Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > General Discussion > What the heck!!!!

Default 10-06-2008, 09:05 PM

Originally Posted by sugarNspice View Post
I finally read this article.
I guess you are referring to the above (highlighted in red). I think you have to keep in mind her intended audience. Although the word sounds "not so good" to everyone it may be the best way to sum up in one sentence for intended audience to understand.

I am sure someone else "fine tuned" this for her to address the intended audience. We should not nit pick on words so much. I don't think she meant to offend anyone. She has to be proud of Kenya...you can tell just by looking at the page.

I say "go girl" and "good luck!"

You look great
Anyone proud of their homeland would never use the word "primitive" whatsoever to describe their humble beginnings. Such blatant ignorance is inexcusable. It also mirrors her inferior complex and unfamiliarity with the omnipotence of words.

sugarNspice is on a distinguished road

Default 10-06-2008, 10:31 PM

Originally Posted by Jibril Cessay View Post
Anyone proud of their homeland would never use the word "primitive" whatsoever to describe their humble beginnings. Such blatant ignorance is inexcusable. It also mirrors her inferior complex and unfamiliarity with the omnipotence of words.

I guess what I am trying to say is that she probably did not write the article. She probably wrote parts of it or gave the info to someone else.
In this busy world, she may not have read it before it was sent off. She may have just trusted it in the hands of someone else.
It seems like she was raised in Kenya so I am sure she did not use the word primitive either.

I actually have never heard anyone from Africa use the word primitive when referring to their home country. That sounds like an anthropology word.

Bottom line..I don't think she wrote it. My opinion

“If you don't stand for something you will fall for anything."Malcolm"In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends."MLK

Default 10-07-2008, 02:57 AM

@girl82, you have a strong point about repspect for our culture, who we are, where we come from!

I am usually surprised to see our athletes struggling to make statements in English.... I do wonder kwa nini kujisumbua when the press people are interviewing them! Si hawa wana riadha could just say what they want in Swahili, Kale, Kisii or Kiuk? It is upon the press guys to look for translators!

And as for those who are saying or chic (Miss whatever) here couldn't have authored the article, I wish to disagree kidogo with them.... she should have a say on what was to be in the final version... she could have requested the author to edit such ddemeaning phrases as "primitive.....na kadhalika"

If stupidity got us into this mess, then why can't it get us out?

Default 10-07-2008, 04:57 AM

Originally Posted by chemical View Post
haha..I brought some seeds..wanting to plant them in the house as an experiment...na bado sija zi plant
Weeee hebu post some of those seeds to GL1 with gardening tips. Will I have to plant it in a big pot...juu hii mvua

Nice illustration with the gourd JC na Kemikali.

I saw that Victoria Njau statement sometime back. I thought it wasn't at all nice to say; but I didn't particularly sweat over it.

Sasa Girl82, good to see you around. Umepotea!

Last edited by Wantai : 10-07-2008 at 04:58 AM. Reason: 4 salaamz

Default 10-07-2008, 08:56 AM

Weeee hebu post some of those seeds to GL1 with gardening tips. Will I have to plant it in a big pot...juu hii mvua
yaaye! Wantai nini unado GL1? Yaani ulihama from south of the river? ama uli-mean south of south of the river

kwa hivyo next time una dj nijipange kuingia train

this calls for a courier...lakini tuko na offici GL50..utaweza pick hapo

bozo

Default 10-07-2008, 09:10 AM

if a chick comes from the village she should be proud of it. She should say it as she sees it, and do what she feels proud of...after all she made it that far, not for only being beautiful which i must say she is but also for answering all the questions at least better than some.

People,where we come from matters allot, it is what made us who we are.

I was talking to some wazees the other day and they have started a project which sounds new to me but maybe not to some of you of going back to run the primary schools one came from. i thought it was a brilliant idea to build from the machinani and improve our school system from the grass roots.

If you asked yourself, what have you done for your primary school what would you say...????

Flyhalf is on a distinguished road

Default 10-08-2008, 12:10 AM

Originally Posted by girl82 View Post
What is wrong with Africans and inferiority complex. Look at what this girl has to say about herself. Shameless! I hope she loses the competition.
Ati, "I grew up in a small cultured village filled with traditional rituals and taboos of a primitive society"

Why can't we be proud of our culture and stop referring to it as primitive. Why can't we be proud of our culture like Asians?

Miss Africa USA 2008

She should know that that village was not so primitive because it got her to where she is right now.
First of all, let me start by saying this contestant can get IT. And we all know what IT is.

Now to the main point. That kenyan chick's bio is garbage. Who said to show your pride in Kenya you must talk about village life? Garbage.

I am not a National GeogrAfrican.

mukololo is on a distinguished road

Default 10-08-2008, 03:53 AM

Originally Posted by Jibril Cessay View Post

nothing much mmmmh.....jus tlike any other

Default 10-08-2008, 05:32 AM

Originally Posted by chemical View Post
yaaye! Wantai nini unado GL1? Yaani ulihama from south of the river? ama uli-mean south of south of the river

kwa hivyo next time una dj nijipange kuingia train

this calls for a courier...lakini tuko na offici GL50..utaweza pick hapo :cool
Yeah, Imagine I dumped the Avon River which passed through my village, and went further west near River Severn.

A boat may suffice for the journey...Set off at the Thames then come upwards coz the Thames actually Rises in the Costwold Hills, you may find me gardening kwa hizo shamba za Prince Charles.

Default 10-08-2008, 06:54 AM

hehe...nisha-tembea kwa hizo "upwards" rivers...kutumia locks...maajabu! waafrica wakiona picha huuliza "river gani hiyo ina gates?" Those canal boats are sawa summer time...you rent one for the whole day and parambulate up and down the rivers...zingine zina bedroom

I hope the floods missed you huko GL1....