Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > MATHEES IN THE STATES

Mildred

Default MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-12-2002, 02:32 PM

It is surprising the many mothers coming to america in the name of graduations and visiting their children and refusing to go back. Already in the city I am there are like 10 wamamas who some work in nursing homes, MCdees, others babysit kenyans kids and others I swear are working at factory's graveyard shifts for long hours.
How can this be? you leave a business or kids at home for this? How would you react if your mum or gramma come and wanted to work there or just wanted to chill and not go back?

muombaji

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-12-2002, 02:36 PM

some of these women have problems with the husbands. the men have abandoned them with children so the only solution is to come here work and send money home to raise their kids. i have met several mathees who have done so much for their kids. lakini most of them have stressful marriages and i guess coming to the states they can sort of "divorce" the husband and start a new life!

IKO SWAli!

countryBoy

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-12-2002, 02:49 PM

ever thought of what they can do for their kids and folks back home if they work hard here?...dont think there here to party like some of the younger folks here...There here with a mission of bettering their lives and the lives of their people!

Lioness

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-13-2002, 01:10 AM

Aai! Mildred kwani now there's an age limit on the Kenyans who can live and work in the USA? There are so many 'young' Kenyans who are out of status and working in the US - what's the difference between them and these ladies? People have to do what they have to do. You're being rather possessive of something that doesn't belong to you.

If my mum wants to work in the US that's her choice - we're all grown up now, and even if she was still supporting us, she would be doing what is best for her. Now, if she decides to relocate that's her choice too - who are we to question how she goes about it? I would like to believe that these women have not abandoned their families, but are instead doing what they feel is best for their families. Now, what's wrong with that?

The Lioness has spoken :)

unclemasta659

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-13-2002, 02:11 AM

Mathees should be encouraged to come to states. Atleast they show as alot of love and motherly advice which has missed in Many Kenyans in states. some ppl get scared when they see mathees around coz they know what they have being up to. Anywayz mathees are sawa and am bila prob with them coming to work or chill for along time in states.

Green Leaf

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-13-2002, 04:43 AM

Give the old ladies a break!. The merciless whip of poverty knows no old or young ass. After all y'all headed to the same place. Or is the issue when you got here? NB..Little advice to the dudes...Fellas, lets draw a line btw them and they daughters and grand-daughters.
A taboo is a taboo home or abroad. Let your whips be selective and... merciful? - Yeah, that too :)

Green Leaf
The higher they are the harder they fall.

spoony

Send a message via ICQ to spoony
Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-13-2002, 06:01 AM

Mildred what the ****s your probelm if moms want to come and live in stato its all good doesnt mean if you fly from tha nest its the end of her life so just back of man that could be my mom ure talking about ! wacha upuzi ,just cause u come from a well off family doesnt mean everybody else does !

tin tin

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-13-2002, 07:41 AM

What a puny little brain you have for such reasoning. To each their own, if mathees want to come and work her, why not. It is their life, thier choice - and not yours!!

- THE TONGUE IS A ROPE BY WHICH MANY HANG THEMSELVES IN !!!

swiftybeast

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-13-2002, 07:42 AM

I suppose they just have to do what they gotta do to survive.
and who are we to deny them the opportunity to come here?

life is strict!dont discriminate but appreciate others.

KenyanRoc

Default RE: MATHEES IN THE STATES - 03-15-2002, 03:17 AM

>It is surprising the many mothers coming
>to america in the name of graduations
>and visiting their children and refusing
>to go back. Already in the city I am
>there are like 10 wamamas who some work
>in nursing homes, MCdees, others babysit
>kenyans kids and others I swear are
>working at factory's graveyard shifts
>for long hours.
>How can this be? you leave a business or
>kids at home for this? How would you
>react if your mum or gramma come and
>wanted to work there or just wanted to
>chill and not go back?
#

Mildred

WHAT KINDA IDIOT ARE YOU?????????????

People come to see their families and earn an honest living and you have a problem with that??? Since when did we put a cap on age limit to work..personally I would rather my folk work and live in the States rather than suffer back home...

whoever you are you seriously lack any sign of maturity and are obviously stupid..

HOWEVER!!!

I THINK YOU ARE IN THAT SITUATION AND WANNA KNOW HOW OTHER PEOPLE FEEL ABOUT IT..your mum, aunt..someone close to you has moved and you are finding it hard to adjust...

You use the words "Nothing is to be feared..just to be understood" as your signature.. so do exactlly the. Before moving to US/UK was pretty much for the young but due to the economic situation in our country that has changed and we just have to accept it...maybe use it in a positive way. as for your friends you are talking about who have mamas who came for graduation and stayed..don't you think they are happy to have their mum over..I WOULD.. i have more to say but ...just not worth it now

ROC