Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > General Discussion > These useless news updates should STOP!

willpress is an unknown quantity at this point

Default These useless news updates should STOP! - 04-23-2008, 07:26 AM

A new post-post-election violence trend has sprung up among the electronic media and in particular TV.Every hour, viewers of NTV and KTN are subjected to news "updates" ie.Repeating news items of the past 3 or so hours with very little difference noticable(maybe just breaking news about a python that was run over by a train or something).
Prior to Kibaki's failed announcement of the Cabinet, we were subjected to hours of useless live coverage by all stations which went into a frenzy the moment an MPs came out of Harambee House for some fresh air.Surely its not exciting to watch reporters hustlin for news...
Moreover, if they overexpose us to their reporters and presenters we will begin to notice that esther arungas chin is a bit on the generous side, that lillian muli has a bad hair day every single day, that mike okinyi stands funny , that beatrice marshalls bum aint nuthin to SMS home about , and that is sure to f.ck up ratings.
Best thing would be to create a 24 hour kenyan news network for the news addicts and leave the rest of us the hell alone to at least feed on something else!

Sugaspice

Default 04-23-2008, 08:56 AM

"Moreover, if they overexpose us to their reporters and presenters we will begin to notice that esther arungas chin is a bit on the generous side, that lillian muli has a bad hair day every single day, that mike okinyi stands funny , that beatrice marshalls bum aint nuthin to SMS home about , and that is sure to f.ck up ratings."

hehehehe yeah what's up with mike Okinyi man, he has the shakes, talks funny AND he has an alien face... he realy should consider a career in radio...

anyhoo I don't mind the updates but it's got to be useful stuff sio pythons and silk farming in meru... My buddys and I suffered the day the cabinet was finaly announced hours and hours of waiting and listening to experts, analyst, lecturers giving their two cents, you need a drink when watching news here but chances are you'll be high beofre they get to the point!... I especially hate it when the anchor in the studio asks the reporter "what is the mood at harambee house right now" and the reporter goes on to jibber jabber jaw about absolutely nothing!!

Wow, you make people miserable and there's nothing they can do about it! Just like God.
BKVO is on a distinguished road

Default 04-23-2008, 09:03 AM

[quote=w.. that beatrice marshalls bum aint nuthin to SMS home about , and that is sure to f.ck up ratings.
[/QUOTE]

LMAO! haki ths one has just cracked me uuuup! dayuum! loooooooooooool..gai kwani wht does she have?

Default 04-23-2008, 09:08 AM

http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thu...s_v ector.jpg
SIGNS OF LOVE!

Default 04-23-2008, 09:15 AM

Originally Posted by ChipsHazijaivapoa View Post
ooops,Didnt mean to post this one here,SORRY!!

Kabunja wa Gathuita is on a distinguished road

Default 04-23-2008, 09:35 AM

Originally Posted by willpress View Post
A new post-post-election violence trend has sprung up among the electronic media and in particular TV.Every hour, viewers of NTV and KTN are subjected to news "updates" ie.Repeating news items of the past 3 or so hours with very little difference noticable(maybe just breaking news about a python that was run over by a train or something).
Prior to Kibaki's failed announcement of the Cabinet, we were subjected to hours of useless live coverage by all stations which went into a frenzy the moment an MPs came out of Harambee House for some fresh air.Surely its not exciting to watch reporters hustlin for news...
Moreover, if they overexpose us to their reporters and presenters we will begin to notice that esther arungas chin is a bit on the generous side, that lillian muli has a bad hair day every single day, that mike okinyi stands funny , that beatrice marshalls bum aint nuthin to SMS home about , and that is sure to f.ck up ratings.
Best thing would be to create a 24 hour kenyan news network for the news addicts and leave the rest of us the hell alone to at least feed on something else!
Guess they are trying to copy international media like CNN, BBC, Aljazeera et al! Aren't Kenyans good at that!

I realise that patriotism is not enough. I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.
willpress is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 04-23-2008, 09:52 AM

Oh yeah and where the hell do they harvest those "analysts" from?And its like they get worse with time. . .I remember hearing one of them commenting on the day Kibaki gwayad to name a cabinet say without batting an eyelid "One of the principals is lying to Kenyans.Only time will tell who is the bad boy and who is the ummm good boy!" eish. . .

Default 04-23-2008, 10:13 AM

Originally Posted by willpress View Post
Oh yeah and where the hell do they harvest those "analysts" from?And its like they get worse with time. . .I remember hearing one of them commenting on the day Kibaki gwayad to name a cabinet say without batting an eyelid "One of the principals is lying to Kenyans.Only time will tell who is the bad boy and who is the ummm good boy!" eish. . .
Oh no dont tell me now Kenyans have pundits who are interprating and analysing news for the mwananchi. if there is one thing I hate about the US news media its the pundit spin, As if we cant thing for ourselves

to side track abit "go barack obama, you have our hearts and mind and you are truly our future president"

Default 04-23-2008, 10:16 AM

to side track abit "go barack obama, you have our hearts and mind and you are truly our future president"
Did u see how that mama thrashed him yesterday??! By 10 whole points, yikes!! I wish him the best in the upcoming ones.

charlokam

Default 04-23-2008, 12:49 PM

Originally Posted by Ester View Post
Did u see how that mama thrashed him yesterday??! By 10 whole points, yikes!! I wish him the best in the upcoming ones.
let me add my wisdom here, or as we call it two cents

MUK i agree with you, coz in reality Penny was a gone case. two weeks ago she was leading with 25%. she only won with a margin of 8.25% and only got 13 delegates. And she is broke.

He broke her bank like crazy. he has 41 mill for indiana and north carolina. this are areas he is prediceted to win already. So ester. Penny is small potatoes

Dang I had missed mashada