Mr Raila Odinga, the Kenyan PM woke yesterday with another dream.
I could not believe this until i saw him saying this on TV. That the government will select a hundred thousand households in each of the three big cities of Kenya, Nairobi,Mombasa and Kisumu. That each house hold will receive a cash subsidy of 1500 through the M-pesa. 1. Nairobi alone has more than three times that number of very poor families. How would they come to the conclusion that they have selected the right people; corruption 2. Why not consetrate with the poorest of the poor who survive on wild fruits and leaves or is he trying to take care of his supporters in the slums? 3. Kenya being one of the most corrupt country in the world, how would one even think of sending money to the poor through the M-Pesa? The thought of this will make even the maddest person in Kenya die with laughter. 4. Would it be sane and easier to take care of the poorest in Kenya by doing away with any kind of taxation on food stuff? Some people in Kibera were ask about their opinion on this. One woman said that it was a good idea but said she was sure that the money will never reach them. My dearest Raila, check on your medication if you take any or stop listening to your Kangeta chewing advisers for they are doing you more harm to your chances of becoming the next CEO of Kenya. I think you're starting to realize this and that is why you are coming up with this impraticals dreams. First, you started with the talk that Kenya should start using the nuclear energy for power, Unga kwa bei nafuu, kazi kwa vijana and now this one. If ever this plan succedes, then the world should rejoice for the Jesus of Nazareth has come back, and here in Kenya through the AGWAMBO. Last edited by yangu; 5th November 2009 at 01:11 PM. |
Oh Good Lord!!! @Yangu i saw agree with you....pessimist or not, this is another scam that will ensure funny money gets into funny pockets!!
And what happened to teach a man how to fish..etc why wouldnt they concentrate on economic empowerment and development Another lie spinned by Raila Amollo Odinga, senility is surely setting in |
He is not stupid, neither is he lying.
He is either politically hijacking this project or offering patronage. The project has been running in some districts for the last 2 or 3 years. The project is funded by a british NGO. Politicians do this, not just Raila. Come across a feasible project and own it, or, the project handlers themselves sell the idea to a powerful 'broker' for mileage. But fact is, the project is alive and kicking, hugely successful but has been the source of wrangles amongst low level poitical wanna be's in some constituencies. So be certain that he will deliver this promise!!!
400 million people were lifted out of poverty not through handouts, not through subsidies, not through freebies....but through trade.
RAO should take a leaf from China, and ditch his neanderthal-ian ideas. Come to think of it, maybe thinking ain't one of his strong points.
In Kenya we do not have such controls courtesy of your toad emperor. The poor cannot afford them. What RAO is offering and which is actually not even his original idea is as described by YB*. All western and genuinely rich countries run some form of it. You know it and I know it. People need a lift in life at times, nothing ever works fully through hard work alone. Wacha ningoje matusi, sijui tik tok useless, blah blah blah... Also as you slaughter RAO please tell me why Kibaki is giving 130 million to livestaock farmers to re-stock, yet he could have avoided the debacle by creating an enabling environment to absorb the extra cattle that died due to the famine by issuing an executive order to the effect that all livestock owners must sell this certain percentage of their cattle to the nearest government run or liscenced abbatoir and avoid the 130 million cost? You know very well what happend to the cattle scandal some months back where PNU officials neted buildings from unsuspting livestock owners by lying to them that the government was going t dispose off their cattle only for teh well connected to turn around and sell them at market rates with livestock farmers getting shunted. |
Here, we're talking about Raila Omolo Odinga, a man who can be the next president of this country. We're trying to gauge his perfomance and see what kind of a leader he can become,if he is the president. By now, we know enough about Kibaki and he is about to retire and so no need to waste time on him. To me, i can say that this coalition thing came as a blessing. In the next general elections, and incase Agwambo survives Ocampo's hook, then he, Raila, would not need much to say for his record will speak for him. Raila is in the tightest corner. I said to my friends, when he was fighting for that sit of the prime minister, that if i were him, i would let another person take that sit,a person in the ODM and wait for the bigger sit come 2012. Until now, his perfomance seems to be very poor. He seems to be starting very many projects and noboby knows what happens after that. Now can anyone say anything about Unga kwa bei nafuu? Can anyone please update me?. Kazi kwa vijana was at least something if not done for the sake of politics. If this moneys was channeled, let say into sports,and just a potion of it, it would have made a very big impact to both sports in Kenya, sportsmen and women who are Vijanas, and later to the economy of this country. Unluckily, most of the moneys ended up in those fat tumbos and vijana were left in the streets demanding to be paid. I wonder which vijanas would ever want to hear of him. Only those from the rich families who are the directors of these projects. Now about this subsidy. 70 to 80 percent of Kenyans are very poor. There're many ways of killing a rat. Raila would have thought of an idea which would have taken care of all these Kenyans instead of singling out a small number in the slums. And the most best way of doing this is by lowering the prizes. Just that. This can make a very big change to lives of many Kenyans in all corners of the country. Yes he has very good ideas but are done in very impractical ways and he seems to be in a hurry. Forget about the nuclear dream. A country of 35 to 40 millions and 70 of the population in dire poverty? Ha ha ha ha..... I have always admired mr Raila in my life as i grew up knowing him as a public figure and had the feelings that he was the messiah to take this country from where it has been to so called Canaan. But lately i've come to doubt his capability as a leader. I'm very very sorry to say that his best place is in the opposition. Last edited by yangu; 6th November 2009 at 05:52 AM. |
Nicheke tu, lakini as long as he is not controlling the purse strings, yeye ni A+ mpaka 2012. You know it, you can choose to pretend wanachi are mabunga, they don't know anything, but wananchi know alot. They now know how the president and his henchmen operate. RAO ameponyoka tena...
However, much as I agree with your take on China, methinks we should look at context here. For starters, WE AINT CHINA. Subsidies, handouts at this point and time, would probably be funded by debt - a "digging a hole to bury another kinda scenario". For seconders, our faltering values (or virtues to be precise) would mean that RAO's "noble" gesture would simply create another conduit for unscrupulous types to siphon chums from gova. In my very humble opinion, methinks economic stimulus is the way to go. (Speaking of which, what happened to the much hyped fish pond projects in all the constituencies?). If chums are still scarce, gova should look at Bonds. All KenGen needed was 11bn - It raised 26bn! What does this tell you? That if viable public-private partnership type bonds (guaranteed by gova, of course) were to be floated with the same incentives, money for the stimulus would not be a problem. Much as I do agree that poor Kenyans are getting the worst of it, I still think that kuwazoesha za bure ain't a bright idea!
| dream, funny, poor, raila, subsidy |