RE: BARCLAYS BANK AND THE BARCLAY BROTHERS...... -
11-01-2002, 12:21 PM
A BANK IS BANK EVEN A PIGGY BANK.
ITS LIKE SAYING THAT YOU CAN'T DRIVE A FORD VEHICLE COZ THE INVENTORS WERE WHITE SLAVE TRADERS.IF SH!T CAN KEEP ME MOVING..HECK! THATS WHAT I NEED.
ON MY SIDE I PREFER DEEP SEA BANKING,AM TALKING ABOUT WHEN GOING TO WITHDRAW SOME $$YOU WILL HAVE TO BOARD A SUBMARINE AND THIS INCLUDES FREQUENT VISITS TO MY ATMS,SH!T AM GOING DEEP!!
11-01-2002, 02:56 PM
Barclays bank is a shady bank. i've had a few bad experiences with them, not just in kenya but abroad. i think the bank is run by lawyers rather than bankers coz all they do is charge. unlike most banks which offer lots of freebie services this guys will not hesitate to charge you for just walking into their bank.
i rarely use their services even though i have an account with them.
in kenya stan chart and barclays are just a rip off. ati ledger fees. they seem to have colonial mentality of charging you to keep your money. its like they are doing you a favour.
11-09-2002, 10:28 AM
Look, as Labell has pointed out the point of banking is to keep your money safe and accessible...the future does not matter..just as the the building of our railways , docks and even Kisumu City were built by underpaid coolies!!!
No one i think is forced to bank with any particular financial institution, the choice is upto you!
This idealism won't take you very far - if you're looking for a bank with clean foundations , there are precious few especially here in the states!
11-13-2002, 06:08 PM
>Look, as Labell has pointed out the point of banking is to
>keep your money safe and accessible...the future (do you mean the past?)does not matter...
Bilaz!!! Do you mean to say that those Swiss banks shouldn't pay for all the profiteering they engaged in against the Jews in Nazi Germany? The issue as I see it is one of ethical conduct & responsibilty in commerce.
>No one i think is forced to bank with any particular financial
>institution, the choice is upto you!
True enough, but since i now jua what-a-go-on I'm in a position to make a conscious decision. One does't especially need Barclays here.
But Kenya is a different ball game all together. Allow me to shoot my self on my right foot coz ain't no way am opening an acc. wit' sijui:
01). Philip Moi's Heritage Bank
02). Euro Bank
03). KCB (aka: Kalejin Cash Box)
04). The-Once-Upon-A-Tyme National Bank of Kenya
05). Nyachae's Bank sijui it's called what
06). Njonjo's/M-one's Bank sijui CFC Bank
07). Duncan/Philip Ndegwa's AM Bank no matter how glossy it's HQ looks.
08). Somaia's Delphis Bank
09). Akiba Bank. owned by those EABS chuta's or
10). Sam Mumbi's Daima Bank
HELL NOOooOO!!!! wacha i swallow my black pride and stick to those Barclays slave owning jungu's! Atleast i jua the MD would'nt take me to the cleaners.
11-13-2002, 08:36 PM
How do we develop Kenya and endelea with this mindset that an institution onwned by a Kenyan can't be trusted? Granted there are some who are crooks, akina Ngumba and his failed bank ...but even jungus can iba. Angalia Enron ama WorldCom. I think our pride in the Kenyan product and Kenyan insitutions will be the begining of our success as a country. One luv.
11-14-2002, 02:00 PM
>How do we develop Kenya and endelea with this mindset
>that an institution onwned by a Kenyan can't be trusted?
>Granted there are some who are crooks, akina Ngumba and his
>failed bank ...
HOLD UP!!! I never said @ any point that AN INSTITUTION OWNED BY A KENYAN CAN'T BE TRUSTED. What i jua for a fact is leo hii in Kenya one can get away wit' murder,that Kamlesh can withdraw Ksh. 22 billion from the CBK and get away wit' it or Ajay Shah wiping off sijui Ksh. 2 Billion of Trust Bank customer deposits.
Now, lets take a walk down our political banks: National Bank is on the verge of financial collapse,Post Bank is a joke, KCB is for all intent and purpose a Kaleo-Cash-Box for loans bila securities or collatrol and you gon' turn around and ask me to place blind faith on this corrupt of INSTITUTIONS! HELL NOoo!!!
I'm not against Kenyan's in top posistion, how would I, what am against is all MOI appointee full stop. Therefore my objections begin and end with MOI, not the ability or resourcefullness of Kenyans.
>but even jungus can iba.
...NAME ONE ....ohh ati who?...
> Enron ama WorldCom.
....what has Enron got to do wit'our depressed banking system and politically appointed economic profiteers in the guise of bankers?!!!. Besides those jungu's creamed off stock not comstomer deposits.
>I think our pride in the Kenyan product and Kenyan
>insitutions will be the begining of our success as a country.
>One luv.
I think the end of tribalism, the pssing of this hellish Nyayo era and everything it stands for, adopting a new code of work ethic's, population-check family planning, a good transport & communication network, improving political competition, the nurturing of the enterprenual spirit....yaani a BASIC RETURN TO REASON will form the corner stone of any young progressive nation.
