Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > A Visit to the US Embassy

Tony

Default A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-12-2002, 08:42 AM

Has anyone visited the US Embassy of late. Manze i visited the place this week and as i was living the place, without the Visa of course, i could not help but wonder whether the US education is really worth the struggle. If St. Peters is anything like anyone of those mamaa, i think we shall all go to hell

kid

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-12-2002, 11:19 AM

Pole jamaa. stay strong, if u dont have much going on in kenya, stato is a land of opportunity so aim for your goal. Those jamaas at the embassy are sticklers to requirements and they have silly innocent sounding questions aimed at tricking u into some bs that will make you denied a visa.
I remember questions like marriage, green cards, work, chiles, kids, maisha the works. You have to be sharp when they start asking those type of questions and deny them all and tell them how home is home.
Also another thing, try and get 4 year universities that are not tooo common and maybe in the midwest.
All the best.

TINMAN

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-12-2002, 12:49 PM

Those interviews are just nasty.
Come to think of it .. It's seems that you have to lie in-order to get that sticker glued to you PP.
Mob guys I know who have walked into that dungeon with holiness and truth, come out with nothing other than regret- why did I say this or that !

So for sure it a must that you have to cook up storo so as to qualify for a visa ??

Bangi ya mbegu mbaya !

Xuxa

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-12-2002, 01:41 PM

Tony,
I feel you. Maze it seems like all the US embassies(that how you spell it) are all the same. A beste of mine had to take his visa from the Embassy in Trinidad.....same sh!t..... I think it was even worse for them. They have about 400 people queing for visas on the same day. So just know that you are not the only one going through that ish....... they also ask the same stupid questions, ati whether I am going to go back home after I am done with my studies....Idiots!!!! How do they know that Im telling the truth. When you say that you are going to go back home, say it like you mean it. And dont try that trick of ati going there dressed shadyly, they are onto that now!!!!! All the best dogg.

mzeemzee

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-12-2002, 02:11 PM

In my case, My Dad did all the talking and I guess that was more convincing.

MissP

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-12-2002, 04:03 PM

Sometimes I wonder how they give those Visas coz they give some without even mingi maswalis then others they just make your life hell for the few minutes ya are in there. Sincerely getting to heaven is much easier or even hell for crying out loud.

KenyanRoc

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-16-2002, 04:31 AM

I hate to say this...BUT some peeps plainly make it hard for themselves...we are used to not doing things as per the book...all the questions ...answers are already provided...documents required are clearly specified before the intervue...you still find jamaas going there with half the stuff needed and semas maze mimi niko na bad luck...

bad luck ke?.... Be prepared, jua your stuff, consult those who have being sucessful before... smoke a joint (if you need to)...get in there and KICK ASS BABY!!!..

ROC

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-16-2002, 06:49 AM

@Roc
I dont mean to be rude lakini if you go ther with the attitude of "Kick Ass"... you will NOT get that VISA. They'll probably shav your application forms right up your own ass.. then advise you to put your pants back on then tell you to walk out NORMALLY (yaani dont limp or tilt... walk as if you have nothing up the ...)

So plse be the humble Kenyan you are and always tell the truth.

>bad luck ke?.... Be prepared, jua your
>stuff, consult those who have being
>sucessful before... smoke a joint (if
>you need to)...get in there and KICK ASS
>BABY!!!..
>ROC

Kyalo

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-16-2002, 07:14 AM

Hi Tony, 1st don't make coming here a big goal in itself ........... it can be dissapointing. You can get education that compares to the best in the world right there and find your way into these strong ecomonies with much ease.
2nd like someone said, these visa procedures are straight forward .......... there is no science!! Just read that instruction sheet and check/tick as you gather everything they ask for.
3rd is confidence. walk in there to get your visa not to try. This is something they can smell from a distance.

Try again if you must leave leave now ............... and remember to plan on returning home. Time flies.
All the best.

ngong

Default RE: A Visit to the US Embassy - 04-16-2002, 04:19 PM

don't worry ur not missing much. there are many shidas here also even if u kuja here u'll need like a year b4 u start making some serious k.

as for me i lined up outside the embassy last august. i fikad 7pm the pervious day and keshad in the rain. there was no shelter or sits so we just stood there and got serouisly rained on by 12 am we where kedo 70 pple outside the embassy. the watchies kept dissing telling us to go home ati its worthless. by 6 am morning we where about 700 jamas outside the embassy. they counted the first 150 and ***uzad the rest. now we are tired, cold as last night the temperatures fikad record low of 7C thats like 40F in kenya that's no joke. anyway two ladies kuja outside the embassy and setup the meza and start interviewing the 150 jamas. men! that was a bad day guys were being nyimwad like a nonsense. it fikas my turn i sit down like this the chille checks my grade(very good), my chuo(quite classy) asks if i jua anyone i stato i sema ndio and xplain who. then chukua's my pp and tells me to kuja 4 my visa in the evening. i was like huh! yaani i spent a whole night just to be interviewed for 1 minute. they didn't even angalia my statements or whose paying my fees. anyway. i was lucky coz that day out of the 150 jamas only 35 patad while the previous day out of 200 jamas 150 patad.

i guess it depends on the day.