Go Back   Mashada Forums > Personals > Lost Friends > ANYBODY FROM UHURU ESTATE OUT THERE!!!!!!!!

Mafia is on a distinguished road

Default 09-13-2007, 08:39 PM

Originally Posted by len979 View Post
>i used to go to uhuru primo. did u know a guy called kaoch? o
>those thugs of there? some of them were my former class mates.
>it's sad hw they ended up. used to know some guls from jericho
>also, marion, tush? u knew them?

Nice to see someone who went to Uhuru primo. I also went to school at Uhunye, although it was a while back..... early 80's. We moved from Jeri in '87, but I still maintained ties with my peeps in Uhunye and Jeri.

As for the guys you mentioned, I can't recall any of them, pole. I been away from Jeri, and Kenya for that matter, for quite a while. I know akina Adas, Mashaa and Gidii (gishane's brothers), and also....... Karis, Steve, Mbatia (right next to Uhunye shops.
yahhhaaaa akina gidii,roy,njeri,omosh ,oiro,supa..akinyi,stevo,okuku karibu na ile hospitali ya watoi...jina nimesau
?????hehe tukopamoja

Shyloxx26

Default Wasee wa Uhunyeee - 09-14-2007, 02:13 AM

Originally Posted by Nadia View Post
where is this Uhuru esto??...Is it the one in Lan'gata??.....Near Mobile a.k.a Esso??

The one in Langata is Uhuru gardens estate. we're talking of Uhuru estate in eastlands. ever heard of Jericho estate (not in Israel but here in Kenya), or Buru Buru?!!!!!!!!! Yes that Uhuru Estate.

mukwano is on a distinguished road

Default 09-15-2007, 04:25 AM

Hi guys lived in Uhunye near akina Toronto's hao but moved to Harambee Who remembers Humphrey the swoti the guy went to harvard.
Steve's Bro is on Death row at Kamiti.. (very sad) something to do with armed robbery. I can remember Muoki Paul who lived in harambee with the maaany broos woishe the guy passed away kitu two years ago, Daudi the bully aki that dude terrorised me wacha tu! ****son (tiger), then there was mike(miko) lived near akina Mbatia's Place he is a Lawyer now, Will mbatia run again for the canso thingi. Know a coupla guys huko 'kiduanya' uncle sam who is in Brito, Mike maina their hao was right opposite the shops mengi baadaye.

Gregdj23 is on a distinguished road

Default Uhuru Estate - 09-15-2007, 05:34 AM

I guess we might have been in the same class coz I also cleared in 86 (uhunye Primo). Do you remember Mr D, the maths teacher who used to give us diagonals! We had to learn maths by force (though Im grateful, cant complain) those whips really helped. I heard Benzie went to South Africa, his cousin Godi graduated some time at KU. The last time I had he was teaching in some school in Masai land.
I still have memories of Gidi coming to class with uji kikwetu saa za preps (evening) and being busted by Mr D. Remember akina Wambugu, Wycliffe, Jane,Gathigia, the late Wanjugu (RIP), Beaty, Adas, Tom Nyanya and many more. I wonder where most of these guys are?

len979

Default Uhuru massive - 09-20-2007, 07:50 PM

Originally Posted by Gregdj23 View Post
I guess we might have been in the same class coz I also cleared in 86 (uhunye Primo). Do you remember Mr D, the maths teacher who used to give us diagonals! We had to learn maths by force (though Im grateful, cant complain) those whips really helped. I heard Benzie went to South Africa, his cousin Godi graduated some time at KU. The last time I had he was teaching in some school in Masai land.
I still have memories of Gidi coming to class with uji kikwetu saa za preps (evening) and being busted by Mr D. Remember akina Wambugu, Wycliffe, Jane,Gathigia, the late Wanjugu (RIP), Beaty, Adas, Tom Nyanya and many more. I wonder where most of these guys are?
Yeah, we must have been in the same class, coz I remember the incident your talking about.... Gidi kneeling in front of the class and Mr. D pouring the Uji tayari on his head! lol talk about corporal punishment. I also remeber Mr. D's vibokos, and laying flat on Mrs Ndendas (the headmistress at the time) red carpet to be whipped.

I used to be good friends with a guy called Kuria. He was in the same class with akina Gidi and Omesh. His deskmate was a gal called Waithera. I would always sit next to him when we went to their class during radio lessons. Would you happen to know how he's doing, if your still back mtaani or left recently? Wambugu (aka hongo), and Jared (aka Jare) were also a good friends. When I left home, Wambugu had a store at the market next to caltex and buru. Hope he's still doing good.

