Remember 30M kshs from Ranneberger? -
05-08-2008, 10:36 PM
Originally Posted by Leleshwa
It was extremely shocking and disgusting to watch on the 9 o’clock news that Raila will slaughter 500 bulls, 4000 goats and has ordered 20,000 fish for his homecoming party in Kisumu this weekend. This raises very many questions:
1. how can he afford this kind of extravagance when the country is reeling from the terrible effects of post election violence and in country where 70% of the population have little or nothing to eat. Isn’t this a big insult to the poor and also the IDPs (including thousands of Jaluo IDPs in Naivasha and Nakuru)
2. isn’t this the classical sick behaviour of dictators like Mobutu, Canaan Banana of Central Africa republic, Idi Amin etc. Is this road where he wants to take us?
3. why hold the party in kisumu when his constituency is in kibera? Is he a PM for jaluos only? What message is he trying to send to the country?
4. how come we never heard of Kibaki slaughtering thousands of bulls and goats in Nyeri to celebrate being elected president in 2002, 2008?
5. now that this is coming barely a week after arriving from south Africa in a private jet what message is he sending? Is it that there was no KQ, BA or South Africa Airlines flight from Jo’burg to Nairobi?
6. how come he is the only kenyan driving hummers, using private jets and holding lavish parties in Kenya while wananchi are trying to adjust to the harsh economic realities caused by his actions? He also represents the poorest constituency in kenya. Why not use the money to uplift the lives of his constituents? Is this his version of servant leadership?
Remember 30M kshs from Ranneberger? More has been given already. They pay you to produce. If you do not then your destiny is the same as that of others that we know in history from Africa.
Parties -
05-09-2008, 02:04 AM
Originally Posted by TikTok
^^Good point Kabunja. Personally I detest parties, I would never do one. But again with politicains, that is one of the ways they use to stay in touch with their constituents. I remember Kibaki and ilk had goat eating parties in 2003 in Nyeri and people thought that was ok. Remember Ephraim Maina of Kirinyaga contractor hosting them?
Tiktok, politicians always want to stay in touch with their constituents and they would be prefer the most lavish way possible. But I thought the politics and campaigns of last election were on a platform of change. I guess I was misplaced in my thinking, when I assumed that such things as parties would be a thing of the past or they would be of tangible and sustainable gifts to the constituents!
I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone. 

05-09-2008, 03:24 AM
Originally Posted by leleshwa
it was extremely shocking and disgusting to watch on the 9 o’clock news that raila will slaughter 500 bulls, 4000 goats and has ordered 20,000 fish for his homecoming party in kisumu this weekend. This raises very many questions: 1. How can he afford this kind of extravagance when the country is reeling from the terrible effects of post election violence and in country where 70% of the population have little or nothing to eat. Isn’t this a big insult to the poor and also the idps (including thousands of jaluo idps in naivasha and nakuru) 2. Isn’t this the classical sick behaviour of dictators like mobutu, canaan banana of central africa republic, idi amin etc. Is this road where he wants to take us? 3. Why hold the party in kisumu when his constituency is in kibera? is he a pm for jaluos only? what message is he trying to send to the country? 4. How come we never heard of kibaki slaughtering thousands of bulls and goats in nyeri to celebrate being elected president in 2002, 2008? 5. Now that this is coming barely a week after arriving from south africa in a private jet what message is he sending? is it that there was no kq, ba or south africa airlines flight from jo’burg to nairobi? 6. How come he is the only kenyan driving hummers, using private jets and holding lavish parties in kenya while wananchi are trying to adjust to the harsh economic realities caused by his actions? he also represents the poorest constituency in kenya. Why not use the money to uplift the lives of his constituents? is this his version of servant leadership?
let me tell you, while still mp of the biggest slum in africa, this man went to america and came back with a hummer, and choppers and wotnot.... Raila is all glitz and glamour, a spender. I had given him my benefit of doubt, but he has simply started off on the wrong footing. Pyschologically, his constituency needs to experience some form of normalcy before they are expected to party. We have pics of kisumu and kibera. Secondly, this should be a time when he clearly articulates what he will do for his home constituency and kibera! not a time to celebrate and dance to music, because anyway, the post election time was a time of tears to many, its quite unlike the narc post-election time over kanu, so you wonder how someone cannot notice the dissonance of asking poor people to celebrate. Its beyond irony. My benefit of doubt for this guy is fast dissapearing. You need to make profit before you celebrate. I am sure if someone did calculated the gdp of nyanza it would be among the lowest for the first quarter of this year. Its an area that needs to be encouraged to produce. Open industries, promote hardwork, give policies that people can hold you accountable to. How can they use water from lake victoria. Violence happend, how can people rebuild their lives. Will he be asking companies that left to come back? this is not the time to party. You only party after realizing super-normal success. Not when people on the ground are poor. That is beyond irony and raila would rather have kept quiet than do this thing. I am sure the rest of the country will just watch in silence and muted tones, no one will be overly enthusiastic about this thing. Mark my words. And no other mp from a hurting area will hold a homecoming. Its plain foolish.
Kasapreko Ogidigidi : 

