kenyan cultural interview questions: 1) identify the culture/and or country of origin for the interviewee. Include how you met the person. What is the format of your interview: face to face, telephone or email? include any basic information that you may have like gender and approximate age. If he or she is no longer living in their country of birth, how long have they been away? culture: mugikuyu damu! country: kenya: met on mashada: living in naivasha kenya 2) in their country of origin: how do people greet each other (shake hands, bow, embrace, other). Has the traditional form of greeting been impacted by globalization and if so, how? greating: 7 cornered hand shake, and you say thai kamwe1 reply thaai, thaai keri reply thaaai na thaai gatatu, reply thaiiii 3) how are children educated in their country? is there a difference in how males and females are educated or certain minorities? what do you think are the primary goals of education in the country and how (if at all) has this changed in the last 50 years? women are circumcised to make them for real! men are "jambas" ie worriers. Also some formal schooling for all! 4) what is the literacy level (as a whole and by gender)? (the interviewee may not know the answer to this question but you can find the information by looking at country watch.com database available at franklin university ’s library web site) [color="red"]we do not have any literacy problem in my community but only in the western and riftvalley part of the country! the iliteracy level in those two areas is pulling the country development down big time. What is the normal dress for men and women? are there any special traditional items of clothing and when are they worn? kikoi 6) what is the type of government for the country? pnu but it recently got married to odm for convinience purposes 7) what are the major religions? what are the basic beliefs of these religions? ngurino and legio maria 8) what are the important holidays? are there special observances of these holidays? do you feel the attention to these holidays has changed in any way due to the effects of globalization? all 9) what are the types of communications technology available to most people in their daily lives (for example, tv, computers, cell phones, internet…) how much of a difference is there between rural and urban areas in availability and use of technology? none we watch the moon 10) where and how do people get married? what is the average marriage age? is it acceptable not to get married? what is the attitude towards divorce? what changes have occurred in the traditional family structure in your country in your lifetime (or your parents and grandparents lifetime?) your choice 11) what is the national language of the country? are other languages spoken and how many languages does the typical person know? kikuyu and swahili 12) who are the important national figures in your country (past or present)? they may be in entertainment, art, religion, politics, science etc. emilio kibaki and jomo kenyatta 13) how do people spend their leisure time? how much influence has western culture (movies, clothing, consumer products, foods…) had on the lifestyle and values of most people? sex 14) if given the opportunity, where else would you choose to live and why? in kenya period 15) although other areas of the world may have an opinion of the kenyan culture, what would you like the world to know about kenya ? we got it going well but lately the odm has pulled us a step backwards so we had to marry them to make them catch along 16) how do you feel your country or region of the world has been most impacted by globalization? this may include both negatives and/or positives. nyama choma a plus! 17) what do you feel are the key challenges that face your country right now? jangos are still uncut! 18) what are the most important things (resources, people, knowledge…) you feel your country or region has to offer to the global community? the mumbi tribe and all its customs!
This is www(dot)Kenyamemorials(dot)com Last edited by munguki; 28th April 2008 at 12:03 PM. |
1) Identify the culture/and or country of origin for the interviewee. Include how you met the person. What is the format of your interview: face to face, telephone or email? Include any basic information that you may have like gender and approximate age. If he or she is no longer living in their country of birth, how long have they been away?
