Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > General Discussion > Better the devil you know ....

YB* is on a distinguished road

Default Better the devil you know .... - 07-23-2008, 05:01 AM

I came across this article and thought of sharing it, some imagine we have it bad in kenya, but do we really? Or is it a case of a sensitised society such that they report it more??

CAIRO (Reuters) - Nearly two-thirds of Egyptian men admit to having sexually harassed women in the most populous Arab country, and a majority say women themselves are to blame for their maltreatment, a survey showed on Thursday.
(Advertisement)

The forms of harassment reported by Egyptian men, whose country attracts millions of foreign tourists each year, include touching or ogling women, shouting sexually explicit remarks, and exposing their genitals to women. "Sexual harassment has become an overwhelming and very real problem experienced by all women in Egyptian society, often on a daily basis," said the report by the Egyptian Centre for Women's Rights.

Egyptian women and female visitors frequently complain of persistent sexual harassment on Egyptian streets, despite the socially conservative nature of this traditional Muslim society.

The behaviour could have repercussions on Egypt's tourism industry, a major foreign income earner, with 98 percent of foreign women saying they had experienced harassment in the country, the survey said.

The survey of more than 2,000 Egyptian men and women and 109 foreign women said the vast majority of Egyptians believed that sexual harassment in Egypt was on the rise, citing a worsening economic situation and a lack of awareness or religious values.

It said 62 percent of Egyptian men reported perpetrating harassment, while 83 percent of Egyptian women reported having been sexually harassed. Nearly half of women said the abuse occurred daily.

Only 2.4 percent of Egyptian women reported it to the police, with most saying they did not believe anyone would help. Some feared reporting harassment would hurt their reputations.

"The vast majority of women did nothing when confronted with sexual harassment," the survey said, adding that most Egyptian women believed the victim should "remain silent".

Some 53 percent of men blamed women for bringing on sexual harassment, saying they enjoyed it or were dressed in a way deemed indecent. Some women agreed.

"Out of Egyptian women and men interviewed, most believe that women who wear tight clothes deserve to be harassed," the survey said. It added most agreed women should be home by 8 p.m.

The survey said most of the Egyptian women who told of being harassed said they were dressed conservatively, with the majority wearing the Islamic headscarf. The harassment took place on the streets or on public transport, as well as in tourist destinations and foreign educational institutions.

(Writing by Cynthia Johnston; Editing by Caroline Drees)

Copied in entirety from : Two-thirds of Egyptian men harass women - Yahoo! News UK

Just because you've always done it that way, doesn't mean its not incredibly stupid.
“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten” (Mark Twain)
Wababa is on a distinguished road

Default Islam is anti-woman - 07-23-2008, 05:41 AM

Islamic teachings and beliefs are very discriminatory against women.
I greatly admired the woman who had stood to be elected Kenyas President against the likes of Kibaki and Raila. I voted her not because she was a woman, but she was a muslim woman. That was one of the greatest achievements. But i wonder how many even muslim women voted for the lovely Nazlin Umar. She had very few votes.

YB* is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 02:41 AM

Originally Posted by Wababa View Post
Islamic teachings and beliefs are very discriminatory against women.
Egypt has a high percentage of practising muslims but is not an islamic state or country, I wonder whether we would have the same kind of results for kenya? but judging from posts here, i know we would. Though harrassment without official guidelines is very subjective.

Just because you've always done it that way, doesn't mean its not incredibly stupid.
“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten” (Mark Twain)

Default 08-25-2008, 05:20 AM

I never even realised there was a 3rd presidential candidate, partly my fault i guess.
As for Egypt, my friend just came from holidaying(sp) there and she said she's never felt so insecure because she was a woman, even in broad daylight.

Any eye contact with a man was perceived as a come on.

barb is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 11:49 AM

as a country with the highest percentage of practicing Muslims then this is kinda expected, the saddest part is that they dont know any better, they believe that is the way they should be treated(women), apparently even the koran supports this kind of treatment towards women.......awhile back i was watching oprah and she was interviewing this woman who quoted a verse from koran ati men have authority over women and that Allah made them superior coz they spend their wealth to maintain them ie women like they are hard wood floors(sic). A good woman is the obedient one and some other demeaning crap abt women......so sad, so very sad.

Coming to think of it, i've never really heard of anything flattering abt the Islamic religion, mmmhuh??
YB* you should have taken this to the religious section, am sure Mohammed has something to say abt it.

PROFANITY IS A SIGN OF AN IGNORANT MIND TRYING TO EXPRESS ITSELF

Last edited by barb : 08-25-2008 at 10:13 PM.
Sen. Barrack Obama is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 12:04 PM

Originally Posted by barb View Post
the saddest part is that they dont know any better, the believe that is the way the should be treated(women)....awhile back i was watching oprah and she was interviewing this woman who quoted a verse from koran ati men have authority over women and that Allah made them superior coz they spend their wealth to maintain them ie women like they are hard wood floors(sic). A good woman is the obedient one and some other demeaning crap for women......so sad, so very sad.
No one is above what was written in the Bible or Qoran, hence that lady just quoted what we should all know as Muslims or Christiams. vipi wewe mushishana kweni haurewi maneno haya!!

Kwenda!
utubora is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 06:02 PM

Obama Msee I hope you're being sarcastic ,,, ati nini?