07-02-2008, 06:44 AM
Child support has messed up a lot of families in America. Gals have turned it into trade. What gud is it for a gal not to go to school but decide to have each child fathered by a different man so she can maximize on child support?

07-02-2008, 06:50 AM
Fry, I must admit you reminded me of a whole lot more I had forgotten about the Kenyan society, their relationships with church and what they really do in church. I think I have also undergone a dramatic change because of the society I live in, people are very individualistic, church is not a communal affair, the only sharing that happens in church here is sitting space.
It makes sense that these women find comfort and a sense of being appreciated in churches. Which makes me wonder, without church these women would have no hope at all? So Karl Marx was right when he said religion is the opium of the poor?
The idea of children being wealth is also a very misguiding one, I once heard a woman who was serving as temporary house help saying that she had to have the 3rd child, because the other two need an extra one to play with (lol) yet her salary was 1700 Ksh or something like that, yaani it's unheard of for one child to play alone?
Last edited by Sanaa- : 07-02-2008 at 06:52 AM.

07-02-2008, 07:09 AM
It makes sense that these women find comfort and a sense of being appreciated in churches. Which makes me wonder, without church these women would have no hope at all? So Karl Marx was right when he said religion is the opium of the poor?
Princess, Religion IS the opium of the masses (at least here in Kenya). Many Kenyans are church goers - never mind the hundreds of denomination- and adhere to the tenets of their faith. 2 bad examples; Mungiki, House of Yahweh
Some of the women in Mungiki members strip their fellow women in mini skirts and trousers. The reason? They're 'ungodly and immoral". I've heard rumours that some go as far as forcibly circumcising their fellow women! We're living in the 21st century and many of these women have college education, yet it beats logic.
Once at the church I attend, I came across some members discussing another and asked why they're gossiping yet we are taught not to (a church minister's wife was in the group). The reply? We're not gossiping, that's against Bible teachings...we're just discussing si unajua macho hayana pazia?
Opium of the masses? That's why we've got so many filthy rich church leaders who play up the value of giving your money to God...yet you remain dirt poor. That's a worldwide phenomenon. People would donate to a church yet ignore they're hungry family members! It's crazy. But I digress.
About the house help seeking a companion for her first children...I've never understood why.
In relatively poorer households, sex is recreation. The husband may be abusive or unambitious but what happens when the heart is lonely and the body calls? Fimbo ya mbali haiuwi nyoka. For that short span when having sex, you are transported to a world free from pain and suffering, it's like alcohol...you get high no matter how unrefined the drink. When it's all over... you pity yourself, but what to do?
Sanaa, I think we should just stick to our personal issues because only the wearer of the shoe knows where it pinches. We can't be judgemental, we can't pity...but we can change what's within our power.
Learn from the world to make your life your very own nirvana.

07-02-2008, 09:49 AM
Originally Posted by fry
Princess, Religion IS the opium of the masses (at least here in Kenya). Many Kenyans are church goers - never mind the hundreds of denomination- and adhere to the tenets of their faith. 2 bad examples; Mungiki, House of Yahweh
Some of the women in Mungiki members strip their fellow women in mini skirts and trousers. The reason? They're 'ungodly and immoral". I've heard rumours that some go as far as forcibly circumcising their fellow women! We're living in the 21st century and many of these women have college education, yet it beats logic.
Once at the church I attend, I came across some members discussing another and asked why they're gossiping yet we are taught not to (a church minister's wife was in the group). The reply? We're not gossiping, that's against Bible teachings...we're just discussing si unajua macho hayana pazia?
Opium of the masses? That's why we've got so many filthy rich church leaders who play up the value of giving your money to God...yet you remain dirt poor. That's a worldwide phenomenon. People would donate to a church yet ignore they're hungry family members! It's crazy. But I digress.
About the house help seeking a companion for her first children...I've never understood why.
In relatively poorer households, sex is recreation. The husband may be abusive or unambitious but what happens when the heart is lonely and the body calls? Fimbo ya mbali haiuwi nyoka. For that short span when having sex, you are transported to a world free from pain and suffering, it's like alcohol...you get high no matter how unrefined the drink. When it's all over... you pity yourself, but what to do?
Sanaa, I think we should just stick to our personal issues because only the wearer of the shoe knows where it pinches. We can't be judgemental, we can't pity...but we can change what's within our power.
Learn from the world to make your life your very own nirvana.
Fry I am sorry but I find your rationale extremely simplistic, a very narrow view of what ails the woman in the kenyan society

07-02-2008, 09:56 AM
Originally Posted by msema ukweli Kabisa
Fry I am sorry but I find your rationale extremely simplistic, a very narrow view of what ails the woman in the kenyan society
Precisely so. I was only dealing with one facet of the complex Kenyan society.
I tackled it from a personal angle without elaboration to complement the poster's observation.
Relax...  no offense taken.

07-02-2008, 10:00 AM
Originally Posted by fry
Precisely so. I was only dealing with one facet of the complex Kenyan society.
I tackled it from a personal angle without elaboration to complement the poster's observation.
Relax...  no offense taken.
Oh I understand, by the way I so agree with everything you said. I have seen that side, and I agree opportunistic religion can be one huge facet

07-02-2008, 10:08 AM
Originally Posted by msema ukweli Kabisa
Oh I understand, by the way I so agree with everything you said. I have seen that side, and I agree opportunistic religion can be one huge facet
I think what we used to know religion should now be termed as social egotistical club for the gullible. 75% of Family TV is pure sham.
What hurts me is that women seem to form the majority of this gullible population. The rural/ peri-urban woman is most manipulated and since women basically run the world, we men are by extension party to this charade.