Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > General Discussion > BREAKING NEWS: John McCain Picks Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin for VP

Default 08-29-2008, 07:01 PM

Kukuru, I said this may help in that, lets say the disaffected independents cancel out the new supporters. Then with a reenergized GOP base, what you end up with is 2000 and 04. In a year republicans were supposed to lose big, thats not bad.

The thing is, this Palin is unknown. I've never heard of her. She could have all the baggage e.g inexperience. She may make a gaffe and etc. The obama campaign will have to be very smooth and effective in highlighting her negatives and return this election into a referendum on republicans. The problem is, we saw from HRC...some people will support you even if u say ludicrous stuff. Some women may ignore any criticism and vote on the basis of sex.

This is tricky. Let's wait till october and we see.

barb is on a distinguished road

Default 08-29-2008, 09:19 PM

That woman might look like "Miss congeniality" but she is full of drama, one day you hear she is quarreling with the environmentalists, then you her family is suing sijui who for drinking beer in a gas station or smth like that,.....that was really low of McCain, if he wanted to have women supporters he would have gone for a more conservative type.....am not stereotyping but that woman is something else, its like having tyra banks for a v.p.....

PROFANITY IS A SIGN OF AN IGNORANT MIND TRYING TO EXPRESS ITSELF

Last edited by barb : 08-30-2008 at 09:53 AM.
Sugarplum

Default 08-29-2008, 10:15 PM

Yaani if McCain wins, God please give him health and strength, coz God forbid he falls dead, our next head of state is who again? McCain has only met this woman once before last night. Seriously this is not about Americans, it's all about McCain.

I ain't worried about Palin swaying Clinton's supporters. The Republicans just gave the Dems the election on a platter.

Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.

Default 08-30-2008, 09:22 AM

Originally Posted by Kukurukakakara View Post
...at the same time she has the potential to pull some female votes for the ticket (particularly some very disaffected Hillary supporters who are looking for an excuse to vote against Obama). Obviously her pro-life positions will keep her from getting any large percentage of the feminist vote but she may pull some of the "soccer mom" type voters....
Politicians are very interesting.

None of you have noted that by choosing a very beautiful woman, - a totally cute babe, a smoochable bangable ka-sweerie - McCain was also going for the "celebrity" effect. McCain is going for the campus crowd, the internet-enabled first-time voting base that currently "belongs" to Obama.

Yet this is the same McCain who likened Obama to Paris Hilton and Britney Spears, two other smoochable bangable ka-sweeries!!!!! (okay, okay, Britney has problems these days)

Remember, this may be a very close election, so such small whims as physical attractiveness may decide the winner.

She's only 3-years younger than Obama, so that's how McCain hopes to undermine his "old" issue. As a potential acting President, should anything happen to the old McCain while in power ... well, McCain has to answer his own accusations about Obama's political inexperience and naivety!
"She's exactly who this country needs to help me fight the same old Washington politics,'' McCain said.
Come on, McCain, that's plagiarism of Obama's motto!!!!

So, McCain strategy is

(a) strengthen Republican base - she's anti-abortion, pro-family, blah blah

(b) steal some thunder from under Baraka's shoes (good-looking celebrity-stuff who isn't a white male), enough to tip the scales McCain's way. McCain is also preaching "Washington change" -- come on, as an old-time DC politican, this McCain guy's face is burnt into C-span camera lenses, change???!!!! my a**!!!!

Hmmmm, let the games begin. Remember, Obama also chose an old white-haired guy, someone who looks like he'd be more comfortable next to McCain...

Okay!
So you're Type R?
THAT DON'T IMPRESS ME MUCH!!!

Last edited by Type R : 08-30-2008 at 10:48 AM.

Default 08-30-2008, 09:30 AM

Originally Posted by Sugarplum View Post
Yaani if McCain wins, God please give him health and strength, coz God forbid he falls dead, our next head of state is who again?
So true, LOL. God forbid that McCain drops dead, the next prezzo will be her??? If McCain calls Obama an "empty suit" then what is she?? I think his VP choice speaks volumes about his (lack of) decision making skills.

kumbaffu is on a distinguished road

Default 08-30-2008, 09:44 AM

This one is meant to attract the clinton feminists and am afraid it may work.
The only thing Palin has in common with Hillarry Rotham Clinton is breasts and a uterus.

barb is on a distinguished road

Default 08-30-2008, 09:47 AM

Originally Posted by kumbaffu View Post
The only thing Palin has in common with Hillarry Rotham Clinton is breasts and a uterus.
true dat......couldn't have worded it better.

PROFANITY IS A SIGN OF AN IGNORANT MIND TRYING TO EXPRESS ITSELF

Default "Troopergate" (google that, dummy!) - 08-30-2008, 09:51 AM

Originally Posted by barb View Post
that woman might look like "miss congeniality" but she is full of drama, one day you hear she is quarreling .. Then you her family is suing sijui who .... that woman is something else...
the turds are floating to the surface one by one.

cute but nasty?

Apparently, miss congeniality got the Alaska public safety commissioner Walt Monegan fired for refusing to fire her divorcee sister's ex-husband, fired as a state trooper. The allegations precede her nomination as running mate for mccain, so you can't say that it's calculated to tarnish the republicans. The call by palin's director of boards and commissions, frank bailey, was recorded by state trooper's and is available, along with a timeline, here.

Okay!
So you're Type R?

Last edited by Type R : 08-30-2008 at 10:28 AM.

Default Palin interview - 08-30-2008, 10:17 AM

ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

2:55 "What is it exactly that the VP does every day? I am used to working very hard and being productive every day.."

Did she really want the job, a heartbeat away from the Presidency? The implication is that the VP job is ceremonial, idle, lazy, do-nothing, and may not benefit Alaska.

Okay!
So you're Type R?

Last edited by Type R : 08-30-2008 at 10:24 AM.

Default They're deleting this link from wiki - 08-30-2008, 10:36 AM

Apparently Palin's wiki page has been heavily edited.

Okay!
So you're Type R?