Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > I need some advice from anyone

mixxem90

Default I need some advice from anyone - 03-07-2002, 03:54 PM

Well i realy want to join the US airforce but my family and friends dont like the idea and I realy dont know what to do. So am jus seeking for some advice maybe there is someone with the experience and may bring out a positve point. So can anyone help????

kimmyboy

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 04:13 PM

Now I don't want to sound harsh, but aren't you old enough to do what you want? If you really want to join the air force then join the air force i.e. if you can.

http://www.allstuff.dk/giffiles/gifs.../simpson24.gif

supajack

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 04:36 PM

but before you do, listen to this:

about 13 kenyans were nabbed after the Sept 11th saga for being in the U.S military with false papers. some were in the air force.this information may not apply to you but i thought it should be shared.

from what i've heard from friends in the military, the air force is a better deal than the navy/army.

why don't you speak with your local recruiter? but remember, those guys lie just to get you to sign up and fill their quota.

but a good thing is that you'll get 75% of your college education covered, you'll get all those super health benefits, you'll get loans with ridiculously low interests, you'll be able to get a mortgage easily, and of course.... you'll serve humanity in the world's.... best and proudest military force...

oh my goodness.

foxxy

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 04:56 PM

<but my family and friends dont like the idea dont realy like his idea.
This is kinda confusing. Are you the one wanting to join the millitary?

mixxem90

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 05:13 PM

><but my family and friends dont like the
>idea dont realy like his idea.
>This is kinda confusing. Are you the one
>wanting to join the millitary?
Foxxy am sorry for the confusion. Anyway I am the one who wants to join!!!

BABY G

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 05:35 PM

Another black man willing to die defending whites who dont give a crap about him,wewe ni nongwe sana,believe me they will accept you in a heart beat,in 3 months you are on the front line bila enough training,in a couple of days you are marehemu mjinga

musiqsoulchild

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 05:36 PM

@ mixxem90
I guess the question you'd want to ask yourself is if the American flag is worth dying for, I mean when you first walk in the Army/Navy/Marines information centers they don't tell you the risks involved they expect you to know that, assuming you are a grown man with fudhis...anyway I too wanted to join the Marines but I realized that I had so much to live for on the outside that it ain't even worth serving the American military, any good company will pay at least 75% of your college tuition, but don't get me wrong, the military too has many benefits (day care is almost half the price, they have PX stores where you can shop at discounted prices, beer is like $7 cheaper.. per case of course... etc) anyway just like life everything has two sides it's all up to you to make the step.....

If I were you I'd wait to get my citizenship papers then join the airforce as a cadet. ;-)you get to enjoy the military more when you're an officer.

mwananchi_

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 09:07 PM

Some respondents are making assumptions that:
-Mixxem is not a US citizen
-Mixxem is a Kenyan

That aside I think you should go ahead and join the Air Force. My friends who've been in the Air Force tell me it's quite an experience (depending on what you're going to be doing).

Only a very small percentage of those in the Air Force ever board fighter aircraft and even fewer get to fly them. Chances of dying in the Air Force are minimal. You are more likely to die in the Army, the Navy, or driving on the highway.

musiqsoulchild

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-07-2002, 10:43 PM

@mwananchi_
mixxem90 has friends in Ksouth, has memories of Jam city and uses words such as "sawa", don't you think it's fair for me to assume that he is a Kenyan and not an American citizen?

masaa_always

Default RE: I need some adive from anyone - 03-08-2002, 06:54 AM

mixxem90

Go ahead bro, pursue your dreams. Don't let anybody chicken you out. They say that one does not regret things done but opportunites missed. Be optimistic; find opportunities in difficulties.

May your Higher Power give you a dream to cling to, a song of hope to sing to, an offering of love to take to Him (HP).