Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Maisha ya Kenya > WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING?

LuoDamu

Default WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-14-2002, 05:35 PM

My fellow Kenyans. Why all the hatred and bashing of Kikuyus. Maybe we need to ask our Agikuyu brothers and sisters to step back and objectively analyze the genesis of anti-Kikuyuism. No other tribe in Africa seems to evoke so much venom as the Kikuyus. Even the Ibos of Nigeria and the Chaggas of Tanzania. I met someone from Burundi who made such a derogatory remark about Kikuyus that I cannot even repeat it here. I was so embarrassed. How did the people in Burundi, so distant from us, develop such an aversion for Kikuyus that seems to be common amongst most non-gema tribes. Any explanations?

LuoDamu

Default a sensible answer at last! - 01-14-2002, 06:35 PM

Mark Twist Thuo
Member since Oct-4-01
530 posts, 46 feedbacks, 18 points Jan-14-02, 06:31 PM (CST)

60. "RE: No surprise"
In response to message #59

LuoDamu
Your analysis is not far off the mark. Even the early European settlers after meeting little resistance from Kambas who led them to Mt. Kenya and Maasai's whosold out through Lenana's treaties, were quite shocked at the reception they got from Kikuyus and exclaimed that possibly the Kikuyus were the most treacherous tribe they had ever met.(See Flame Trees of Thika)

It is thus that the Kikuyu Chief Waiyaki wa Hinga of Dagoretti came to be our first freedom fighting hero to die at the hands of the British in 1898. There was no way the Kikuyus were giving up their lands or signing treaties and it took major fights as well as Kikuyu demonization in British Media and toother Kenyan tribes to paint the kikuyu as the devils incarnate.

As you can see from this report even before the British could settle down the Kikuyus were being mercilessly mowed down.

Upon his arrival in mid-May of 1902, Meinertzhagen was at first repulsed by the brutal flogging given an African hireling, but quickly acquired the proper frontier spirit after an attack by Kikuyu warriors killed a policeman. His diary describes in blunt detail the retaliatory raid he led in its aftermath:

'The village had bonfires burning and the Wakikuyu were dancing round them in all their war-paint. It was really rather a weird sight. The alarm was given by a native who tried to break through our rather thin cordon. He refused to stop when challenged and was shot down. There was then a rush from the village into the surrounding bush, and we killed about 17 niggers. Two policemen and one of my men were killed. I narrowly escaped a spear which whizzed past my head. Then the fun began. We at once burned the village and captured the sheep and goats. After that we systematically cleared the valley in which the village was situated, burned all the huts, and killed a few more niggers ...'

http://www.africa2000.com/IMPACT/drought0611.html

That was in August of 1902. Meinertzhagen's next big engagement came one week into September, when word reached him that a white settler had been killed by another branch of the Kikuyu people. In his diary, Meinertzhagen wrote, 'I shall teach the offending village such a lesson at dawn tomorrow as will be long remembered among the Wakikuyu.' By his own account, he ordered the entire settlement killed, except for children. 'Though the war drums were sounding throughout the night we reached the village without incident and surrounded it,' Meinertzhagen wrote the next day. 'By the light of fires we could see savages dancing in the village, and our guides assured me that they were dancing round the mutilated body of the white man.' Needless to say, the no-survivors order was carried out

davinci

Default RE: a sensible answer at last! - 01-14-2002, 06:45 PM

casinomirungi dont bring yutre sis asa hewre

mokimo

Send a message via ICQ to mokimo
Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-14-2002, 10:22 PM

Word on the street is that there was some prime land in the Tana delta for sale.??? I was kinda out of commission for a "minute" there, but I'm back now ready to wheel and deal. Where are the "vendors",sellers , agents or whoever is selling this land. Nataka shamba...My contacts are 1800shamba..I'll be waiting..

loop

Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-15-2002, 04:28 AM

I am waiting too; sweating under the scorching sun;
where is this guy who was supposed to formally prepare the title deeds ?

(aside): wonder why he doesn't get fired !

slaggard is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-15-2002, 04:57 AM

U have serious issues u need to pay attention to in your life.....please dont hang yourself...dial 911 or 999 for help

Sweet9

Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-15-2002, 11:26 AM

Ask Elijah, he is the best at bashing US.

zimmy

Send a message via ICQ to zimmy Send a message via AIM to zimmy
Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-15-2002, 12:22 PM

Kweli kabisa

BABY G

Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-15-2002, 02:14 PM

Luo damu or makojoo no one give a rats ass about this tribal thing you got, you need to seek for help,you are now proving how essential circumsision is ,coz i dont think a person who has gone through it would behave like this,
what the heck is wrong with you ,i have luo friends and they dont behave like you are
i think its pretty damn shady to be so concerned about tribes,we are all kenyans ,it does not matter where the hell you come from ,every tribe has something to admire about , if this makes you feel better dont you love how them luo families are tight, they must go to shags for x-mas,they give maximum respect when some one in their community passes away,come on be proud of who you are ,we are proud of you, for making that effort ,now son stop the bull crap and move on as a happy luo ,
i am sorry if i said something that offended you but,i getting sick of this crap you post all the time, bro i cant wait to see you with a positive vibe , much love mr. luo
dont be like the akatas who sit around doing nothing then blame it on the white man, leave the kyuks alone , do ya thing GREAT OPPOTUNITIES PASS YOU WASTING YOUR TIME THINKING ABOUT KYUKS . When i meet another kenyan ,it feels like i have met someone close regardless of their tribe ,i think we have learnt enough from the hutus and tutsi.
stop player hating.
my aunt is apparently married to a luo ,for ya info she is a kyuk, this guy is so nice it amazes me ,he is one of my best uncles ,so QUIT THAT CRAP ,i will pray for ya

Chameleon is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: WHY ALL THIS KIKUYU BASHING? - 01-15-2002, 03:03 PM

I have to disagree with most of you. The Mark twist topic concerning Luos was objective enough for people to respond with critical objective views.

What happened is that the topic has been hijacked by people who are so insesitive to any criticism.

Its very sad that we can not talk and critic each others tribes just because we feel offended.

I am sure if the topic was about Kenyan Asians, Whites or Women, it wouldnt have raised so much heat.

I have conluded that we have a very long long way to go.

"It's hard to beat the system
When we're standing at a distance
So we keep waiting
Waiting on the world to change "( John Mayer )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXWXQeHCWpo