Fellow Kenyans, Please Tell Me Why....? -
06-12-2008, 06:38 PM
I had considered myself retired from this forum, but a disturbing spate of events begged my attention. Could someone please explain to me why we import some primitive, criminal, uncouth, and utterly despicable behaviours abroad?
Just this past Memorial weekend, two of my buddies 'lost' their wallets and cell phones while attending a Kenyan bash in Houston. The wallets were recovered later, minus the valuables of course! This happened on a Thursday, and the poor chaps could not wait to fly back home the following Monday. Their weekend was totally ruined.
The second case occured in San Diego during the USA Rugby 7s in February 08. Apparently someone 'broke' into a room occupied by a group of about six Kenyans, a hotel room I might add. They made away with digital cameras, laptops, camcorders, and other items. No way in hell was this a random case of vandalism. The hotel had a large number of Kenyans who had travelled for the event.
The next one is simply annoying, but I still manage a chuckle every time I remember the incident. I had travelled to MN to attend my cousin's graduation, so we took her out for the evening. We went to a club that was hosting 'Kenyan Graduation Night' and let her relieve some stress. I ordered a few drinks, paid for them, and then turned around to talk to a colleague. I turned back and the drinks were gone, plus the tip I had left! Unfortunately for the culprit, one member from our group was seated at the opposite end with a camcorder in hand. The entire incident had been caught on tape! We accosted the thief who went on to apologise and claim that he was drunk. He had put the beers in his pant pockets, and gulped down the mixed drinks.
So please explain to me, why? Ni umaskini ama ni mazoea? 
A Kenyan by any other tribe is still a Kenyan.
Last edited by Diambo : 06-12-2008 at 06:47 PM.

06-13-2008, 12:16 AM
lol...,welcome to Kenya abroad..,i mean u can take someone from the village
but u cant take the village out of them can u?
jus be careful nxt time ur with kenyans..,am hearing this 4 the first time
tho.., looks like u hang around thugs!!!

06-13-2008, 12:34 AM
Originally Posted by Diambo
I had considered myself retired from this forum, but a disturbing spate of events begged my attention. Could someone please explain to me why we import some primitive, criminal, uncouth, and utterly despicable behaviours abroad?
Just this past Memorial weekend, two of my buddies 'lost' their wallets and cell phones while attending a Kenyan bash in Houston. The wallets were recovered later, minus the valuables of course! This happened on a Thursday, and the poor chaps could not wait to fly back home the following Monday. Their weekend was totally ruined.
The second case occured in San Diego during the USA Rugby 7s in February 08. Apparently someone 'broke' into a room occupied by a group of about six Kenyans, a hotel room I might add. They made away with digital cameras, laptops, camcorders, and other items. No way in hell was this a random case of vandalism. The hotel had a large number of Kenyans who had travelled for the event.
The next one is simply annoying, but I still manage a chuckle every time I remember the incident. I had travelled to MN to attend my cousin's graduation, so we took her out for the evening. We went to a club that was hosting 'Kenyan Graduation Night' and let her relieve some stress. I ordered a few drinks, paid for them, and then turned around to talk to a colleague. I turned back and the drinks were gone, plus the tip I had left! Unfortunately for the culprit, one member from our group was seated at the opposite end with a camcorder in hand. The entire incident had been caught on tape! We accosted the thief who went on to apologise and claim that he was drunk. He had put the beers in his pant pockets, and gulped down the mixed drinks.
Damn damn damn!!!! Petty theft has always been a Kenyan specialty unfortunately..... it sure does suck a**.Pple like sh*t the aint worked for................. just pure greed is what it is.Once again Damn damn damn  Pitiful
If you haven't got all the things you want,be grateful for the things you don't have and that you don't want.

06-13-2008, 12:45 AM
petty theft is a kenyan specialty...lol . i think its just that some pple are born thieves and it doesn't matter where they are...they will just steal. mwizi ni mwizi hata akijipodoa bado ni mwizi.
GOD IS A DJ
LIFE IS A DANCEFLOOR
LOVE IS THE RHYTHM
YOU ARE THE MUSIC

06-13-2008, 01:39 AM
I'll be travelling to DC in a couple of weeks, and guess what advice I was given? "Leave your wallet and cell phone at home if you intend to visit a certain Kenyan joint. Just carry enough cash for the cover charge and run a tab once you get in." Sio kwa ubaya, is it out of poverty or is it tabia mbaya mbaya?
A Kenyan by any other tribe is still a Kenyan.

06-13-2008, 04:45 AM
I hear back home these guys are skilled.
As in yaani they are soo good!
mad skills -
06-13-2008, 05:03 AM
Originally Posted by nat89
I hear back home these guys are skilled.
As in yaani they are soo good!
Poleni sana to all those who are falling prey to thieving Kenyans abroad. Hiyo ni kali sana.
nat89, you don't even want to know how they've fast forwarded their skills. You're in private transport and if you've not locked your doors and you have valuables - someone knocks on one window and another opens the opposite door and makes away with your valuables. Just recently, I hear tires are yanked from your ride when you're in traffic - and in broad daylight. How's that for mad thieving skills?
In public transport, someone pretends to be talking on phone ati there are cops checking if you have your safety belt on, you squirm in your seat looking for it, kumbe the guy has his hands in your pockets or handbag, then alights at the nearest stage with your phone or cash or wallet.
Yaani, kumbe American Embassy is just giving green cards and visas to thugs - tsk! tsk! tsk! the system sure does suck.
Reach for the stars, so that when you fall you land on the clouds. Kanye West
Last edited by Shyloxx26 : 06-13-2008 at 05:06 AM.

06-13-2008, 05:13 AM
The entire incident had been caught on tape! We accosted the thief who went on to apologise and claim that he was drunk. He had put the beers in his pant pockets, and gulped down the mixed drinks.
I went partying once with some friends and one of my buddys had come with a woman whom none of us knew, when the liqour started kicking she started looking around frantically asking us if she took the ash tray would anyone notice, if she took the glass think anyone will notice ...  Kleptos who only get into action when drunk a kenyan phenomenon or are they just thieves taking advantage... lol
Kenyans! mnaiibiana even across borders, kweli kuenda kwingi sio kutoa madoadoa 
Between two evils, I always pick the one I never tried before

06-13-2008, 05:17 AM
These are horrible incidents! my God!
in oxford i was told of a case of kenyans trying to beat the system some years back. kenyans gunduad that the kenyan shilling could work on the phone booths, dont ask me how...my guess can only be someone who had just come from home had shilingiz kwa m***o and discovered this by mistake and viola.
The person mustav told his other friends and sent for mob shilingiz from home. jamaaz would make numerous phone calls...considering 1 pound = 120 bob,jamaaz filled ALL the booths in oxford, the cash collectors walishangaa...i dont even know who uses a phone booth anymore apart from emergency, but hey they did and i think the kenyan organisation there was conctacted to appeal to these wananchi to please stop this tabia mbaya. 

06-13-2008, 05:21 AM
He had put the beers in his pant pockets, and gulped down the mixed drinks.
 How thirsty of that young man.