You're right blog, but you know what, it is the work of the MP's of the coast or uMasaiini, or any part of the country to champion the cause of their people.
They also make laws and they have the powers. In this way,everybody won't need to fight over 'the presidency'. If our MP'S work hard enough like by advising their people, raising money by all means for projects when needed, being there when people needs them then we won't be fighting, all of us, for a single position as we do. The thing today is that if the president come from my area, there will be 'MAENDELEO' and most the youth will be employed, piped water........ Yes there were some Kikuyus and Kalenjins here and there and some areas got some buildings during the Kenyatta and Moi's times but not the whole tribes or areas were developed. Let our representives work hard for us and they can make big differences to our lives instead of waiting for the day when ones of us becomes a president. Today, there're many Kikuyus and Luos who did not have anything to eat while the president and prime minister is a Kikuyu and a Luo. For wa-baraa, nature do not allow vacuum, and so the wa-baraa are sucked down the coast because 'There is a vacuum'. Last edited by yangu; 10th November 2009 at 02:50 PM. |
However, it is arguable that the coast people would be better of as a jimbo given the rather lousy leaders they keep on electing my reasons being: 1. Given that their constituents live in perpetual fear of being kicked of the land it seems to me that this should have been the hot button issue for any elected member of parliament from the coast yet, to the best of my knowledge (I stand corrected) not a single MP has ever brought a motion to the house demanding that the ten mile strip deal be rescinded or that the government purchases the land off the Arab owners for the benefit of the coast people 2. Like other squatters in other parts of kenya, there is no valid reason why the people at the coast do not take to farming because rainfall is plenty, the soil is highly productive, year long sunshine and the water table is high that digging a borehole is relatively easy. If one has been living in the same piece of land for the last forty years they could have earned enough money from farming during that period to enable them to purchase land elsewhere if not the same piece of land 3. There is a law on adverse possession where if one lives on a piece of land uninterrupted for more than 12 years they can automatically claim ownership Now here is where coast leadership comes into question instead of harping on majimbo they should have hired lawyers to pursue the adverse possession clause in fact coast lawyers should have offered their services pro bono to their people to enable them own that land |
thanks for the salaams, lakini i'm not from pwani. i just agree with bloggeratti that these people have been economically marginalized for too long, tena kiufala, by folks whose vision doesn't extend beyond their own backyard.
I do not know what preferential treatment they deserve more than others, maasai, samburu .......... Ukweli mtupu. Coastarians are normal people like other Kenyans. They have very educated people amongst them. They have representation in that ka-building where laws are made. The other day,the parliament short down a presidencial appoitment,so it is effective sometimes. So the coast MP's can rally their comrades who believes that there's something wrong at the coast and rectify it. It can be done there and stop this old song, sijui Kenyatta, sijui,sultan... people who are gone many years ago. But there is nothing wrong with coast, it is the people of the coast. We can not afford at this times to let our minds be trapped by these lazy tubos when they have failed in their duty and start answering their war cries that somebody is about to finish their tribe or are being marginalized. Last edited by yangu; 10th November 2009 at 04:05 PM. |
BLOGGERRATTI!!!!!!
i am not boss. what are you saying? that is new, can they be really let go? i have read that. interesting read. but putting the blame on government and or the citizens wont remedy the situation. likewise suggesting what government and citizens ought to do wont do much to remedy the situation. maybe something else like what i will shortly suggest might set the ball rolling. yangu, there this cycle of poverty that traps them down there. yes they are normal people. but poverty has a way of limiting ones world view. life becomes largely and basically about survival, about here and now. please dont despise them and call them lazy tubos. smartass, splitting hairs on which one came first between the bad leaders and the wretched citizenry is just that, splitting hairs. the situation now begs resolution. one thing is for sure, i will not wait for policy to be right, i will get me an amiran farmers kit and grow my veges in our dry land that bloggeratti fondly likes referring to. i am told that usually when one comes up, there is a tendency for additional others to also come up in that area. lets do something for the wretched kenyans like giving direction (i dont just mean fuata airport road etc) to one or two to get such a kit can be practical enough. telling them how to do could be better than telling them what to do. any takers, coasterians? fellow kenyans. or perhaps just like kenya got independence and also the chance to right land wrongs, coast leaders want a chance for independence to right the wrongs.....only this time, they will do it right having learnt from kenya? |
Teach a man/woman how to fish....... Coasterians? I guess they already knew that
@don't_care,
I get your point and the people i refer as 'tubos are the members of parliament of the coast area' and not the ordinary wanaichi. There so much poverty in almost all areas of Kenya. You can not compare those areas of Makueni where there is always so much drought but people really fight hard and at least there is some kind of production in some areas. A lot of fertile lands at the coast where mangoes and other kind of fruits grow in the wilderness. What is needed is just human effort. Just kidogo. A human being is capable of turning impossibilities into posibiltes. He is also capable of passing some blame to others when he or she fails. Last edited by yangu; 11th November 2009 at 05:40 AM. |
from a purely economic standpoint, there is no logical explanation for the marginalization of any of the towns/ regions existing on the railroad that the british built. that just goes to show how bure mwafrika (the politician in central government) really is. and we haven't even started talking about the regions beyond the old railroad. Last edited by al-zalzalah; 11th November 2009 at 07:27 PM. |
| splitting |