Man, can't believe it's been 21 years since I cleared uhunye primo.
Holla back if you can remember any of the other guys and gals, coz I can't

Default Uhuru Primo - 09-21-2007, 06:44 AM

Does classes like 8P,8Q & 8R ring a bell? Do you remember the bricks we had to trek to Njiiris in Outa to buy and make a stone wall as a group work (8-4-4) system assesment! The musical instruments (mkebe ya kimbo na kamba za viatu) in he name of Orutu or whatever!
Names like Waithera C., Waithera P., Allorine, Amina, Carol (sister "Marcos"), Humphrey, Kabue, Benzie, Joyce (sister Benzie), Martin (janamu),Adas,Kedeka (sister Adas), cathy x 2, Omesh are still very fresh in my memory. Now that you have reminded 21 years have since passed. These guys and many others were great to school with, we learned so many things together, some the hard way. We played all kinds of games and Im proud to say I enjoyed my childhood/primo years. From Mrs Ndeda to the late Ms Kasidi (RIP). The teaching staff, Mrs Muchiri, Ms Ndegwa, Mrs Ndegwa, Mrs Gathaiya, Mr Kabute, Mrs Mwangi, Mr Daniel Kimenju Gachara aka Mr D. etc.
Unfortunately, I also moved on though as you mentioned about Hongo, the last time I met him, I think he had stopped operating the store at NCCK and ventured into mobile phone business in the city centre. Jared (Jare) moved to Thika, Im told he has a family and doing well. Kabue was residing within the estate, also doing well. As for Humphrey, his blessings are still there, doing very well but down to earth (very humble). After Harvard, he worked with some organisation in US, had some consultancy with SA firm including FIFA. Dont know where he is now.His story was in one of the Daily Nation a year or so ago. Some great guys like Benzie also disappeared into thin air, I wonder where he is now. The last time I heard, he had moved South and was also doing well. Akina Gidi na Adas bado wako mtaani.

Omera23 is on a distinguished road

Default Uhuru estate aka Freedom estate - 09-21-2007, 11:39 AM

I grew up in uhunye behind the shops....had all my best memories there from being handwad, fights, playing soccer and knowing how to katia mamas. I will never forget akina Gerado, Ogoti (RIP), Othias, Onyii, Nite, Ozeeii.....those guys were known to the bullies of mtaa. Also can't forget how mats used to blast ngoma everyday kwanza when Maroon came out not forgetting Horse....dang 23 held it down for the whole of Eastlands. Went to school in salem..Dr.livingstone, salem was just known for that bar and couple butcheries n ghetto swimming pool.."mukush" still cant believe to this day we swam in those waters....who knowns what we could have caught but heee i turned out okay...
Finally Jeri guys were known to be Oboho's for life, the estate didnt even have fly mamas. Famous for all the thiefs like Jimmy, Sande and Ngwanga..etc, but man i miss Uhunye!!!!!!!!!!!!