05-09-2008, 03:44 AM
^^m_Kenya, correction. Raila only got one hummer which was a donation from an associate in America. It caused such a buzz that the following happened
1. PNU bought dozens to match Raila money for money using tax payers money
2. Livondo added more and helicopters to show Raila yeye ni nani using money stolen from tax payers by PNU (remember Thuo gave a bill of 15million to transport APs to Nyanza and was instead told to inflate it to 150 million of which he retained 50 million and donated 100 million to PNU campaign!)
3. GM Kenya imported quite a few and sold them donating 250K for every hummer sold to ODM because Odinga popularised it for PNU to spend lavishly buyiong hundreds from government tax funds (remember, Raila's was free gift)
4. The US dept of defence sold second hand humvees (hummers but modified for military purposes) to PNU government makign a tidy sum out of it (remember Kibaki telling peepe not to antagonise the US last year!)
Now that is the truth about the HUMMER. Popularised by Raila, but bought mostly by rich guys and PNU government.

05-09-2008, 04:07 AM
Problem with some pple here in Mashada, is that they cannot even stick to the topic presented. We have rewinded to 2003, talked about hummers etc...as if 2 evils make good.
Raila should as someone suggested use that party for a social cause n not political. Why not make a Free medical camp + HIV/Aids campaign + Cultural exchange weekend?
He can start Sato with Medi camp n HIV.Aids campaign jioni, then Sunday after church, he can have the cultural exchange event followed by his thanks to supporters!
Instead of food, he can hold a lottery...for water tanks,jerry cans, lamps,bicycles etc.

05-09-2008, 06:06 AM
Originally Posted by manvikta
Problem with some pple here in Mashada, is that they cannot even stick to the topic presented. We have rewinded to 2003, talked about hummers etc...as if 2 evils make good.
Raila should as someone suggested use that party for a social cause n not political. Why not make a Free medical camp + HIV/Aids campaign + Cultural exchange weekend?
He can start Sato with Medi camp n HIV.Aids campaign jioni, then Sunday after church, he can have the cultural exchange event followed by his thanks to supporters!
Instead of food, he can hold a lottery...for water tanks,jerry cans, lamps,bicycles etc.
Manvikta kudos for extending the list of activities that RAO could do on Sato for his homecoming. The list could include a youth programme and possibly invite career advisors, and many more..... 
I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone. 

