09-11-2007, 03:14 AM
So it would be safe to refer to Kenya as Kii-Nya (confirm for me the spelling and offer any pronounciation)...
Dem Gal.. I agree before the "ATTEMPTED" colonization we did no t have boundaries/borders as such, just that I believe we still had names for the regions we lived in. Example: Kadem, Migori, Siaya (areas in Nyanza), these are names we different clans/tribes gave their "home area" I guess we never referred to the country as an entity (kyuks, jangos, kambas getting together to name their country.
I presume we never had to do that considering we travelled around sharing through barter trade...
** APH - There are Luos in Uganda as well. Most are within the Lake Victoria region.
Speaking of which I know for certain the name Victoria is not a jango name... so what would the lake have been called prior to jungus... ? Does Turkana mean anything and what about Naivasha...?
Kweli, pardon my many swalis (and trust me they are many). I happen to have this "need/want" to know exactly who my ppl and my neighbours are, where they tokead from you know...not some othr jaamas assumption "HIS'STORY" but MY'STORY...
It's been a while since my last history class in primo (which 3/4's of was fabrications and word play about folks from lands far away).. doesn't feel right having forgoten about the nomads, bantus, cushiites and nilots....
PS: Thanks to all for the assistance so far... !
Last edited by fijat : 09-11-2007 at 03:31 AM.
huh? -
09-11-2007, 01:33 PM
was goin thru mashada n yeah i dun post stuff hea but out of curiosity.....i am a kao n wat u guys r sayin is a lil bit confusing in kao like 'kii nyaa' actually i think that would mean 'that which dries' n ve never known mt.kenya to be one that dries.....i got roots from there too so maybe the colonialist just imposed it on us......

09-11-2007, 02:14 PM
Originally Posted by manzi wa shuge
was goin thru mashada n yeah i dun post stuff hea but out of curiosity.....i am a kao n wat u guys r sayin is a lil bit confusing in kao like 'kii nyaa' actually i think that would mean 'that which dries' n ve never known mt.kenya to be one that dries.....i got roots from there too so maybe the colonialist just imposed it on us......
Ki-nyaa is a kao.The word kenya was derived from the Akamba language so thatīs what we agreed on.That was the topic..

09-12-2007, 04:14 AM
Originally Posted by PippyZa
Ki-nyaa is a kao.The word kenya was derived from the Akamba language so thatīs what we agreed on.That was the topic..
You think eat tribalism daily.Loser
Ki-nyaa or kirinyaga or kenya we love you.wewe ni baba na mama

09-12-2007, 08:18 AM
Originally Posted by wenjo
You think eat tribalism daily.Loser
Ki-nyaa or kirinyaga or kenya we love you.wewe ni baba na mama
Wenjo,
I think your reply to Pippy is so rude, why??
Truth -
09-13-2007, 06:49 AM
Dr. Ludwin Craft and his companions asked the kamba people about the name of the mountain as it has been said by Den Gal.The word kenya, kiii-nyaaa comes from the word kirinyaga. "kiri" means with, "nyaga" means snow. The kiuks must "learn" kiuk goed from old kiuks who know real kiuk . The mountain was considered holy and sacred, and was believed to be the throne of Almighty Lord. so when we read good in the bible like in the book of Isaia;18 and in the book of chronicles, we come to know mt kenya is mount zion, which "they" NEVER wonna explain this to us or to the people of the world. Its sounds crazy but its the TRUTH. The British throne had a long urge of taking and exploiting the goodness and closeness we had with our God even before they set foot, as they knew kenya was and still is the promised land and the mother of all tribes in the world. HIS- STORY is MY- STROY but not HIS-STROY.
Rastafarae is the king of the universe no matter what tribe you come from.Love your neighbour the way you love yourself and countinue to be colonised by the powers of HIS IMPERIAL MAJESTY. Ever living, Ever faithfull and Ever sure. RASTAFARAE!
Last edited by ours : 09-13-2007 at 06:56 AM.

09-13-2007, 07:19 AM
Originally Posted by ours
Dr. Ludwin Craft and his companions asked the kamba people about the name of the mountain as it has been said by Den Gal.The word kenya, kiii-nyaaa comes from the word kirinyaga. "kiri" means with, "nyaga" means snow. The kiuks must "learn" kiuk goed from old kiuks who know real kiuk . The mountain was considered holy and sacred, and was believed to be the throne of Almighty Lord. so when we read good in the bible like in the book of Isaia;18 and in the book of chronicles, we come to know mt kenya is mount zion, which "they" NEVER wonna explain this to us or to the people of the world. Its sounds crazy but its the TRUTH. The British throne had a long urge of taking and exploiting the goodness and closeness we had with our God even before they set foot, as they knew kenya was and still is the promised land and the mother of all tribes in the world. HIS- STORY is MY- STROY but not HIS-STROY.
So in short Kikuyu fought for uhuru. Hongera Kikuyu. Kikuyu juu!!!!
land -
09-13-2007, 08:37 AM
No kikuyus were fighting for their own lands and it concided with the quest for independece wave that was sweeping through africa.

09-14-2007, 04:22 PM
Originally Posted by ours
nyaga does not mean snow it means ostrich read previous posts.
Is Lake Sango what is now Lake Victoria ?

09-15-2007, 05:43 AM
Originally Posted by jeylo
Of my imagination this word came from....
The founder Mzee Jomo Kenyatta......From the word Kenyatta
Thats the most stupid thing ive ever heard