Go Back   Mashada Forums » News & Politics » Kenya

Old 8th December 2008, 05:13 PM

Edwin Okong'o is on a distinguished road
Default It Hurts, But I Must Defend Kenyan Media    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

Defending something I despise is one of the most difficult things I have ever had to do, but I have no choice on this one. Over the past few years I have been at the forefront of the struggle to keep Kenya's mainstream media from destroying themselves.

But recent news about the Kenyan government -- that clique of greedy, election-rigging, violence-preaching, offshore-banking bunch of goons -- is trying to reform Kenyan media has sent me running to defend the same sensational and speculative publications I have been pounding.

There are so many Kenyan journalists who truly want to reform Kenyan media. To heap them with the rest of the filth is unfair, not just to the journalists, but to the many Kenyans who suffered during the fight for freedom of speech and the press.

If the "snake" (as one minister called the government a few years ago) must bite those in the press who "rattle" it, it should draft a libel law. Such a law would make it easier for the snake to go after the specific violators of its code of "professionalism."

Last edited by Edwin Okong'o; 8th December 2008 at 05:16 PM. Reason: typo
Old 8th December 2008, 05:22 PM

During the elections, we saw East african standard journalists sending hit pieces on PNU to ODM pentagon members. One Oscar Obonyo was caught red-handed. So now they realize the politicians were not really their friends. Lol. I say let them be regulated. What the likes of Obonyo did was scandalous and lowered the bar on journalistic standards in our country. The east african standard in particular sensationalized stories from tribal angles and we saw what that led to.

Mr. Okong'o, I have seen personal emails of some of these journalists, especially those of east african standard, some of them calling people "kikuyu thieves". Such bigots need not have a free reign on our media.
Old 8th December 2008, 05:58 PM

Default Be careful what you wish for

During the elections, we saw East african standard journalists sending hit pieces on PNU to ODM pentagon members. One Oscar Obonyo was caught red-handed. So now they realize the politicians were not really their friends. Lol. I say let them be regulated. What the likes of Obonyo did was scandalous and lowered the bar on journalistic standards in our country. The east african standard in particular sensationalized stories from tribal angles and we saw what that led to.

Mr. Okong'o, I have seen personal emails of some of these journalists, especially those of east african standard, some of them calling people "kikuyu thieves". Such bigots need not have a free reign on our media.
Government regualtion is not the way to go, Keminokana. Going that route could mean that anyone -- including you and others on Mashada -- who publishes anything could be prosecuted under the proposed law. What we need is a law to prosecute individual offenders.

This law should not only benefit government officials, but also people like you and I, if we think a journalist or a publication they work for has wronged us.
Old 9th December 2008, 12:55 AM

Kukurukakakara is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Edwin Okong'o View Post
Government regualtion is not the way to go, Keminokana. Going that route could mean that anyone -- including you and others on Mashada -- who publishes anything could be prosecuted under the proposed law. What we need is a law to prosecute individual offenders.

This law should not only benefit government officials, but also people like you and I, if we think a journalist or a publication they work for has wronged us.
I agree with you on this one.

Have you spoken with your MP regarding this?
Old 9th December 2008, 10:31 AM

bloggeratti is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Edwin Okong'o View Post

Edwin,

As a former operative of the Fifth Estate (thas the gutter press for y'all don't know), I know for a fact that Kenyan Media is a mafia-like operation that crushes any opposition or competition with the shear might of numbers.

I was in the thick of your onslaught on the alternative press, Sir Edwin - funny thing is you guys turn around and adopt the SAME tactics/editorial style we'd developed (the same style you'd castigated as a disgrace to journalism) like n years ago.

So this self righteous "freedom of expression" crap doesn't cut it with me. Mainstream media in Kenya needs a vice strategically positioned near their gonads to do the necessary should they be inclined to play the renegade.

Friggin' crybabies. Wafinywe kabisa!
Old 9th December 2008, 08:12 PM

Originally Posted by bloggeratti View Post
Edwin,
As a former operative of the Fifth Estate (thas the gutter press for y'all don't know) I know for a fact that Kenyan Media is a mafia-like operation that crushes any opposition or competition with the shear might of numbers.
I know. I'm looking into a case where one of the mafiosos might have threatened a guy who complained against the shaddy business that "the family" is involved in.
I was in the thick of your onslaught on the alternative press, Sir Edwin - funny thing is you guys turn around and adopt the SAME tactics/editorial style we'd developed (the same style you'd castigated as a disgrace to journalism) like n years ago.
I don't understand what you mean by "your onslaught on the alternative press" and the rest of the sentence. I don't know what you know about me, but I'm a member of the alternative press. And, sir, I have never cracked a whip on anyone -- not even my enemies.
So this self righteous "freedom of expression" crap doesn't cut it with me. Mainstream media in Kenya needs a vice strategically positioned near their gonads to do the necessary should they be inclined to play the renegade.

