Go Back   Mashada Forums » Society & Culture » Maisha ya Kenya

Old 31st May 2009, 04:25 AM

Default Parallels: Kikuyu Luophobia vis-a-vis USA Negrophobia    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

Originally Posted by almasi View Post
I I know I have said this before, but the race thing reminds me of the tribe thing.
White seems like kikuyu and african american seems like luo.
I have even noticed the stereotypes are similar.
By saying "Mjaruos are crazy," Museveni was playing into a psychological aspect that he is aware exists in Kenya: the morbid fear and terror of the Luo.

For non-Kyuks, Luo-phobia is the most difficult-to-understand aspect of Kikuyu the mentality. To me, it is completely non-sensical. It is beyond belief, completely irrational and even a form of collective mental illness (schizophrenic paranoia).

Luos leaders have made historical sacrifices for Kikuyu leaders, notably Tom Mboya and Oginga Odinga for Kenyatta, and Raila for the paraplegic Kibaki in 2002. In spite of all such evidence to the contrary, a Kikuyu will still look you in the eye and assure you of impending genocide by the Luo.

Kikuyus are killed by Mungiki and Kalenjin "warriors", yet still the fear focuses on Luos (see the politics forum). Most Kisumu deaths in 2007 were police killings of Luos at the behest of the Mt Kenya Mafia shadow government, unlike Rift Valley where Kalenjins killed Kyuks. Yet the fear of the Luo remains. Many Kyuks agree that Kibaki was rigged into power but they are grateful for that crime, even the truly democratic Kyuks breathed a sigh of relief.

This Luophobia staggers belief. It is incredulous beyond words. Talk about "morbid obsession" ---

As almasi points out, in the US, you see a similar phobia.

Personally, I have been stopped by an armed white cop on the I-80. I know very well that a black man must stay absolutely still in his car on the side of the road when stopped by a white cop, even if the music system is boom-twaffing like hell on earth. I don't even roll down my window. When he indicates that I should roll down my window, I notice something carazy: the guy is trembling. An armed trained white cop is trembling at me, who doesn't even know how to load bullets into a pistol!!

Blacks are only 10% of the US population. They were victims of 400 years of slavery, and were brought to the US under vicious violence and social destruction. They have had dogs set on them, they have been hang by kangaroo courts, they have been raped and had their women bear children for the "massas." You could be castrated for ogling a white woman. The white majority has superior technological and political organizational structures.

Yet somehow, the white man has a morbid fear of the black man!!

The Kikuyu-Luo case is even more strange. Circumcision is supposed to be rite of passage into manhood. Therefore the cut man is a tougher guy, yes? So why is he so afraid like a wet chicken of kihiis? Why do Luos make Kyuks pee in their pants? Hasn't it occurred to Kyuks that nobody else in Kenya - Kisiis, Luos, Kalenjins, Mwarabus, Taitas - are not peeing as well?

Walking down a street in Ohio at night, I observe the body language of whites. They try their best to be relaxed, but I must note the tension. I am a lone black. There are at least 30 white people in view, including drivers, pedestrians, shopkeepers, kids - if I were to start a fight, I'm outnumbered. Yet they still fear me. How would such people feel in a crowd -- or a city -- -- or a country -- or a continent -- full of blacks???

These are social illnesses.
Old 31st May 2009, 12:12 PM

A.M Nafusi is on a distinguished road
Default Is it possible?

That we can recognize our differences, embrace them and use the differences to complement each other?

I know am naive, but I live a more fulfilled life although I suffer more.

Let Luos identify their strong point: Academics, these fellows can tie u up in academic gobbledygook, with very little practical implementation.

Kyooks: very creative in real life situations. Although at times they end up with big moral dilemmas. The Luo can help the Kikuyu: Otieno produces the theories, Njoroge creates enterprenurship opportunities. The Luhyas just make sure the two egos are in check, and Kales become the large scale production engines of all these.

Blacks and whites: we seem to intrinsically have different approaches to life. White people are always in a survival mode. Very limited ability for human compassion overall.

