Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Typical African Stereotype

Bachelor

Default Typical African Stereotype - 05-19-2006, 10:11 PM

By Kidada Mutabaruk
Far from being only a victim of a bad situation, the African is a willing accomplice in the conspiracy against him.

Ayaan addresses a Press conference after resigning from the Dutch Parliament this week.

And this is largely possible because we are not thinking and acting right! Take the story of Ayaan Hirsi Ali, a young African woman whose false story moved the Dutch into giving her asylum and citizenship.

She even became a high-profile MP in the Dutch parliament on the basis of pure lies. To get Dutch citizenship Ayaan used her cultural heritage (her perceived African backwardness) to convincingly lie that her life was in danger. To ascend the social ladder in the highly atheistic Dutch

society, Ayaan turned against her religion of birth (Islam) painting it as cruel and anti-women.

Basically, she played to the Western gallery: Denying Africa’s claim to any cultural prestige and civilisation as well as painting Islam as undeserving of any praise whatsoever — both of which perceptions are obviously contestable.

Negative world attention

Her story is not new to those who have been observant of the African situation. Africans will denigrate themselves and insult their heritage just to get visas, asylum and citizenships of foreign countries.

What does this have to do with thinking? Everything! A person with Ayaan’s level of creativity could surely have expended her intelligence to better the African situation, not to perpetuate myths about Africa.

Think about it: What will now happen to Somali girls running away from genuine danger? Who will believe them? Ayaan lied she was being forced into an early marriage; she lied she went to the Netherlands directly from Somalia (she actually did so through Kenya and Germany, both of which are safe countries); she lied about her age; she lied about her name; she lied about her family — she lied about everything that mattered in securing her Dutch citizenship.

The world we have created is a product of our thinking. Ayaan’s story demonstrates why Africa is a serial loser. Once in The Netherlands — and an MP to boot — she did not focus world attention on her suffering Somalia. She focused negative world attention on her religion, Islam.

Real challenge looms

She did not utilise the unique opportunity she had on things that would build Africa; she focused on things that would harm Africa and her religion of birth! She did not focus on the war, famine, insufficient education and health facilities etc in Somalia; she focused on a culture the West perceives to be retrogressive!

The problems in Somalia have little to do with Islam; they have everything to do with the supply of arms in Somalia by Western arms producers. The war in Somalia has nothing to do with retrogressive African cultures; it has everything to do with Western-style greed for power and control!

Indeed the war in Somalia could be solved by drawing from African foundations — the solidarity offered by a unique and uniform way of understanding the world. This would necessarily result in the recognition of the separate destinies of Somaliland, Puntland and Somalia, something the West has refused to agree to. Would it be expecting too much of Ayaan’s ability to put the Somalia situation in a context the world can understand and thus help solve the problem once and for all? Africa! Are you with me? Why focus on trivialities when the real challenge looms large?

milanya is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-19-2006, 11:11 PM

enyewe you pulled a Michael Jordan or a Jay-z, ati nina-retire halafu, huyooooo!!

niaje bachelor? habari ya manzi yako?

Bachelor

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-19-2006, 11:13 PM

Americanised do you see yourself in her? Lying to get your status is within norms but looking back at kenya and spitting thats incomprehensible while she is against islam you tarnish our good name ati we stink.

jahaxzi

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 03:06 AM

Just goes to show that...
'They can give you citizenship but will never accept you as one of them'.
'Papers are never permanent,your position notwithstanding'.

Where are those kenyan's perpetually boasting of having acquired citizenship of a 'first world' country?

"All that time they were respecting the suit on the Nigga And not the Nigga in the suit".

Mand meru

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 05:56 AM

>Just goes to show that...
>'They can give you citizenship but will never accept you as
>one of them'.
>'Papers are never permanent,your position notwithstanding'.
>Where are those kenyan's perpetually boasting of having
>acquired citizenship of a 'first world' country?
>"All that time they were respecting the suit on the Nigga And
>not the Nigga in the suit".
Good point!

Americanized

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 12:23 PM

> Americanised do you see yourself in her? Lying to get your
>status is within norms but looking back at kenya and spitting
>thats incomprehensible while she is against islam you tarnish
>our good name ati we stink.