Friggin' crybabies. Wafinywe kabisa!
Sounds to me, sir, that you have an axe to grind. I can't imagine anyone who worked in the gutter press saying this. Don't you know that it is the muck rakers in the alternative press that will be more affected by what the government is trying to do? The Fourth Estate has money and can hire lawyers to represent it.

We don't.

So -- oh, God, I can't believe I'm gonna use this cliché again -- be careful what you wish for.

Last edited by Edwin Okong'o; 9th December 2008 at 08:21 PM. Reason: style
Old 13th December 2008, 11:18 AM

bloggeratti is on a distinguished road

Edwin,

Pole boss,I do have an axe to grind. Sorry, I directed my salvo to a fellow comrade in arms. Pole.

Kumbe we're brothers in arms? I'm no longer a member of the gutter press - I was washed out long ago, but I still identify with the better elements of the 5th estate. I wasn't a big shot, more like at the bottom of the food chain, but in the industry nonetheless.

What happened in my day is the Big Two circled their wagons, and launched a vicious campaign on the alternative press. We watched our circulation dwindle to a pitiful shadow of its former self in a matter of weeks!

Through lobbying in the right places, these guys switched the rules on publishing. Even if we had all the right papers, by the time Golam and Globus were through with us, we were so broke, even commuting to jobo on a daily basis was a challenge.

The biggest shock is that the Nation and Standard actually adopted the editorial style (our style) they'd formally castigated as crap! Sensational headlines, teasers, photocollages - the works. Think I'm kidding. Go to the Nation's library - check out a 2001 headline, then compare it to one at the present.

By the way, Edwinyo, on second thought, I must admit you are right. We need to put petty squabbles aside and look at the bigger picture. Yenyewe that media bill is a mite draconian and will be the death of us!

Emilio, don't you dare touch that pen.....
Old 13th December 2008, 01:57 PM

Originally Posted by keminokana View Post
during the elections, we saw east african standard journalists sending hit pieces on pnu to odm pentagon members. One oscar obonyo was caught red-handed. So now they realize the politicians were not really their friends. Lol. I say let them be regulated. What the likes of obonyo did was scandalous and lowered the bar on journalistic standards in our country. The east african standard in particular sensationalized stories from tribal angles and we saw what that led to. Mr. Okong'o, i have seen personal emails of some of these journalists, especially those of east african standard, some of them calling people "kikuyu thieves". Such bigots need not have a free reign on our media.
kemi i agree with you, these journalists,media houses played a big part in inciting kenyans against kenyans..we all know about radio stations like kass fm and newspapers like east african standard partiality..one needs to ask himself if they are a threat to national security what should the governmnent do?..if kenyans kill kenyans as a result of incitement by the media houses will we not blame the governmnet for doing little to avert the crisis? the media is not innocent, they created this mess and the government is acting to avoid more bloodshed in future...kibaki should sign this bill haraka upesi!
Old 13th December 2008, 02:21 PM

lyons is an unknown quantity at this point

and there's nothing like absolute freedom of the press anywhre inn the world, there's always that degree of control by the govt. as it happens to everybody....it wo=uld be suicidal top let this guys have a free reign in anything,
i vote for regulation
Old 13th December 2008, 09:07 PM

DaDon is on a distinguished road
Default Scapegoating

Originally Posted by ChipsHazijaivapoa View Post
kemi i agree with you, these journalists,media houses played a big part in inciting kenyans against kenyans..we all know about radio stations like kass fm and newspapers like east african standard partiality..one needs to ask himself if they are a threat to national security what should the governmnent do?..if kenyans kill kenyans as a result of incitement by the media houses will we not blame the governmnet for doing little to avert the crisis? the media is not innocent, they created this mess and the government is acting to avoid more bloodshed in future...kibaki should sign this bill haraka upesi!
So it is the media who caused the PEV huh?

defend, hurts, kenyan, media