Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab

krayzie

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-16-2002, 02:01 PM

ok only my father was English at the time of my birth and my mom Kenyan. i believe i am kenyan. however on paper i am not due to legal reasons. which to you holds more weight. What the law says or what someones up bringing is?

honeygal

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-16-2002, 02:44 PM

i think after reading MTT's explanation u should stop asking if u r kenyan or not. he's explained it very well.

kham

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 12:10 AM

Now I am starting to think may be I am not Kenyan too.
Since I don't relate to a lot of things back home anymore, and the life I intend to live definately does not relate to many Kenyans back home, may be I am not Kenyan anymore.
This type of litmus test is just straight up dead wrong. MTT I was gonna tell you to elaborate since the first time I read ya post it was Greek, then I read it again and it was Spanish, then I again it was Jango and finally it was Kikuyu. Which I think I understand pretty good. But, I still can't see your point.
Kham

mnyika

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 03:37 AM

Guys!!, I think all of u' are not aware that there are new immigration rules, having a birth cert. doesnt mean u' are kenyan, in fact the new b/certs. have a note...this birth certificate does not mean u' are kenyan....; somebody has to justify being kenyan. So being born in kenya only is not enough!!

mombasaguy

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 05:57 AM

>Kenyans are people either born in kenya
>or spent a significant amount time of
>their life (legal immigrants)in
>Kenya....regardless of colour.
>Everyone else needs to STEP!!
>ROC

i agree with what you have said. a kenyan is anyone who is either a kenyan citizen or has spent a large portion of their life in kenya and considers kenya to be home. someone who is a part of kenya and makes a positive and productive eefor to either their adopted country or their birth country. the same holds for those from around the world who move to the USA and Canada. they make a choice to become americans or canadians and pledge allegience to their new country. we can not place people in a bubble and narrowly define them. that time needs to end!

sub_saharan

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 06:11 AM

>Kenyans can be black. It isn't like all
>those whom you mention suffered the same
>yoke of colonialism that black Africans
>suffered. It isn't like there were white
>men and women being required to carry
>kipande and being forced to live in
>resettlement schemes. Show me anyone
>white who rejected the privileges
>accorded to the white people in Kenya
>during the dark days of colonialism in
>order to join and be part and parcel of
>the independence movement.
>None!
>If at all one was comfortable living the
>life of the coloniser, then there is no
>reason when the colonised has become
>free, for the coloniser to remain. His
>colonial duties being over, he cannot
>expect to be welcomed into the fold of
>the recently redeemed coz he is not.
>Fascism or Radical Nationalism will be
>required to not only set the rules but
>to also carry out a complete and
>irreversible total crushing of the
>coastal foreigners who are nothing but a
>bunch of foreigners who are threatening
>to turn the country into a drug infested
>crime filled gomorrah!
>I say a clear and unwavering sense of
>who is Kenyan will be required so that
>we can smash the Arab drug rings in the
>Coastal area, wipe out the Italian
>mobsters of Malindi, get rid of Coastal
>Germans and finally deal with illegal
>and criminal immigrants from India and
>Pakistan.
>A policy of jail and deport! Even if
>some of our people have ruined the
>economy(Moi et al) we will not allow
>FOREIGNERS to add to that misery. Like
>Mussolini did in Italy we shall make
>organised crime wish it had never
>existed!
>http://www.arsenal.com/timages/logo1.gif

Well stated MTT...wewe ni nationalist asili...Kenya for 'KENYANS'

spoony

Send a message via ICQ to spoony
Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 06:56 AM

KRAYZIE OF ALL THE POSTS YOURS CONCERNED ME JUST BECAUSE YOUR FATHER IS ENGLIESH AND WHITE AND HE LEAVES IN KENYA U SEEM TO THINK URE NOT KENYAN,WAKE UP CALL MATE!! WEWE NI MKENYA DAMU ,U MAYBE BE POINTI LAKINI ULIZALIWA KENYA WHAT DOES THAT MAKE U EHHH! A KENYAN AMA?

krayzie

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 07:40 AM

fine fine. I'm kenyan. Still sad that I had to surrender my kenyan passport.

spoony

Send a message via ICQ to spoony
Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 08:08 AM

KRAZYIE ! WHATEVER!!!!

foxxy

Default RE: Kenyans cannot be white, asian or arab - 04-17-2002, 09:34 AM

@Spoony,
I read all of Krayzie's comments and questions and none of them even give a slight insinuation that she does not consider herself a Kenyan. In fact in one of them she clearly says, "I beleive I am Kenyan." She just seems to be a little confused due to the legalities involved.