Go Back   Mashada Forums > News & Politics > Kenya 2008 > Breaking news: Kimunya finally resigns

laboso is on a distinguished road

Default Breaking news: Kimunya finally resigns - 07-08-2008, 09:55 AM

Finance minister Amos Kimunya has finally bowed to pressure and resigned ( or step aside?). Only last Sunday, an enraged Kimunya strongly asserted that he would not relinquish his Treasury job over the sale of Grand Regency hotel. Read More at EASTAFRICANREPORT | Stay in touch, Stay informed. and the nation, standard & kenya times websites

Last edited by laboso : 07-08-2008 at 10:09 AM.
moveon

Default 07-08-2008, 10:10 AM

Another fool swallowed by corruption!
Good riddance fool!

There can be miracles when you believe

Default Information being manipulated for political reasons but . . - 07-08-2008, 10:21 AM

I will have to agree that kimunya didn't want to go down easily nor without the enemy's collateral. Thats politics. The key thing, however, is that kenyans are coming out the winners. What I find encouraging is the fact that the concept of collective responsibility even during the commission of a crime or fraudulent transactions is being done away with (albeit slowly). I can smile and say that there is tangible light at the end of the tunnel when it comes to accountability and transparency in the running of affairs related to government property and assets.

Whether kimunya is from pnu or odm should be irrelevant. We need people involved in theft or shady deals to be subjected to scrutiny and made to step aside or resign,and that should apply to all across the board. We should all be held accountable and if found guilty should be criminally prosecuted.
This, hopefully,may encourage many of our brethren and sisters to step up and stand up against the theft of the citizens assets. That is the key point I take out of this saga. We can keep focusing on 'siasa ya pesa nane' and we will go nowhere. Lets talk community empowerment i.e knowledge wise and economically then we will be able to deal with the politicians who have ensured that we remain stuck in an underdeveloped status.

Lets get rid of this pnu or odm mentality otherwise we are still headed nowhere. What have you done for your brethren? Better some lady in the US living paycheck to paycheck going to school and having an NGO supporting 12 orphaned kids! When will most of us stop writing irrelevancies and instead take a look at our inner personalities and our contribution to society. If we died today what will we be remembered for? What will you be remembered for? Ma-posts kali kali kwa mashada?

EASTAFRICANREPORT | Stay in touch, Stay informed.

Last edited by laboso : 07-08-2008 at 10:35 AM.

Default 07-08-2008, 11:22 AM

In the spirit of investigating corrupt deals, can they also re-open the Molasses case? Let's clean out the House once and for all. ama?

Default 07-08-2008, 12:02 PM

Originally Posted by Ester View Post
In the spirit of investigating corrupt deals, can they also re-open the Molasses case? Let's clean out the House once and for all. ama?
Accountability has no untouchables. That's why it will be of importance to get out of this pnu odm mentality. There are many grand schemes and they should be subjected to similar scrutiny and it would save kenyans trillions. Kwani kyuk or kale akiiba amesaidia watu wao? The mwananchi gets nothing! So we need to stop jumping to the defense of thieves.

They can fall under pnu, kanu or odm and they should be subjected to similar scrutiny without any sacred cows. Molasses or not, we should be demanding that all of them be put on the table. Accountability and transparency and freedom of information should not be let to remain a concept. It should be a reality! Its long overdue.

Plot 10

Default 07-08-2008, 12:14 PM

Now that Kimunya is out, we should go back and focus on MP's Taxes. That is the interests of Kenyans

jngee is on a distinguished road

Default fairwell kimunya - 07-08-2008, 12:39 PM

Originally Posted by moveon View Post
Another fool swallowed by corruption!
Good riddance fool!
pride comes before a fall, it was just a matter if time before kimunya was to come down tumbling to his downfall.
i really feel for the guy because i think he is a smart chap and the problem is that he let power to go into his head.
when will young guys like him learn that the guys they are dealing with have been in the game for a long time and they know how to insulated themselves againsnt blame when things go wrong and as such you should be very careful in dispensing your duties and be clear of who's interest you represent and what their motive and game plan is and how you fall into the equation.