RE: A Visit to the US Embassy -
04-18-2002, 07:12 AM
LOL - Ngong, kwani when was this? U must really have loved this Degree you are pursuing/pursued to sacrifice that much!?! Imagine how much we all have to struggle for that "stamp" that will end up determing our future yet when you come here you never use it. Everybody has different experiences at the Embassy. Mine was quite straight forward, passport and document checking, statements, Q-why I am taking the Degree - to which I said the only way I will be an Employer and that's it. But I have always wondered how it is like right now to get a visitor's pass? Anybody????
04-18-2002, 07:21 AM
>@Roc
>I dont mean to be rude lakini if you go
>ther with the attitude of "Kick Ass"...
>you will NOT get that VISA. They'll
>probably shav your application forms
>right up your own ass.. then advise you
>to put your pants back on then tell you
>to walk out NORMALLY (yaani dont limp or
>tilt... walk as if you have nothing up
>the ...)
>So plse be the humble Kenyan you are and
>always tell the truth.
>>bad luck ke?.... Be prepared, jua your
>>stuff, consult those who have being
>>sucessful before... smoke a joint (if
>>you need to)...get in there and KICK ASS
>>BABY!!!..
>>ROC
eerrr JMBURUS..
I am talking from experience..being there done that.
When I say get in there and kick ass..I am not asking anyone to be arrogant (seems like that is what you thought)...be confident!!!..
Anyway you probably one of them jamaas mkia katikati ya miguu.. and think that being confident is arrogant.
ROC
NB: do not mistake
04-18-2002, 09:14 AM
Honestly speaking Tony do not give up. I remember some time last year James Orengo(M.P) for Ugenya was quoted saying that getting a visa to go to America is harder than for a sinner trying to sneak into Heaven.:9 :9
04-18-2002, 10:19 AM
By the way do they still have the Chiness guy?...I had the guy gave nada visa.
The guy asked my boy what he was going to do in the US..my boy was like to "train and attain my black belt in karate".So the dude asked him to disply his skills, so my jamma started to do all the kata's..ati..Hiii HUU, waaa hUU kaa Haiya!!...after that the jamma's inside the embassy cheka'd mpaka walikuwa waki okotwo chini.
and as you are guessing my boy went home bila Visa.
04-18-2002, 10:43 AM
When I visited the embassy exactly a week before it was bombed, they never asked me any question at all , upto this day I am baffled , the ka jungu lady just took my papers and then told me to go back in the afternoon for the visa. But the scenario though might have confused her, I was right behind a jungu from Nanyuki and we were all having a hearty talk, laughing and all and I guess she assumed we were together because the jungu did not get any questions asked and neither did I, infact she did not go through my bank statement ,just looked at the i20 and that was it . I was shocked because I had heard many stories about the kind of questions they throw on your face but again it could be other explanation but I hope to God that Ka lady did not perish in that disaster.
04-18-2002, 11:04 AM
Ngong, I feel you on the kesha bit. I too went to that embassy at around the time you did and yes I had to be there at 12am and kesha till morning since they had this open door policy for the students who were coming for the fall 01 semester but it was first come first serve. I wasn't even going there for a student visa but had to be there at midnight just in case. By 6am on the interview date my fingers were numb and I couldn't remember why I wanted to get that visa! The cold does that to my memory. The wachies were not making it any easier either. They kept us a bunch of us(about 250 guys lined up) why we wanted to go to the US so bad.
Tony don't be discouaraged because to honest with you this was my third attempt and this takes a lot of courage! I was interviewed last on that day and this was at 5pm! I had spent more than 12hours at that Embassy but this time it went well. Do you really want to come here Tony? If so, you have to take heart.
04-18-2002, 11:21 AM
Aaaahh Ngong. I feel ya kijana. I was there camping last August bana. That was a messed up season. Lakini as you say, there were good days and bad days, there were days they gave the visas like loaf and other days it was like you are trying to get some million bana. That njeve was just too much.
For the jamaa who started this thread, yenyewe that place is not easy, and the bad thing is that you can never predict your fate. It can be as simple as two questions, or a grilling that is worse than any. Make sure you have your documents in order. Kwanza beba things that show you are tied to your country. Stuff that indicates what you are bound to inherit comes in handy for a jamaa. Alafu the statements have to be sawa. Usijaribu ku-fake kijana. Those pple are paid to look at statements the whole day and they tell a fake from the gate.Talking about how you are eager to come back and help your country helps. But don't go to give kameme that you have not been asked.
All the best bana, for those of us who have been there, they know how shiitious it can be.
04-18-2002, 11:36 AM
...Enyewe those days of camping outside the embassy were krazy.Then wcha it fikas 4am and then you are told by the watchies to queue.Weeeeee surely Kenyanz can run.Tony, believe me the guys I give much kudos are the dudes who got their visas last August.Juu that was more than a joke.You can imagine like this day when almost 400 peeps were running to chapa line then only 2o guys were let in.it was krazy.But the dude who was pulling karate stunts.....NOW THAT IS KRAZY!
04-18-2002, 12:34 PM
This is crazy yo'l
My buddy Oti decided to get a mexican visa,since he had nyimwad the stato one like a thao times. So he makes arrangements after getting the mexican visa to have connecting flights so that he can have one into san antonio.
So he goes and gets a trasit visa for STATO since he had a 10 hours overlay. Ripley's - IT WORKED !
So he pangad with the sister who was already in stato to come pick him up from S-antonio and si you just jua how the rest of micheni works.
The sister shows up with a quoro to welcome OTI to chambele.
An hour goes by and there is no sign of the guy
Kumbe the jamaa is held huko nadani for some thorough interview by the custom buddies. I think they became fishy coz he had checked no luggage to mehico.
Oti is asked if he juas any one in the stato? he goes into absolute denial- I'm actally the first person in my clan to see the interior of a plane what are you talking about.
Outside the sister is getting impatient, all the guys who came aboard that plane have already come out of the gate.
So she did the ultimate blunder, she called huko ndani - Ati I'm waiting for my brother who was suppost bluh bluh- rabbish.
Oti got a saree trip back home na isitoche when he arrived JKIA, the Immigration guys were waiting for him- wapi wale watu wali sign affidavit of support kwa passport application form yako ?
You don't even want to jua who had signed those pp application forms for Oti- mabeste wake wamtaa mmoja kwanza alikuwa waiter wa kiosk moja uitwa karubandika.
Maze talk of things backfiring...
04-18-2002, 12:45 PM
Ngong...u indeed remind me what i had forgotten.I was there too during that little era of "walk in..first come first serve".Like everyone, i had to be there at two oclock in the morning.I'll give a line up of items that led to me obtaining a visa:
1.I prayed so much and a couple of people did that too for me.
2.Nobody was there to signal the start of the race...but i was ready and run to be among the first twenty.
3.I had all the documents listed and others i thought would be important.
4.I did not lie about how i was when the man asked "How are u"...i said i was hungry and tired.
5.I had confidence to look at him in the eye..remember i was in ma home country not a refugee.
Tony do not loose any hope keep trying and if u really wanna come.If u think u really can not do it by yourself,holla back...i could whisper you something.