skul were you @? i cant imagine 4 years bila funkie.
yaani i went a whole 4 years without experiencing anything like funkies!!

11-30-2007, 08:19 AM
Originally Posted by froggy
My high school uniform was a green pullover and a beige short (at least when I was a 1st former.) you can imagine how hard it is for a girl to take you seriously dressed like a prison warder in shorts.
However, our sister school (acroatians as we fondly called them) were just a stone's throw away and every inch as shady - so they didn't judge us too harshly (and there were schools with worse uniforms to laugh at - caltex colours)
That was funny,
@sweetesthing, you really missed out on some good experience there.
Najivunia Kuwa Mkenya
Am harvesting to be a Kenyan
ahem! aahem!! -
11-30-2007, 08:31 AM
Originally Posted by Diambo
Enter Pangani aka Pango and Moi Girls (Qabbs/Kabbs) and the goal posts shifted slightly. They were a notch higher, but still let jamaas run their game, if they had any. Patient and ever smiling, they were glad to see you empty your wallet as you bought soda after soda and the ever tasty funkies from Tac Shop.
hehe!!! yes i remember those days, back in Kabbz ... i admit i was one of those gals who got guys to buy stuff from the tuk shop ... just flush a smile and viola!! ... mkate na soda .... too deadly.

11-30-2007, 12:11 PM
Ahh Nyeri High and being fought over by a whole host of rival sister schools to list a few
1. Bee Gee
2. Kangubiri
3. Kabubia
4.Some girls school wearing grey...
etc.. etc

11-30-2007, 03:27 PM
Originally Posted by froggy
Was that Alliance by any chance Froggy???????