10-11-2007, 08:10 AM
Originally Posted by Sanaa-
Aiiii relax sio kesi jamani I was only saying . Even a begger can look good if he forefeits that weekly bottle of liquor lol.
In Kenya we wore mitush because we had very few options. Instead of wearing some old mzee's ill fitting clothes why not wait till theres a sale and buy something decent for almost the same price.
I totally agree na sio kesi my dear.The one thing that jazzes me about Kenya is that even guys that own stalls in the CBD will go buy mtush,wash and press it so nicely that they later sell it to you at a price of something new.Ever heard of the 350 chile?
These are girls who with 350 bob will dress on mtush that even Tyra banks will be envious.Do you know you can actually buy a top for 50 bob,skirt for a 100 bob,shoes for a 100 bob and shades for 50 bob?And they'll look like a slice of heaven.

10-11-2007, 02:16 PM
Originally Posted by GATABS.
I totally agree na sio kesi my dear.The one thing that jazzes me about Kenya is that even guys that own stalls in the CBD will go buy mtush,wash and press it so nicely that they later sell it to you at a price of something new.Ever heard of the 350 chile?
These are girls who with 350 bob will dress on mtush that even Tyra banks will be envious.Do you know you can actually buy a top for 50 bob,skirt for a 100 bob,shoes for a 100 bob and shades for 50 bob?And they'll look like a slice of heaven.
Gatabs, sio kesi  I totally agree, I was such a chic in Kenya. Hawkers were my life line, I used to buy shoes from them almost every week. Never been to Gikomba though.. heard they can rob your underwear while you are still wearing it.

10-11-2007, 05:51 PM
Originally Posted by cee_w
those days,
Ate noodles most of the week, i would buy the value pack, which had 12 packs, beef, and chicken. monday to friday. During the weekends my beau used to come over for dinner and me being me, i would try and impress him with my culinary skills, woooi!! i would go to the supermarket just before closing so that i could buy meat and vegie at closing prices $.99cents for half a kg of kangaroo meat; .........Point is, you ahve to make the dollar strech.
Bought generic brands, everthing except tissue paper and tampons.
sales, bought winter stuff for next season in summer ( half price) and summer stuff in winter; which meant i was always a season late in my style, but I look good in everything  so it did not matter.
No alcohol, well maybe once a week.
public transport
Go to teh movies on movie night, ( here its hlf price)
carry lunch, to work, uni,
switch off the heater, dress warmly instead. Switch of the aircon, open the window
its hard, but it can be done. and it makes you find ways of saving a buck that you never ever thought of.
put away $1 a day during the week, so that you can have a bit of fun on saturday.
hahahahah Cee W now that was survival, lol

10-12-2007, 10:25 AM
i was so bloke those days that,,,,
rented a single room in mathare valley for ksh 1,100 where you share bathroom with the whole mabati plot. haki with those grafitti on the walls!!
cooked only 3 times a week,its simple, cook enough food (githeri with no veg or potato, ugali + sukuma) to last you 2 days, and have to hung it kwa paa ya nyumba to avoid roaches and rats
mtumba was my clad, yeesss , hadi pants
s'times walk back home when bila fare
weekends were spent kwa church ya gitonga hapo huruma, spiritual nourishment, entertainment from choir,
gosh , nimetoka mbali, mbali sana

10-12-2007, 03:18 PM
Originally Posted by tsoni
i was so bloke those days that,,,,
rented a single room in mathare valley for ksh 1,100 where you share bathroom with the whole mabati plot. haki with those grafitti on the walls!!
cooked only 3 times a week,its simple, cook enough food (githeri with no veg or potato, ugali + sukuma) to last you 2 days, and have to hung it kwa paa ya nyumba to avoid roaches and rats
mtumba was my clad, yeesss , hadi pants
s'times walk back home when bila fare
weekends were spent kwa church ya gitonga hapo huruma, spiritual nourishment, entertainment from choir,
gosh , nimetoka mbali, mbali sana
I wish everyone was as genuine and sincere here in Mashada as you tsoni.
You are such an inspiration, i truly admire your kind....
Hope sky is the limit for you.

10-12-2007, 03:19 PM
Originally Posted by rayfisher
Me and my buddies used to pick up empty bottles and used newspapers to sell and get money for friday raves.
Same here,brutha, same here
Girls be thinkin I'm nice but I'm a runt
I'll DO AND SAY WHATEVER FOR THE CUNT.

10-14-2007, 03:23 AM
Get all the conrners in the house or in the car for those coins and start counting one two three....Then pounce on all pockets of every shirt and trouser in the house...oh men.
blessed neighbour -
10-15-2007, 02:28 AM
I remember we had a jirani who was really struggling to feed his family,they often came to eat with us,and our paros were very supportive to them.The man started with camera business,taking families photos after church,he then went to own a studio,these days i hear he is super rich with several electronic shops in nairobi.People reallly come from far,its just the determination that propels to a higher goal.