(we had an explosion in a neighboring energy plant. The differences played out mpaka we burst laughing in our living room. Few hours later, the newspeople are interviewing employees. All black people are thanking their gods for being safe. 'Thank God we made it, no one died'. All white people were worried their about jobs and how they will compensated. None mentioned anything about coming out safely, honest.

Another instance. The Katrina floods. From the evacuation laws, you can tell they were mainly drawn by white people. That the able-bodied be evacuated first, and the critically ill last. Tell me if that will be accepted in Kakamega. There were two couples, white and black with half of each critically ill. The white couple: the wife kissed husband bye and left 2 days earlier. The black: the wife told the rescuer, if that man dies in that flood, so am I. I am not leaving him. She sat back with a book. The man was really ill, can not walk. The rescuer left them, came back 3 days later, they were not dead. Both couples survived, but see the difference.

These differences play out big time in real life. That is why I believe Africans can not be developed to Western standards.)

My whole Idea is: even though we pretend to detest each other, there are things we admire about each other. I admire the efficiency inclined white, while he admires my ability to love so deeply, both humans and the environment. Like most Africans do not get why anyone will run around shooting animals for sport. Shoot for food, share and go on.

I admire the Kyook for his ability to turn everything into enterprise, but he admires my understanding of concepts that would better boost him.

Is it really impossible to be different and progressive?

Ajiambo
Old 31st May 2009, 04:33 PM

almasi is on a distinguished road

Type R,
Atleast you get what I am saying.

Another very informative post. I did not realize there is the "fear factor" as well. It is more connected then I thought (meaning luo=AA).

If you don't mind, I am going to look for a "joke" that I have, that displays the stereo types of kikuyu=white and luo=african american.

BTW: I saw your response about the book. I will buy it when it comes out.
Old 31st May 2009, 04:34 PM

Where are al-zala (spelling), RD, Johnny_Swaggs, AK47, Fulldoz and Reggie on this one.
I think they would have interesting things to say. Hope they are still around.
Old 31st May 2009, 06:56 PM

Where are al-zala (spelling), RD, Johnny_Swaggs, AK47, Fulldoz and Reggie on this one.
I think many of these are weekday people.

BTW: I saw your response about the book. I will buy it when it comes out.
Myself, I'm looking for the movie Mandingo.
Old 31st May 2009, 07:13 PM

McBush is on a distinguished road

Personally, I don't have problems with Luo people. But I do have problems with people who feels they are better than others by virtue of academic qualifications, privileged upbringings, good looks, material wealth and other egotistical nonsensical rubbish people put on their shoulders.

Kenya would be a better place if all we can learn to respect and value every single member of our society. We may not be equal in terms of above mentioned 'qualities' but every single person has a role to play in the society. I may be a farmer but being a farmer doesn't mean I am less than a doctor, or an office worker. And Kenya cannot survive without farmers and so is matatu drivers, touts, mechanics, house-girls, teachers, watchmen excreta excreta.

My problem is with those who ride on high horses with their asses up to the nose! This perhaps is the most single quality I look in a man - if a man happens to be one of those who look down on others, he'll not last long with me! Trust me on that.

Last edited by McBush; 31st May 2009 at 07:24 PM.
Old 31st May 2009, 07:55 PM

I rcvd a "joke" a while back regarding different tribes in kenya. This was how Luo was described:

Jaluo
-Living in big expensive rented house
-Has big car 4000cc petrol
-Family living in Mombasa
-No investments; thinks of investing back home but fears being bewitched
-Leader of KPA trade union; always complaining, agitating for fairness/
equitable distribution of resources
-Meets ten friends in a pub with loud music each person has six beers
waiting to be drunk and politicking.

Anyone who lives in the US, has to notice that they are the same stereotypes used with AA.