Met in Mashada and virtual interview. Male and old enough to answer the questions and how have been out of Kenya longer than the NARC and Grand Coalition govts. 2) In their country of origin: how do people greet each other (shake hands, bow, embrace, other). Has the traditional form of greeting been impacted by globalization and if so, how? Those of us outside the village know how to say hello in English. Lakini vijijini – mkono lazima na kwa wengine we have to bow! 3) How are children educated in their country? Is there a difference in how males and females are educated or certain minorities? What do you think are the primary goals of education in the country and how (if at all) has this changed in the last 50 years? Watoto wanaenda shule hata kama ni chini ya mti. Due to difficulties and inherent gender imbalance dames wako wachache. The goal may be same but policies and systems have changed so many times we can’t keep truck.4) What is the literacy level (as a whole and by gender)? (The interviewee may not know the answer to this question but you can find the information by looking at Country Watch.com database available at Franklin University ’s library web site) Hata kama masomo ya bure, economic and livelihood demands pose threat to children going to school – lazima wasaidie wazazi kutafuta namna.5) What is the normal dress for men and women? Are there any special traditional items of clothing and when are they worn? Shukaa – but no any one particular item agreed on. 6) What is the type of government for the country? Grand Coaliton – serikali ya muungano ama mseto. 7) What are the major religions? What are the basic beliefs of these religions? Xtians, Islam, Hindu and many others though the gospel prosperity churches dominate because of the “get rich quickly attitude”. All belief in a supernatural being/power. 8) What are the important holidays? Are there special observances of these holidays? Do you feel the attention to these holidays has changed in any way due to the effects of globalization? Religious – Xmas, Idd-ul-Fittr, Deepawali, Easter/Pasaka,; Political/national – Madaraka, Kenyatta day, Jamhuri; International/Public – New year, May day. But in Kenya, wananchi will always look for an excuse to sherehekea with vinywaji and choma, na mapishi mingi. And with globalization- think of the Islamic travels to Mecca, Xtians pilgrims to Jordan et al. 9) What are the types of communications technology available to most people in their daily lives (for example, TV, computers, cell phones, Internet…) How much of a difference is there between rural and urban areas in availability and use of technology? TV, computers, cell phones, Internet mostly in the urban centres. 10) Where and how do people get married? What is the average marriage age? Is it acceptable not to get married? What is the attitude towards divorce? What changes have occurred in the traditional family structure in your country in your lifetime (or your parents and grandparents lifetime?) Getting married everywhere; marriage so long as there is consent on either side. 11) What is the national language of the country? Are other languages spoken and how many languages does the typical person know? Depends on exposure as to how many one can speak – lakini shule kuna swa and english na lugha ya mama in the lower classes. 12) Who are the important national figures in your country (past or present)? They may be in entertainment, art, religion, politics, science etc. Mekatilil wa Menza, Dedan Kimathi, Waiyaki, Koitalel arap Samoei, Lwanda Magere, Ole Laibon 13) How do people spend their leisure time? How much influence has western culture (movies, clothing, consumer products, foods…) had on the lifestyle and values of most people? movies, clothing, consumer products, foods – tembea jijini utajionea and shags nguo ni mitumba, cinema ni watoto kaeni chini and kuchunga ng’ombe na mbuzi. 14) If given the opportunity, where else would you choose to live and why? Kenya and only Kenya for that is motherland. 15) Although other areas of the world may have an opinion of the Kenyan culture, what would you like the world to know about Kenya ? Wakuje wajionee 16) How do you feel your country or region of the world has been most impacted by globalization? This may include both negatives and/or positives. Most wanabees walikuwa wanjipamba masuti za Raymond and with globalization, wazee flock Gikosh and Ngara for suit za mitumba. We almost had a Nyayo pioneer car but now everyones lip is “Dubai and Ex-Japan”. Traditional music and musical instruments like Ohangla/nyatiti/wandindi/ mwoboko forced to compete with - si hata inajua music from US and ….17) What do you feel are the key challenges that face your country right now? Siasa ya kumalizana, wanasiasa kunyanyasa mwanachi 18) What are the most important things (resources, people, knowledge…) you feel your country or region has to offer to the global community? Kenyans are good in imitating/aping – we can also compete well with Nigerians in conning, export robbers, compete with Holland in red lights workers and do better than other in traffic mismanagement.
Sasa, somebody asked a serious question and you guys started playing around. Anyway, she submitted her assignment yesterday. You can now keep your comments to your self.
This is what is destroying our country. You guys are always joking - presenting wrong information about Kenya and Africa. You think everyone who comes to mashada is African/Kenyan? Sober up guys. You are all behaving like some of our misguided political/religious leadership. I wonder if the leaders of tommorrow will be any differrent from the old wazees of today as you think the same!!
| interview |