05-09-2008, 07:03 AM
Originally Posted by Leleshwa
It was extremely shocking and disgusting to watch on the 9 o’clock news that Raila will slaughter 500 bulls, 4000 goats and has ordered 20,000 fish for his homecoming party in Kisumu this weekend. This raises very many questions:
1. how can he afford this kind of extravagance when the country is reeling from the terrible effects of post election violence and in country where 70% of the population have little or nothing to eat. Isn’t this a big insult to the poor and also the IDPs (including thousands of Jaluo IDPs in Naivasha and Nakuru)
2. isn’t this the classical sick behaviour of dictators like Mobutu, Canaan Banana of Central Africa republic, Idi Amin etc. Is this road where he wants to take us?
3. why hold the party in kisumu when his constituency is in kibera? Is he a PM for jaluos only? What message is he trying to send to the country?
4. how come we never heard of Kibaki slaughtering thousands of bulls and goats in Nyeri to celebrate being elected president in 2002, 2008?
5. now that this is coming barely a week after arriving from south Africa in a private jet what message is he sending? Is it that there was no KQ, BA or South Africa Airlines flight from Jo’burg to Nairobi?
6. how come he is the only kenyan driving hummers, using private jets and holding lavish parties in Kenya while wananchi are trying to adjust to the harsh economic realities caused by his actions? He also represents the poorest constituency in kenya. Why not use the money to uplift the lives of his constituents? Is this his version of servant leadership?
Hahahahahah! Green with envy, I see! The man is loved by his people and i can assure you that most of these are donations unless you are privy to some info that we do not have. At least he is feasting with the all and sundry and not cocooning himself with some cronies at the Windsor to plot how to consolidate power and finsih other people who do not conform. What is wrong with your head?
I think the likes of you see Raila's popularity as a threat to some machinations you have against Kenya. Is he the first person to fly a private jet in Kenya! How many do such things? Which is worse, flying in a chopper to shower money on people from the air like Livondo did to his rival in Western or throwing a party collectively for people to feast after the elections were stolen from them?
About Hummers, which village do you live in! I thought Hummers are now no longer a crowd-puller. Even media personalities drive Hummers in the country. Go the city and get educated kiasi.
He has to start from somewhere. Kisumu, Bondo and of course Kibera is round the corner. Stop being so myopic. Home is home and he has to start from home before he goes to his official constituency. In aby case, the people of Kisumu and Bondo are the ones who invited him. Hapa pwani pia tutamfanyia vile vile. Tulia ndugu na uangalie kwa mbali, vile wafanya lakini usituharibia starehe zetu! Twamsubiri pwani pia!

05-09-2008, 07:08 AM
What is the point of the party anyway? To show case and celebrate the PM post? Arent we missing the point. Leadership is a service, not a title or honour, if that was a case we may as well have a monarchy.
Such a display at this time is misplaced. We have issues such as the increasing costs of living, the threat of hunger given the poor plantuing season and the issue of hundereds of thousands of kenyans displaced, with no home, job or food. Yet we want to slaughter 500 bulls in a feast?
This reminds me of the Marie Antoinette story, so oblivious of the suffering of the people given the luxury she lived in.
More over, just because someone else made a fool of himself or did stupid things, by making a comparison with Livondo, does not justify your own acts of foolishness. Just because of the allegations of corruption against Kibaki and his cronies, does not justify your doing the same or acting in a stupid manner. Thats what I just dont understand about our politicians, using a wrong tojustify another wrong.
I would like to see leaders make a stand based on principle, of doing something greater than themselves and a time when we challenge our leaders to consider the national interests first. For all the guys tryiong to justify this, consider it if you were the displaced and not sitting in the comforst of some place writting sychopanthic garbage. Would you appreciate the feast, is it proper?
Last edited by dynamite : 05-09-2008 at 07:14 AM.
Reason: changes

05-09-2008, 08:20 AM
Kwani hizo Ng'ombe, Mbuzi na Samaki ni za GK? Wenye wivu wajinyonge!
When the cock is drunk, he forgets about the hawk!

05-09-2008, 08:50 AM
Originally Posted by Tichaboni
I tend to think that if one builds a monster they should be ready for the attendant nightmares. People have underestimated the dictator in Raila for a long time. The slaughtering of the bulls signify one who is getting out of touch with reality. Imagine people are on the verge of hunger and the dude is doing this. The unfortunate thing is that there are some people who are looking forward to the feast. How i wish he had used the money on a project in Kibera(Langata)
Did you ever think that maybe the many bulls, goats and fish for the party are actually for the many families who live below the poverty line whose family members in Kisumu were killed in the post election execution by Kibaki's Mungiki Police?
What makes you think that the poor wont eat that bull? According to you, Kenyans must NOT party, because people are on the verge of hunger.
Irony! Raila slaughters bulls for the hungry, and you come out critisizing Raila for intending to feed them, purporting to be speaking for the hungry.
Maybe they should close down the porshe restaurants you go to. How dare you eat that $50 meal yet people are dying in Rift Valley.
Just get real some times. Your ignorant hatred for Raila will eat you from within while people celebrate Kenya's liberation brought by that same person.
Last edited by FastBreak : 05-09-2008 at 08:53 AM.