Our neighbours consider Kenya a ‘little london’. Our medical facilities are the best in the region, sub-sahara I would imagine, KNH, Nairobi and Aga Khan Hospitals are some of the hospitals with the best facilities.
Our doctors are being sought far and wide, infact South Africa is dotted with them. The government tries to build confidence in our Kenyan medical field amongst the people. There is constant yapping about improved medical services, 1st class service and care. And what do the top dogs do when sick – Yes, they get on a plane and leave the country for better treatment. WTF, do these people know the message they send Kenyan’s?? Recently its Muthaura, Raila makes the most noise about it – Germany for check ups. At least Ngilu had her priorities right when she checked into KNH once, and publicized everything. From a local viewpoint – If I go to the same hospital as a minister, then it must be good. If on the other hand our leaders avoid these facilities, then they must not be good. Its like cooking for your guests, and after serving them, you order in your own meal. Well that wont give much confidence in your food, will it now?
That is so true YB*.You see i equate our leaders to the pharisees who kept on preaching wat they absolutely didn't practice.N if they ever did they would make sure that everyone knew n saw pretty much wat they were doing(case n point worshiping on the sabbath n tithing).You would hope that these fellas(ministers) would sit down one day in those high n mighty offices n put their people (Kenyans) for once ahead of them n their selfish endeavors, but no, nobody thinks like that (even professor Anyang Nyong'o who has all those degrees no offense but then again even Mugabe who is sooo learned has led a goddamn country with the highest inflation rates ever).Nway back to to the hospital saga so here is wat these ministers should actually portray;fine we all are humans n therefore have choices n preferences but in order to show that charity begins at home n indeed we value n believe wat our pple have to offer lets first embrace wats ours in terms of hospitals ,education,tradition,culture,language etc.So wen the ministers do really find themselves being flown out of the country they should not see that as a celebration of some sort just coz u r getting media coverage ,hell no ,they should see that, indeed this is a void that our goddamn country has to seize immediately.
Now don't get me wrong coz in life we all have choices n preferences we can choose to buy clothes in a store that have all the designer labels or opt for Gikomba that's a hustle yet economical but here is ma bottom line, as a country that is in dire need to grow don't you think that its best to embrace all that the country has to offer n if there is a void then we get to fill it by doing wats necessary rather than ignoring it?
YB*,i think this has to do with technologies and other specialized treatments. Yes,Kenyans have good drs,but whats a good dr without some really cool gadgets to guide him?
Also,we do not know the specific needs of these people. Who knows,perhaps they suffer from some rare illness(i wouldnt doubt this,they are politicians afterall)that require specialized drs that are rare in Kenya. Perhaps,First,Kenyan Drs should stop killing people,i kid.
They are good but not that good, when it comes to health, you look for the best or supposed best, sio mambo na being patriotic when you have a life threatening condition esp. if you can afford it.
Your average rich jungu will not leave Kenya for medical treatment, such as 'eye check up', maybe for a lasic, but thats beeing done within borders too. They do it because of status, not because our hospitals and doctoes are not good. @MM - Kwani vitu kawaida kama kutolewa meno zinahitaji gadgets?? . Ni petho tu, and it reflects badly on the common mwananchi.
But seriously,of course i think, politicians love life so much..so they tend to believe to go "outside" for proper check. if it is good for the pysche and jamaa has mob chapaaz,si? on the other hand,i do see where u coming from.
YB*
There is this misconception among Kenyans that everything foreign is better. Not just hospitals - even education, clothes, music na kadhalika, my God even football! Check the way Kenyans treat foreigners especially Mzungus, that should tell you more about Kenyan society.
Yes I said it but not to mean what you want it to mean. I have some family members who have worked in both local hospitals and in some premier hospitals abroad and from their report on the local hospitals some conditions are better treated abroad. Not petty cases of course that's wasting money but if it's life threatening and your will is not willing to risk it or whatever just go this shouldn't be a big deal, the problem is the bloody papers which make peoples business to be public business. If it's your time to die utakufa tu,I don't need to mention examples of the latest string of very public people who died on operating tables abroad, not in their own country. Sijui mambo za politicians esp. their private health conditions lol, but I know rich people have specific doctors that treat them because they can afford it or because they have more confidence in those doctors. Look at Quincy Jones, he said in a recent article that in the last 5 years he has been treated by Nobel doctors, in stockholm where even your money can't get you in, do you think he went through all the trouble coz he is famous, some people just really go to lengths for their health and it shouldn't be a crime. You don't know if this politicians have other on going conditions that are kept private. Another thing, if one has makaratasi in some countries in Europe treatment for cancer, surgeries, dialysis and organ transplants are completely free or way cheaper than in Kenya. Treatment sometimes in Kenya can be very expensive in th long run, that's why there are always harambees for people who have serious conditions and sometimes this also takes time. You are right in the sense that politicians need to set an example by being treated locally, but they need to also improve the local health facilities and upgrade the staff, better pay etc coz those people are so overworked! but we shouldn't completely demonise seeking treatment abroad.
There is nothing to fear than fear itself Last edited by McBush; 3rd July 2009 at 11:07 AM. |
| saynot |