Food poisoning -
11-24-2005, 08:45 AM
The scene is in eldoret, five years back. I was waiting to board an akamba bus to nairobi that was scheduled to leave at 10.pm. To pass time I ducked into a hotel for a bite of chips and kuku fry. I love soft chips but this time round I was done. The chips was crisps-dry. So I engage in a hot heated argument with the hotel management who insist that I must pay for the dish I hardly ate. They have a point anyway but I tell them that I had rejected the food coz it was substandard. My stomach too has feelings.
The hotel manager feels the heat and leaves me. But hardly 10 minutes later I get a replacement for dish, and the chipo was in plenty. Hahahahahahahahahahahaha......I never ate the chips! A second thought came into my mind, why was the waiter smiling too hard for me, why was the manager friendly waving at me, why was........Something warned me that there was something wrong with the food!
Has anyone ever had such fear before? I'm hardly the fearful type but I can recall all premonitions I've ever heard moreso about people have come to pass true.
RE: Food poisoning -
11-24-2005, 09:45 AM
Oh my, when i worked in a Hotel there are some guests who used to be so rude and demanding. I used to get so pissed off i make sure i wipe the toilet with their towels. Lol there is a pal of mine who would get angry and leave the same bed-linen from previous guests. I can imagine how eeecky it was after some strangers made out on it.
Guests can be annoying and sometimes it spices your day up after doin silly things like that.
I watched this movie, some kid ordered a burger or summin like that he kept sayin it wasn't good enuff. Lol the chef took it to the kitchen and stuffed it in his back side, farted on it,he spit some phlegm on it, then he wanked on it and then poured some mayo on the greens. When the kid ate it he said it was awesome. lol!
11-24-2005, 10:20 AM
mazee sanaa wawezaje fanya hvyo....and the way i handa those tu ka waiters sometimes..lol.....nimeogopa sasa
11-24-2005, 11:58 AM
>Oh my, when i worked in a Hotel there are some guests who
>used to be so rude and demanding. I used to get so pissed off
>i make sure i wipe the toilet with their towels. Lol there is
>a pal of mine who would get angry and leave the same bed-linen
>from previous guests. I can imagine how eeecky it was after
>some strangers made out on it.
>Guests can be annoying and sometimes it spices your day up
>after doin silly things like that.
>I watched this movie, some kid ordered a burger or summin like
>that he kept sayin it wasn't good enuff. Lol the chef took it
>to the kitchen and stuffed it in his back side, farted on
>it,he spit some phlegm on it, then he wanked on it and then
>poured some mayo on the greens. When the kid ate it he said it
>was awesome. lol!
Payback is an art, with that said, anything you do in the name of payback karma should be your deciding factor. All the above are not only spiteful but juvenile payback methods. All these places could have been rigged with cameras and could have been waterloo for the idiots that did this.
Payback is an art, not everyone is an artist.
السّلام, الحبّ و الشّحم الجبان !
pimpala ©
11-24-2005, 12:58 PM
Koumba,
Yep, i know stuff like that actually happens, i can imagine what they do in the actual restaurants lol.
Be it in a 5 star hotel or otherwise, for your own sake, tip the waiter, if you can't then be polite otherwise you will only be putting your stomach on the line.
Its nice to go to those Japanese Rest. where they cook everything while you watch.. Although thats not fool proof as asians have been known to be Hygienically challenged. Manze they will go to great levels to decrease their costs and increase their profits, even using recycled veggies (literally from the bin) I know some decent asian restaurants that have been closed cause of that.
You can never be too sure. Lets just say you need a tough stomach lining if you eat out alot.
11-24-2005, 01:47 PM
I used to work with a professional chef during ice hockey season. I was the one who chopped up the vegetables and washed the dishes. The chef was a very demanding jamaa and always had a bottle of liqueur in case shizzle hit the fan and he needs to relax. Our kitchen was big on cleanliness. We'd leave at 2am if the kitchen didn't look good. The Chief Chef didn't care if we missed the last bus or the last train home. His kitchen had to look good and we had to make him look good when the Health inspectors paid 'surprise' visits.
Our kitchen was known to feed the CEO's of companies who invested Millions and Millions of dollars in sponsorship for ice hockey. It was stressful working in that kitchen. When the food was cold, it was promptly sent back to our kitchen to be made again. If one of the salads was a touch bit too coarse, it would be returned and I'd be yelled at. Waitresses would be yelled at if they dropped food. If the ice didn't feel chilled enuff, it was returned. Desserts had to be made a particular way or we'd lose business that night. The wives of the CEO's barely ate and the waste at the end of night was incredible. The chief chef would find something wrong in the presentation of the food or in the cleanliness of the dishes and there'd be some screaming and cussing. It was always one incessant screaming competition.
Lapses in kitchen were taken on everyone. Eventually peepz started quitting, 2 by 2 mpaka no one was left. I remember one of the junior chefs was reprimanded for making hard quesadillas. Jamaa was like 'make it yourself'...disrobed and left for good.
11-24-2005, 08:58 PM
I remember one
>of the junior chefs was reprimanded for making hard
>quesadillas. Jamaa was like 'make it yourself'...disrobed and
>left for good.
:D I can imagine his fury!
Anywayz no wonder I hate eating out.Peeps doing all sorts of dirty stuff on the food. I remember back in the day,may be I was in class 5 or 6, I went to Gikomba with my mum and the sight of that place made me to stay hungry for a whole day and to this day I hate Gikomba----filthy filthy filthy!
11-24-2005, 10:11 PM
> I remember one
>>of the junior chefs was reprimanded for making hard
>>quesadillas. Jamaa was like 'make it yourself'...disrobed
>and
>>left for good.
>:D I can imagine his fury!
> Anywayz no wonder I hate eating out.Peeps doing all sorts of
>dirty stuff on the food. I remember back in the day,may be I
>was in class 5 or 6, I went to Gikomba with my mum and the
>sight of that place made me to stay hungry for a whole day and
>to this day I hate Gikomba----filthy filthy filthy!
What about buying boiled maize by the roadside, especially in nakuru, not knowing that the water used to boil the stuff was what the kamama had bathed with.
Worse still buying roasted maize in kericho/molo not knowing that as the guy was chomaring the stuff he spat phlegm, sneezed and occassionally picked his nose with his hand.
The worst one for me was in pand-pieri hotel. Si I had a massive hunger, ducked into the ka-hotel for ugali matumbo. As I was ravenously enjoying my 50/- bob meal a mad man with fleas all over his body came and stood by the door. He fixed his mad gaze at me and with every bite I took of the meal he winced in pain. Needless to say I couldn't eat no more to his joy. He devoured the remaining stuff with satanic frenzy.
That was my last with what I call 'low class' hotels. But in places like siaya and maseno there is hardly a choice, is there?
Similar story! -
11-24-2005, 11:37 PM
u have reminded me of this jamaa who used to roast maize at the bus-stop near home. The jamaa used to walk behind his kiosk, take a piss and not wash his hands. he'd then go and turn the maize and squeeze some oranges to make some orange juice he used to sell.
i think karma caught up with him coz when on day when he was takin a piss, a jamaa who was peeing besides him noticed he had not been circumcised. the rest is history
the last i heard of him was that he was driven around the neighbourhood naked on-top of a mkokoteni on his way to the village circumciser. people were urged to contribute to his medical expenses.
Kenyans are the most considerate people! lol
nunulia wasee wa home phone credit @ bongasasa.com