len979

Default Uhunye Primo - 09-24-2007, 05:37 PM

Originally Posted by Gregdj23 View Post
Does classes like 8P,8Q & 8R ring a bell? Do you remember the bricks we had to trek to Njiiris in Outa to buy and make a stone wall as a group work (8-4-4) system assesment! The musical instruments (mkebe ya kimbo na kamba za viatu) in he name of Orutu or whatever!
Names like Waithera C., Waithera P., Allorine, Amina, Carol (sister "Marcos"), Humphrey, Kabue, Benzie, Joyce (sister Benzie), Martin (janamu),Adas,Kedeka (sister Adas), cathy x 2, Omesh are still very fresh in my memory. Now that you have reminded 21 years have since passed. These guys and many others were great to school with, we learned so many things together, some the hard way. We played all kinds of games and Im proud to say I enjoyed my childhood/primo years. From Mrs Ndeda to the late Ms Kasidi (RIP). The teaching staff, Mrs Muchiri, Ms Ndegwa, Mrs Ndegwa, Mrs Gathaiya, Mr Kabute, Mrs Mwangi, Mr Daniel Kimenju Gachara aka Mr D. etc.
Unfortunately, I also moved on though as you mentioned about Hongo, the last time I met him, I think he had stopped operating the store at NCCK and ventured into mobile phone business in the city centre. Jared (Jare) moved to Thika, Im told he has a family and doing well. Kabue was residing within the estate, also doing well. As for Humphrey, his blessings are still there, doing very well but down to earth (very humble). After Harvard, he worked with some organisation in US, had some consultancy with SA firm including FIFA. Dont know where he is now.His story was in one of the Daily Nation a year or so ago. Some great guys like Benzie also disappeared into thin air, I wonder where he is now. The last time I heard, he had moved South and was also doing well. Akina Gidi na Adas bado wako mtaani.
Man, you bring back mob memories of Uhunye primo! lol. We Joined Form 1 at Aquinas high school with Njogoro, and his cousin Arthur (both from Buru phase 1), and I think Kabue, although I transfered to Highie after only one term. I was deskmates with Waithera P in 8Q (the class in the middle on that block). Would you happen to know how she's doing? I never saw here again after Primo. I also remember Joyce, Janamu, Amina and Waithera C, Cathy, Muthoni from Buru, Makau and Mwema from Jeri, Gidi's brother Ben, Njeru from near uhunye shops. Too bad I can't remember most of the other guys, but it's nice to hear that most of them are doing good.
I never saw or heard of Benzie, his sister Joyce or humphrie and most guys after Primo, though I hang out a bit na wasee karibu na uhunye shops. Thanks for the update.

I also remember going to outa for the bricks and having a fundi build the wall for us, haha, and also spending hours on that little shamba... lol what a waste of time though I have to agree with you that we had a great time. I hope life has not changed much for kids these days. What class were you in? na bado uko mtaani?

len979

Default Uhunye Shops - 09-24-2007, 05:55 PM

Originally Posted by Omera23 View Post
I grew up in uhunye behind the shops....had all my best memories there from being handwad, fights, playing soccer and knowing how to katia mamas. I will never forget akina Gerado, Ogoti (RIP), Othias, Onyii, Nite, Ozeeii.....those guys were known to the bullies of mtaa. Also can't forget how mats used to blast ngoma everyday kwanza when Maroon came out not forgetting Horse....dang 23 held it down for the whole of Eastlands. Went to school in salem..Dr.livingstone, salem was just known for that bar and couple butcheries n ghetto swimming pool.."mukush" still cant believe to this day we swam in those waters....who knowns what we could have caught but heee i turned out okay...
Finally Jeri guys were known to be Oboho's for life, the estate didnt even have fly mamas. Famous for all the thiefs like Jimmy, Sande and Ngwanga..etc, but man i miss Uhunye!!!!!!!!!!!!
I see you grew up behind Uhunye shops. I used to hang out there a lot back in the 80's to maybe 1990 or 1991 with akina Mbatia (hao ya kwanza kabisa next na butchery), Karis (had a younger bro called Tony), Odosh (was a dancer back then), Kagiri and his brothers kamale and Mugo. I wonder what happened to those guys. I also remember Steve and his bro's and sister (unfortunately can't remember their names). I heard his older bro and sister came to the states, although I don't know what state.

hola back if you know what became of those guys. Hope they are doing good.

Default UHUNYE (aka FREEDOM ESTATE) - 09-25-2007, 03:49 AM

I was in 8R, ile ilikuwa mwisho karibu na kiosk ya yule mama wa kaimati (the famous mathe). I also have great memories of ball za juala (polythene bags) zimeshonwa na kamba za manila! Do you remember Fred Oyugi (wareda) he was a pro as far this kind of balls were concerned. Had a very good lefty and was a good ball dribbler.
Guys like Anthony Gakuhe, Alice Kimani (chair), the dad was the chairman of the PTA as well as a mdosi kwa Coke,Niko ( now a teacher in makueni) were fun to play and school with.
Man, I still respect and admire those great days gone by, they had there hardships but for those who overcame them I must say it was fun. Gari za safo (mkebe za kimbo) na the makeshifts from hangers (gari za wire) that had steerings!!!!!!
Remember riding old tyres while holding supporting sticks, with some clay and water (lubricant) inside?
The aftermaths!!!!!!! The face and clothes would be full of matope. Then there was ngari ngari, mbembeo, beta etc. Whover invented this means of "travel", alikuwa na kipawa.
Halafu kulikuwa na kamero, na city council staff that used to sweep the estates clean. Kulikuwa na wakufyeka nyasi, which we could invent for making huts or for maasama (somersault competions) within the estate.
Does any of this refresh your memory, give me a shout if it does.............