RE: A Visit to the US Embassy -
04-18-2002, 01:47 PM
hey tony,
if this will make you feel any better, i went to the embassy 3 times b4 i got my VISA,
i had all my documents, but i did not look like a "student" had been working and stuff,
HUMBLE yourself, just appear there like a student, dress like one, reason like one too,
Look at them straight in the eye and only answer the Question that you are asked(be brief when answering)
NOW GO BACK THERE!
04-18-2002, 02:57 PM
Kweli going to the embassy is a gruesome experience. My siz has been there 4 times denied all times. We've gotten all sorts of advice from guys but it never works. I think it's like lottery if you are lucky it's your day. Sometimes they don't even look at your doc. they just proceed to ask you 2 questions and hand over the std rejection letter.
Those askaris at the gate think they are gods. My siz younger siz was turned around cause her passport size picture was not the right one. Yet my older siz had gotten a visa with a similar picture. It's such double stds that just drive you up the wall. My uncle booked 2 appointments asked them to cancel on they cancelled the one for the day that he showed up. They would not even give him a consideration. That embassy counsel so rude and arrogant.
04-18-2002, 04:09 PM
when i went to the embassy ( the old one), i was with my son (then six months).this guy was infront of me and he was dressed pretty decent.you know baggy jeans , a nice shirt etc bana . the white jungu woman BLASTED this guy about how he walked up in there feeling good and there is no way in hell he will see the us etc.then shouted loudly NEXT!!!!!.
I almost pissed on myself . There i was walking upto her with a baby on my hand. I swear i felt as if the world had just stopped. She took one look at me and the child , then asked me what i wanted(What do you think i want?) i thought to my self. I just slowly put the papers through the window slot (ie I-20, bank stmnt ,acceptance letter ,passports etc) then looked dead into her eyes( i swear this old woman looked like the old woman sofia in "golden girls)
She took her time and then asked me if i had paid of the application and told me to come back that afternoon. How i got home, I dont know . but i guess i am one of the people who escaped the "THE TERROR OF THE EMBASSY!!!'
04-18-2002, 05:02 PM
Tony, don't be discouraged. If you are persistent and focused, you will one day succeed. It is a matter of time. However, time waits for no man. So my advise to you is not to put all your "eggs or maembes in one basket". Have a plan to fall back on and at the same time chase your dream (visa). Also, if all fails, there are other ways of getting a visa. I was in Kenya recently and one thing I learnt is that anything is possible in our beloved country. You just need to look around and be prepared to toa kitu kidogo.
04-18-2002, 05:25 PM
Kweli...you guys have experienced drama...Salaalaa!....Still can't get over dude who decided all he wanted was the black belt and gave a small demo...Goddamnit!
Think my small bro was one of the lucky ones coz' he didn't have any drama obtaining the visa even though he was a bit nervous at first...He was asked if he knew anyone in the States and he was like..Yeah!...I've got enough relatives already there studying and working...The lady asked how come you ain't listed any of their addresses here and you say you're gonna live at your halls of residence...My bro was like, I've had enough of them here, now why would I wanna go and indulge that side....but I'm happy he was able to prove his goal was to go study and come back and work.
I've also heard of drama stories from Kenyans trying to apply for US visas from the UK and the way it was supposed to be a nightmare....I filled in the application form and mailed it to the embassy together with the documents...Was a bit worried that I hadn't even got an address or somebody I was planning to stay with and wrote down that I'll look for a hotel. My passport came back a week later in the mail with a 5 yr visa and no questions asked....So I think there are some good peoples out there but if you meet someone who didn't get none the previous night, you've just languished.
04-18-2002, 08:34 PM
ooh well, i guess i cant help in this
situation coz us(me and mah family) came thro'
a different....whatever not like comming here
to study. actually we got our visas like three
months after we arrived and they just sent them
to us we didnt have to go there to get them
and i just hear this stuffs from you guyz that
they ask lots of ques... i guess i was lucky
i dont even kno' if mah dad went there or wut
but N'ways good luck yall
04-19-2002, 09:04 AM
Desi, sorry for your small sis, but then they also clearly indicate what size the picture should be (just like they do in the green card lottery), so why not spare oneself the grief and follow all the requirments to the letter?
04-19-2002, 09:38 AM
@Tinman...LOL!:7
04-19-2002, 10:18 AM
I had to add my experience on AUGUST 1st...2001...
damn.....unajua I checked in....at the Embassy at about 5 am....nikaona LINE NDEFU...kama mlolongo wa ants....nikajua bass....nikaanza kutetemeka....
Damn.....hata I thought...maybe how watu walikuwa there for other reasons.....Damn....that day was depressing sana...so....I passed those....about 200 jamaas....and simamaad near the beginning.....chilling just incase...I could kata the line...coz I juaad If i kaad nyuma there was no going anywhere.....
Ikafika....7:30...watu wakaulizwa wale wana appointment na wale hawana....nikajipandisha kwa wale wana appointment...I WAS THE THIRD JAMAA....now this upto today...I still thank the Lord....ilikuwa luck sana....
The guys who were unlucky were those without appointments....I kumbuka....the first 20...pekee ndio walikubaliwa....out of nearly..200...I promise....watu amabao hawakukabaliwa walikaa hapo.....mpaka around....I had been accepted.....(Waliniambia nikuje nichukue passport saa zingine).....nikaangalia hiyo passport na nikajiuliza.....why?
WHY?.....damn.....I really felt bad....people looked depressed....with their relaz....hata excitement ya visa.....ilipunguswa.....
I was lucky sana....niliulizwa...nitoe properties na what my peroz fanya.....lakini...HATA NILIKUWA NIME BEBA ALBUM....nilikuwa nimeinunua EBRAHIMS....ya snaps.....kuanswer ile question ya SOCIAL TIES....I really tried...and I really prayed...but more so...I WAS LUCKY....and hio si katai....
There are so many people who were more capable than me financially...academically....morally actually in all respects na hawakupata....GETTING A VISA....unforgetable
Jitihadi haiondoi kudura
Kivuli cha fimbo hakimfichi mtu jua
04-19-2002, 11:44 AM
Tony, Like everyone else has said don't give up. Go back there and have everything that has been requested in order please.
Getting a visa from Kenya to the US has become increasingly difficult so I would urge you to have something to fall back on like Rudy said. Get busy while you are still in Kenya and do not invest everything in coming here because when you're dissapointed by the consul officers you will be at a loss and you will be thoroughly depressed(I have been there) Also be advised that this place is not a bed of roses but the opportunities here are far much more than what we have back home especially once you complete your education here.
Someone mentioned that in Kenya anything is possible including buying that visa(Yes, not many people admit this but they had theirs done backdoor and are now here) You might want to try this out though it's a risky business and the people involved ask for lots of money. The choice is yours.....