Yaani you started a new thread just to get back at me! LOL

Bachelor, just because you don't like the way Africa is portrayed in the media doesn't mean it's all lies. I've seen Kenyans who get really mad when they see pictures of naked, starving, malnourished Kenyan kids living in slums on TV. Those videos were not made in a studio in Hollywood! Those are real people in Kenya, living in poverty and disease! It's a shame that Kenyans themselves are not even aware of such pathetic living conditions in their own country. It takes Westerners to show us how our own people are suffering in our own back yard.

When you see Kenyan slums depicted on Tv, you get mad coz you feel they are not showing the nice areas of Nairobi. Those slums are where a majority of Kenyans live. Those slums are not created by CGI technology like that Shrek movie! Those are real slums, with real people, real Kenyans, living in Nairobi! Kenyans like to front like they come from a well developed country. The fact is Kenya is one of the least developed countries in the whole world. 80 percent Kenyans live in rural areas, with 40 percent of Kenyans living below the poverty line. Don't white-wash reality. We are poor and that is a fact!

I'm just wondering, how much do you know about the living conditions in Somalia? Somalia is one of the poorest countries on the face of the earth. Add to that the scarcity of arable land, and plus they've been embroiled in a civil war for like 10 years, with no central government. Do you think it is such a far-fetched idea to suggest that there might be some atrocities taking place in Somalia?

How much do you know about the way some Moslems practice Islam. Sometimes the subjugation of women isn't even in the Koran. It is a cultural thing. As an example, you would think that Kenya is a relatively progressive country, but just last month the male MPs upheld the right of a man to force his wife to have sex (RAPE, in plain English), and their right to discipline their wives (domestic abuse, in plain English). Yet if this story was reported in a Western newspaper, you would be up in arms protesting negative media bias!

nyakis

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 12:46 PM

@american I'll grade ur long essay later. wacha kuji-repeat. we heard ya the first -----oh the second time

Americanized

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 01:04 PM

>@american I'll grade ur long essay later. wacha kuji-repeat.
>we heard ya the first -----oh the second time

Prozac should be able to control your ADHD.

ilumi

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 01:10 PM

>Bachelor, just because you don't like the way Africa is
>portrayed in the media doesn't mean it's all lies. I've seen
>Kenyans who get really mad when they see pictures of naked,
>starving, malnourished Kenyan kids living in slums on TV.
>Those videos were not made in a studio in Hollywood! Those are
>real people in Kenya, living in poverty and disease! It's a
>shame that Kenyans themselves are not even aware of such
>pathetic living conditions in their own country. It takes
>Westerners to show us how our own people are suffering in our
>own back yard.
>When you see Kenyan slums depicted on Tv, you get mad coz you
>feel they are not showing the nice areas of Nairobi. Those
>slums are where a majority of Kenyans live. Those slums are
>not created by CGI technology like that Shrek movie! Those are
>real slums, with real people, real Kenyans, living in Nairobi!
>Kenyans like to front like they come from a well developed
>country. The fact is Kenya is one of the least developed
>countries in the whole world. 80 percent Kenyans live in rural
>areas, with 40 percent of Kenyans living below the poverty
>line. Don't white-wash reality. We are poor and that is a
>fact!

as much as I dislike the way the international media potrays Africa (I mean, there are good things about Africa..apart from the wildlife and athletes)..i have to agree with americanised..

kenya is poor..with real slums etc, etc...its a fact..

manziwanairobi1

Default RE: Typical African Stereotype - 05-20-2006, 02:26 PM

Fact.
- Kenya is poor and a large % of mwananchi lives in the slums.
- Kenya is among the least developed countries on the HDI index.
- Many people live on less than a dollar a day.
- The GDP PPP is hanging loose just above 1000 (or summin). Actually Gabon and Botswana are doing than Kenya.

Dont be quick to hug the western media - ati depicting slums, starvation, sickness and war. Most of the time, these stories serve specific economical, political and cultural western agendas. Its ONLY news when the West's interests are on the plate. Remember this is the same media that FLASHES the agony of being a white-blond-middle class female. This group of people are in danger! someone is always kidnapping them, killing them and doing 'bad' things to them (most often than not by a nyeuthi). Long gone are the days of the media reporting news/events objectively.

http://www.nack.us/gif/avatars/NackVision.com_av122.gif