RE: kahawa sukari -
03-11-2005, 02:53 PM
At least Kahawa Sukari had Calabash Bezique and Neighbor's Pub for quick pints and nyam chom.
Lakini,those KU riots made life fun. Remember the riots of 1990 when Ouko passed? No one left their house ati u going to school. GSU were everywhere and students had stones ready for destruction. I remember the time the students were ***uzwad mpaka ndani ya KU primo and kids jumped out of their chairs, over fences and run home. That day, running to Githurai was like running the 50m race.
But watu wa KU rioted for silly reason at times. In 1991, they rioted ati they wanted chicken cos they were tired of goat meat. So they took to the highway, stoned cars as usual and even burnt a few. I remember David Mulwa, the famous actor, playwright and professor was coming from National theatre and he was caught up in Mayhem. His car was stoned, overturned and burnt in a ditch. He crawled out alive and through the network of ditches between KU and kahawa barracks, he fikad home almost unscathed. I still remember his little white Toyota, mpaka number plate KUM 153.
04-05-2005, 10:41 PM
Manze trafaglar...Shuge has been home for like 10yrs and still counting...those days when it was just bushes alafu jamaas started jengaing houses...yap! seen them come and go...
I jua kina mark, ngugi, a chica called nancy...heheheh...peninah, sammy, mwende...hmmm...wako wengi...what i didn't like was those airhead condis who thought sijui they were hot....
J.C...manze i dig you about those ma3's .....dang i hated those thingies....sometimes i had to ride those ma3's on sundays from tao like at 3pm...aki by the time i shukad...you've been kanyagwad..mara a guy was grinding his deki on your ass..mara i don't know a mama has a toi who's wailing in your ears...i HATED the way they'd stop at every stage to beba peeps and the mathrees were full like a nonesense..heee...those were gruesome times....ngai fafa! Lakini we've kujad from mbali.
Buju only had nice hewa...until other nisso's started wekaing hewa...i used to tegea buju morning when am going jobo coz they'd play some slow jamz...heheheh..lol! Lakini i hear it no more....
Those days of calabash..manze my zaks would go nuts coz it was so freaking hard to go to sleep with those loud bands they chezad....manze my bro would hepesha me esp when K.U jamaaz would be at calabash...alafu that ka pub in wendani called Jostem...manze the times i've kulad blackout in that ka joint...when you were msoto you couldn't even afford to go the jambo grill on thika rd...shooo!
Kahawa for life!
MM
04-06-2005, 12:48 AM
MM....yaani u have been in KAWA SHUGE for 10 years!!!! That's like next door to me, i used to stay at Kenyatta University. Kwanza my old man still lives there, 18 years later, same house, same garden, more trees now. He planted an avocado tree that has borne fruits like 5 times now.
Waa...Kawa Shuge has memories...When I was home I was like there almost everyday buying mboga from that place opposite Happy Valley Supermarket. Now I feel like going back home just to meet you MM..
Doesn't time just fly...we used to get darwaad in the ma3's, sometimes we fika home half deaf, and our feet would be numb...Now we sit almost comfortably and tumia seatbelts. Kweli we have come from a long way.
I miss Nai so much..
@ Trafalgar...I jua that Kisii guy who owned Buju...he's called Arasa. He has the prettiest wife I have seen with a Kisii man. She teaches in the Geography dept in Kenyatta University. I went to school with one of his nieces called Stella who was blind and one of their neighbors from the village called Ezekiel Nyambane Oyaro. I think the bro is somewhere in Stato at the moment. His name is Walter.
04-06-2005, 09:58 AM
J.C, manze we used to trek to K.U to go swim in their ki pool...alafu those jamaas used to harass us...mpaka we tell them our zaks is another professor of maths...a mmeru jamaa...he used to fundisha us during holiday tuition in the science complex....he was a clown!..
Btw, that's how i kujad to jua akina kajairo (those days he was called pee wee) and walter, k.j and tony...yeah..the trio..that's before they were 'famous'....remember K.U's culture week? hmmm.
Ati now i hear thika rd has tu clubs extending from Choma Zone to sijui where! My buddy tells me that the kengeles on thk rd was changed into a clb called bananas....now why they go and do that? Anyways, i miss home mbaya mbofu! J.c..i probably hve seen you around..who knows...anyho, one luv!
MM
04-06-2005, 10:18 AM
I bet u have seen me before, I used to be a loud jamaa with a few cynical words...Nilikuwa na hanya Shuge sana..most notably there was Emma, then a-ka chick called Judy before Nyamu came along and disappointed me big time. There was a chick called Kanana also, her dad is a highly positioned army jamaa so we never got round going out..Alikuwa mkali sana, issuing 24 hour curfews, meeting her was very hazardous. May be u jua Kanana, she got a very quiet brother called Gitonga. There was a chick called Samantha also, she was a pointy and her aunty was building a wooden house of all things in Shuge, estoo of mansions and bungalows.
Remember that club at Kahawa Wendani called 'Princess'?
MM, did u fika KU swimming pool those days of the green tickets?
04-06-2005, 01:38 PM
Am not from shue,but I have buddies thre.Who knows these peeps?Kitula(Victor),Adrian,Wangeci(Everlynne Wahome) and her sis Dama,Joan Kalute,Myra Momanyi,Grace Mberia.Ken Mundia moved to the states,he's my neighbour.
04-06-2005, 02:13 PM
>I bet u have seen me before, I used to be a loud jamaa with a
>few cynical words...Nilikuwa na hanya Shuge sana..most notably
>there was Emma, then a-ka chick called Judy before Nyamu came
>along and disappointed me big time. There was a chick called
>Kanana also, her dad is a highly positioned army jamaa so we
>never got round going out..Alikuwa mkali sana, issuing 24 hour
>curfews, meeting her was very hazardous. May be u jua Kanana,
>she got a very quiet brother called Gitonga. There was a chick
>called Samantha also, she was a pointy and her aunty was
>building a wooden house of all things in Shuge, estoo of
>mansions and bungalows.
>Remember that club at Kahawa Wendani called 'Princess'?
>MM, did u fika KU swimming pool those days of the green
>tickets?
Hey JC, I am not from Shuge, but I think you might know a couple of people that I know.......Does the Kanana chick you are talking about also go by the name Fridah????And do you know a chile by the name Chep who supposedly went to Oklahoma State Uni????How about Connie Mwakio and her brother Johnnie?????
04-06-2005, 03:05 PM
I don't jua Kanana's first name, but I jua she got 2 brothers. I don't jua Connie Mwakio and her brother Johnnie.
04-06-2005, 03:06 PM
Boobs, this Evelynn Wahome u know, did she once live in Namibia? I think I might know her.
04-06-2005, 03:20 PM
>Boobs, this Evelynn Wahome u know, did she once live in
>Namibia? I think I might know her.
Yes!she's the one and was my cubemate in highschool.Bana the chic had the worst reputation,but she was soo much fun.