Now this is the kikuyu part:
Kikuyu
-Living in his own house in Mombasa ; family living in Mombasa ; happily
settled at coast
-has rental houses, matatu in Mombasa
-owns a small car 1300cc EFI
-meets a friend at a local cheap bar for nyama choma and one or two
beers
discussing business

Anyone in the US, would have to know this is how a white person would be compared to an AA.
Old 31st May 2009, 08:55 PM

KILL PROPAGANDA is on a distinguished road

It is not just in Kenya that there is some form of Luophobia. Virtually every country in East Africa except Tanzania has gone through phases of Luophobia. Museveni in Uganda is constantly afraid because he knows that Luo-speaking tribes are the majority in Uganda and if there were democratic elections, he would easily lose to a Luo Candidate. That's why he will never end that war in the north. This is the same reason he is scared of a Raila presidency in Kenya and engineered the assasination of Garang in Sudan.

The worst case of Luophobia though happens to be in Ethiopia where the government of Ethiopia is literally running a reign of terror in the Gambela region which is mainly inhabited by Luokspeaking Anuak people. This mini-genocide has generally been ignored because Meles Zenawi was a Bush and Clinton favourite. Soon things will start to unravel for him.

Even in Kenya, it is not only Kikuyus who can be accused of Luophobia. During Kenyatta's rule massive resorces were invested in propaganda to demonise Luos. This is when all those stereotypes about Luos were circulated. The government sponsored propagandists were not even creative enough to invent their own stereotypes, they just copied the same lines used by whites in America and South Africa against blacks.

Many of these stereotypes had generally been disproved and people didn't talk about them anymore. Until the referendum 2005 and elections 2007 were generally percieved as Luo-Kikuyu contests when propagandists fished into the archives and revived these myths.

Many of the folks who propagate these stereotypes do not even believe them. They just stick to them for political reasons. What scares these people to death is the thought of a trans-national Luo movement influencing events in Sudan, Ethiopia, Congo, Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania. They will stop at nothing to make sure no Luo ever leads any of these countries. What they hadn't bargained for was that a Luo would be president of America of all places. This explains the initial support both Hillary and McCain had in Kenya and Uganda.

Their fears are unfounded though, Luo people in Ethiopia, Congo and Tanzania are just not numerous enough to be a political force. Even in Kenya and Sudan, Luos cannot singularly win an election without an alliance with other peoples unless Southern Sudan secedes. Neither can they dominate the countries to the exclusion of others, they just don't have the numbers for that. The only country where this could happen is Uganda, hence the reason Museveni is constantly losing his head at the mention of the word Luo.
Old 31st May 2009, 09:49 PM

Stella Artois is on a distinguished road

I rcvd a "joke" a while back regarding different tribes in kenya. This was how Luo was described:

Jaluo
-Living in big expensive rented house
-Has big car 4000cc petrol
-Family living in Mombasa
-No investments; thinks of investing back home but fears being bewitched
-Leader of KPA trade union; always complaining, agitating for fairness/
equitable distribution of resources
-Meets ten friends in a pub with loud music each person has six beers
waiting to be drunk and politicking.

Anyone who lives in the US, has to notice that they are the same stereotypes used with AA.

Now this is the kikuyu part:
Kikuyu
-Living in his own house in Mombasa ; family living in Mombasa ; happily
settled at coast
-has rental houses, matatu in Mombasa
-owns a small car 1300cc EFI
-meets a friend at a local cheap bar for nyama choma and one or two
beers
discussing business

Anyone in the US, would have to know this is how a white person would be compared to an AA.
I like this ,proud to be a daughter of Mumbi
Old 1st June 2009, 02:44 AM

Originally Posted by KILL PROPAGANDA View Post
It is not just in Kenya that there is some form of Luophobia. Virtually every country in East Africa except Tanzania has gone through phases of Luophobia. Museveni in Uganda is constantly afraid....
@KP:

Thanks for the post. I never knew the epidemic existed outside Kenya. I thought M7 was practising divide-and-rule on Kenyans when he said "Mjaruos are mad" on BBC.

kikuyu, luophobia, negrophobia, parallels, usa, visavis