11-14-2002, 05:28 PM
>I think the end of tribalism, the pssing of this hellish Nyayo
>era and everything it stands for, adopting a new code of work
>ethic's, population-check family planning, a good transport &
>communication network, improving political competition, the
>nurturing of the enterprenual spirit....yaani a BASIC RETURN
>TO REASON will form the corner stone of any young progressive
>nation.
> Man, think of the things u said I pretty much agree with the points u've made above about us returning to reason. That's true. Lakini what I've seen in Kenyans, of which I'm one...is a complete distrust of kenyan heads of institutions. You asked me what Enron and World Com has to do with the kenyan banking system. my answer: EVERYTHING.
Ebu ask yourself, if a jungu can iba in stato knowing very well that the FBI won't rest mpaka his ass is in federal prison, what can the jungu heads of Barclays and stanchart do ...knowing that in kenya, they can get away with anything? A Barclays chief accountant can easily defraud kenyan customers major bakes and there isint a damn thing anyone will do. Don't even talk about scotland yard investigating coz as long as the crime happened outside the jurisdiction of Britain, they can investigate all they want, but it's the kenyan Govt. that must prosecute. And will all know how that goes. Especially if the C. Accountant choteas akina Mo1 and the jugdes!!!
So Habib bank can be looted but so can barclays and Stan chart. All we have to go by is an institution's history. It's all we have and all we can go with. What others have done be4 them is irrelevant. Holla...
11-19-2002, 02:10 AM
kenyaone...i suggest you spend some time reading more into the Enron and Worldcom scandals before you jump the gun and try to justify how their stealing would be any different from one done by a Kenyan bank.
true Enron were scheming off stocks but you must realise the majority of it's stockholders were teachers, firemen etc who had there 401K invested for them so that it could earn money. these were their retirement funds and Enron's failure to notify them of its losses then continously cover up it's accounting is if anything more painful than a bank folding with your last two or three salaries worth of money still in it.some of the cases had 25-35 year old 401K funds involved!!! Worldcom despite its assests and consumer base had about 3.5 billion dollars worth of off-balance-sheet loans given out to it'd corporate officers with the company backing the loans. there's your loan without collateral!!
some of those "local" banks mentioned actually have more competitive,personalized and better services than those Goliath institutions we so readily believe in.
11-19-2002, 05:38 PM
@Cue 'N' KM:
I mean seriously if ya' daddies are like MD's and Directors of the said institutions i still won't put a penny in them coz I have lost all faith in Kenyan institutions. Kila mahali Kenya ni kuyakuwa tu!
Words like INTEGRITY, HONESTY & COMMON DECENCY can get you stoned to death. Such adjectives have lost meaning. They have no value b'coz SHAME no longer exist in Kenya.
You guyz remember Ngenyi. The jamabazi who stole billions of Ksh. from the Post Office. He had the nerve to tell a high court judge IN COURT -IN BROAD DAYLIGHT -IN FULL VIEW OF THE PRESS ati...
"YOU PPL. ARE JUST WASTING MY TYME. THERE IS NOWHERE YOU CAN TAKE ME!"
Like i said, my argument is more or less a vote of no confidence in Moi's appointee to run those banks. Take Arap Kiplagat of Post Bank. A jamaaz who is hardly educated. In less than 2 years the primitive fuc*er high jumped ppl. more senior than him in Post Bank
to became the MD from A PRISON OFFICER! SIJUI A TOILET JANITOR!!!.
Then shortly in less than one year he's our neighbour next door. Where did he get all that money from?. You wounder!
11-21-2002, 07:25 PM
FOR THOSE SICK OF MAINSTREAM BANKING TRY OFFSHORE BANKING, NO HASSLE JUST DEPOSIT AND WALA.. GET YOUR MONEY RIGHT THERE NO FIVE DAYS HOLD AND TO MUCH HEADACHE BANKING REGULATIONS.
FOR ALL WITH CHUMAS AND WANT EASY WAY OUT TRY OUR OFFSHORE BANKING JOINT VENTURE OF BIB AND DUDDETTE, CURRENTLY WE OPERATE IN JAMAICA AND SOMALIA WHERE ILLEGAL ACTIVITY IS NORM..SO AGAIN YOUR BANK OF CHOICE IS BIDU BANK(BIB&DUDDETTE)
~BIDU BANK FOR YOUR NEEDS~
SOME OF THE SERVICE WE PROVIDE ARE:
1.INTEREST FREE ON YOUR BIDU CREDIT CARDS
2.ANTI COLLECTION AGENCY ENFORCEMENT- THAT MEANS NO CREDITORS OR GOVERNMENTS GET OR GARNISH YOUR ACCOUNT.
3. AFTER 15 TRANSACTIONS IN YOUR ACCOUNT FREE SERVICE LIMO WITH OFCOURSE DETOUR TO PLAYBOY FUN CLUB.
4. FREE HIGH WORLD WIDE UNLIMITED INTERNET, BE IN KENYA OR STATE NO PROBLEM THE ACCOUNT GOES WITH YOU.
THIS ARE FEW OF MANY SERVICES WE PROVIDE..SO NEXT TIME YOU HEAR BIDU BANK REMEMBER YOUR BANK WITH HEART-B-I-D-U B-A-N-K