Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Remember Those High School Weekend Functions?

Lensa is on a distinguished road

Default 12-01-2007, 12:22 AM

Originally Posted by sweetesthing View Post
imagine i never experienced high school funkies. Was in a tired school!!
Which school was that? chic you missed out on alot

life is something more than time and more than mere success
life is living
life is giving
life is happiness
mnyeusi is on a distinguished road

Default 12-01-2007, 04:34 PM

Originally Posted by froggy View Post
My high school uniform was a green pullover and a beige short (at least when I was a 1st former.) you can imagine how hard it is for a girl to take you seriously dressed like a prison warder in shorts.

However, our sister school (acroatians as we fondly called them) were just a stone's throw away and every inch as shady - so they didn't judge us too harshly (and there were schools with worse uniforms to laugh at - caltex colours)
Meru School?

That was much better in a combination compared to green bottoms,white shirts and (wierd) orange sweaters...

Without stress my maisha would be empty

Last edited by mnyeusi : 12-01-2007 at 04:38 PM.
froggy

Default 12-03-2007, 02:36 AM

^^Alliance High School in Kikuyu (Kabete)

(we shared a uniform with Meru School???)

It takes only one drink to get me drunk. The trouble is, I can't remember if it's the thirteenth or the fourteenth.-
George Burns

Last edited by froggy : 12-03-2007 at 02:44 AM.
Ombudsman

Default Pour out some liquor and reminisce - 12-03-2007, 06:34 AM

The scene is set...you've attended all the rehearsals and done everything; singing from alto to Bass 2, carrying drums to making the drama masks (what a great way to skive evening preps and go piga 'domo')...just to make sure your name appears on the LIST of those attending the fests for the entire week. Usiku you go borrow everything from shoes to tie, you're trying hard to pimp that uniform with the best bits and pieces from those who have hot gear but didn't make it to the much coveted list. Asubuhi na nyinyi nyote mnatumia one shampoo, one body wash, and one cologne...damn school smelling like they all had an endorsement deal with Boss, CK, Bulgari, or whatever it was that chumed out chap carried along that term. Morning comes and you lounge, safe and secure that the cops can't hassle you to hurry up and the boarding master from hell doesn't have your hide for breakfast for being in the dorm after the bell for class has rang...today you're a celebrity, a player with an international passport, a P.I.M.P, simply untouchable by the school authorities. The bus comes round and now comes the drama, some niggaz who thought they were on the list don't hear their names when the teacher reads it out...some of them after having bribed the chaps in charge of drafting the list hehehe "Utado???" They are dispatched to class like hell's own rejects! But there was always that chap whose ingenuity knew no bounds, salute to that nigga who got his own by pulling stunts such as: "Manze wacheni nifagie bus" so a chap gets a broom, sweeps the bus then hides himself on the luggage rack! or Gets in from the drivers side and rides shotgun without anyone noticing, or quickly answers to some unknown form one's name as its read out and hops on...or when all else fails...simply exits the school using 'Gate C' like damn the consequences, seeing Tina, Sheila, Linda, Ciru, Nyangi, et al is worth risking two weeks suspension or playing 'golf' with the slasher!!!

You fika the venue of the event n the 1st place u check out is the bus parking lot to see which schools are in the house...n also to lay down your game plan just in case (as was inevitably the case) that your whole harem has shown up...player, player got to get his game right...If they are more than two at the same place, at the same time...what you do?? Think quick, luckily most of these venues had acres of space so you'd venture of with Sheila or whoever to the far east and spend the better time of the morning with them...then after lunch to mid afte you'd sema your school was about to get on stage so you have to go practice...then go hook up with Ciru on the far west...meanwhile one of your boys got your back by running 'interference' with Nyangi up north...whom you'd hook up with in the hall in the late afternoon...before inevitably finishing off the day with Linda down south...it was funny the way jamaaz would risk the wrath of the teacher just to chat with a chick then they'd have to pull a carl lewis and sprint as the sadistic driver sped off...recall one time we going back to the bus and my boy gets hollered at by a chick using his playa name like "Bryant" or something and the teacher goes like "Who is Bryant??" and when he sees this nigga going towards the chick, blows my boys cover by saying out way LOUD "Eisssh young fella, Isn't your name Sospeter!!!" ...hahahahaha damn goood memories those right there!!

Shyloxx26

Default pole sana! - 12-03-2007, 07:20 AM

Swetesthing..........pole sana my dear. Saaasaaaaaaaaaa, ehe! either ulisomea majuu (definitely huko hakuna funkies), ama ulifanyishwa home-schooling, ama you were a day-scholar, but still, how did you miss all that? Just tell us. But at least you can read peoples' posts and see what a small heaven those functions created back then.

Reach for the stars, so that when you fall you land on the clouds. Kanye West
youngben is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 12-03-2007, 07:58 AM

Originally Posted by Ombudsman View Post
Usiku you go borrow everything from shoes to tie, you're trying hard to pimp that uniform with the best bits and pieces from those who have hot gear but didn't make it to the much coveted list. Asubuhi na nyinyi nyote mnatumia one shampoo, one body wash, and one cologne...damn school smelling like they all had an endorsement deal with Boss, CK, Bulgari, or whatever
Funny sheit! were you in school near "foxy river" and what year were you if you were??

Najivunia Kuwa Mkenya
Am harvesting to be a Kenyan
HUH? is on a distinguished road

Default 12-03-2007, 03:01 PM

ahhh funkies! good times...unless you were a mono (or Rabol as we called them @ Nairobi school AKA patch).

so we are having a gig at our school and the Kianda school chics are expected hivi karibuni. one of the 3rd formers (yeah it seemed like the third formers were the main hazers) tells a handful of rabols to grab their hockey sticks, old discarded, unpaired shoes, and go attack the Kianda bus as it drove through the gates. now the mentioned "attack" isn't what it seems. we were instructed to shoot at the bus with our "guns" (hocky sticks) and throw a "grenade" (stinky, old shoes) every now and then. embarrassing isn't the word for it majamaa.

yeah i have bad memories of funkies....

"A man loving atheist is a thousand times better human than a theist who hates is fellow beings on the grounds of religious bigotry"-- Anwar Sheikh
key-pusa

Default 12-05-2007, 01:37 AM

Diambo, for some reason, I'm not surprised that you're a changerian. But yeah, I think the only reason I survived high school was cuz of those funkies. As a Kabberian, I'll admit we thought we were the ish, and our rivalry with pango was ridiculous. I doubt the kids nowadays have as much fun as we did in our day...wamekaziwa!

@Rake81...for some reason, I always thought you were a dude...ma bad. What year were you in Kabz?

Diambo is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 12-05-2007, 01:42 AM

Originally Posted by key-pusa View Post
Diambo, for some reason, I'm not surprised that you're a changerian.
mawazo yamenipotea, sijui nifurahi au nihuzunike....

A Kenyan by any other tribe is still a Kenyan.
key-pusa

Default 12-05-2007, 01:46 AM

Furahi...it's a compliment. I pendad you guys, most of you were decent, unlike your ditcherian bros