Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > General Discussion > lets talk reggae!!!!!!

(#51 (permalink))
Sankara is on a distinguished road

Default 03-30-2008, 02:43 PM

Originally Posted by henry kariuki View Post
ngai, its peter mcintosh for crying out loud, wasee tembeeni jamaica or listen to more new stuff. I have lived in jamdown for a long while now and all them artists you guys are talking about they no longer exist here. Imagine, even the famous glen washinton in kenya little is known of him here in jamaica. Dancehall though have taken over and its bad. Mi don listen to much of roots rock raggae anymore more intresting stuff are out like queen ifrika, tirus riley, junoir reid, beres hummond, buju banton, sisla karonji, i wyne, and many more.
lol, look at this dude. First u correct sum1 about the spelling of peter tosh and then u urself go ahead and murder the monikers of all the artists u've mentioned:
junoir reid - junior reid
sisla karonji - sizzla kalonji!!!
beres hummond - beres hammond
i wyne - i-wayne
tirus riley - taurus riley

first thing first. U can't blame kenyans for not being up to date with reggae. Kenya is not a priority market like the uk or the us and so music is severely delayed before it gets there. There is no itunes subscription service available for kenya where u can pay for tracks online through ur bank a/c. Dial-up means that u can't really download music fast, apart from few sporadic concerts there is no major reggae event such as sunsplash where 10 or more top artists perform and finally there is no shop in kenya that has a wide deep variety of original reggae CDs.

Secondly, please don't try and bring ur patois here.jus coz u live in ja doesn't mean that u have to talk 2 evry1 (especially kenyans) in patois. I get enuff of that here in the uk with fake ass pakistanis trying to be jafakeans (fake jamaicans) back to the story........

Last edited by Sankara : 03-30-2008 at 02:48 PM.
(#52 (permalink))
Sankara is on a distinguished road

Default 03-30-2008, 03:00 PM

bana this guy called henry kariuki is making us kiuks look bad. mazee how do u shrub even when u r typing?? seriously??

Yo, r u really in JA?? coz i might come thru soon. my girl is from spanish town and she wants us to travel down 2gether next time she visits her folks. i also have a friend who's from montego bay and she also goes down in the summer and she's invited me. i hear the club scene is kingston is CRAZY so i wanna check it out.

im still tryna decide whether 2 hit kenya this summer or jamaica...

(#53 (permalink))
colegero is on a distinguished road

Default 03-31-2008, 09:16 AM

Originally Posted by Sankara View Post
lol, look at this dude. First u correct sum1 about the spelling of peter tosh and then u urself go ahead and murder the monikers of all the artists u've mentioned:
junoir reid - junior reid
sisla karonji - sizzla kalonji!!!
beres hummond - beres hammond
i wyne - i-wayne
tirus riley - taurus riley

first thing first. U can't blame kenyans for not being up to date with reggae. Kenya is not a priority market like the uk or the us and so music is severely delayed before it gets there. There is no itunes subscription service available for kenya where u can pay for tracks online through ur bank a/c. Dial-up means that u can't really download music fast, apart from few sporadic concerts there is no major reggae event such as sunsplash where 10 or more top artists perform and finally there is no shop in kenya that has a wide deep variety of original reggae CDs.

Secondly, please don't try and bring ur patois here.jus coz u live in ja doesn't mean that u have to talk 2 evry1 (especially kenyans) in patois. I get enuff of that here in the uk with fake ass pakistanis trying to be jafakeans (fake jamaicans) back to the story........
@ Sankara...thanks for noticing.. ya someone was trying to correct me on Peter Tosh's name..yet they are making major mistakes on names.

(#54 (permalink))
Henry Kariuki is on a distinguished road

Default 03-31-2008, 09:19 AM

Originally Posted by Sankara View Post
bana this guy called henry kariuki is making us kiuks look bad. mazee how do u shrub even when u r typing?? seriously??

Yo, r u really in JA?? coz i might come thru soon. my girl is from spanish town and she wants us to travel down 2gether next time she visits her folks. i also have a friend who's from montego bay and she also goes down in the summer and she's invited me. i hear the club scene is kingston is CRAZY so i wanna check it out.

im still tryna decide whether 2 hit kenya this summer or jamaica...
Holla at me when you reach here, cheki mimi KPH ask you G-friend for that, and spanish town, utajipeleka wewe na dame coz "one order clan gang" might be waiting good luck though, otherwise pasa pasa is good here in Kingston is bad,
Ku-shrub is one of my hobbies!!!

(#55 (permalink))
daflava

Default 03-31-2008, 09:29 AM

Originally Posted by frenchmember View Post
'... wake up one morning with a funny funny feelin, n this felin was a non usual feelin...'
nooooo! this guy was great sauti ya kutoa pango kwa nyoka yawa!
can somebody continue with the above tune...

amon others GI is good, but tusi-forget our own bros comme the late DUBE in exile, maze i wil miss this dude, alpha blondy ako sawa pia with his coco d' rock!
French member Kwachu hiyo ma special dedication yani its one of ma favourite songs...
Woke up this morning
with a funny, funny feeling.
And that feeling
wasn't an unusual feeling.

Inna my bone.
It inna my blood.
Inna my toes.
Coming up to my brain.

I went to the doctor
to check out what's matter.
I went to the doctor
to find out the matter.

Doctor said: Son
you have a Reggaemylitis.
I said: What?
Doctor said: Son
you have a Reggaemylitis.

Inna mi bone.
Inna mi blood.
From my toes.
Up to my brain.

Is it contagious?
Is it outrageous?
Is it vicious?
Or is it dangerous?

I can feel it inna my bone.
Inna my ankle.
From my toes.
Up to my brain.

Is it incurable?
It's fit for desirable.
It isn't curable.
Fit for desirable.

I have it inna my toes.
Inna my ankle.
Inna my knees.
Up to my waist.
Under mi ribs.
Across mi shoulder.
Inna my finger.
Up to my brain.

Reggaemylitis I say.
It's Reggaemylitis I say.
You only catch it one way.
It's Reggaemylitis I say.

Sometimes your temperature
it really gets higher.
And the music
sets your soul on fire.

I got it inna my toes.
Inna my knees.
Inna my ankle.
Inna my waist.
Inna my heart.
Inna my soul.
Inna my mind.
Coming through my mouth.
Inna my finger.
Registered in my brain.
Reggaemylitis I say.

Knowledge is like ur underwear…u should have it, but not show it off & most important, while having sex, keep your knowledge aside!
(#56 (permalink))
Tuff Gong is on a distinguished road

Default 03-31-2008, 04:37 PM

Love so nice by junior kelly and farover by Israel vibrations plus lots more..but those two will do for now!

Tuff Gong
On average,
I read like a Jeng, I Work hard like a Kyuk, am loyal like Kao, am Polite like a Tzedian and party like a....
(#57 (permalink))
ours is on a distinguished road

Default 04-01-2008, 06:24 AM

Rastafarae is the king of the universe no matter what tribe you come from.Love your neighbour the way you love yourself and countinue to be colonised by the powers of HIS IMPERIAL MAJESTY. Ever living, Ever faithfull and Ever sure. RASTAFARAE!
(#58 (permalink))
ours is on a distinguished road

Default 04-01-2008, 06:26 AM

Rastafarae is the king of the universe no matter what tribe you come from.Love your neighbour the way you love yourself and countinue to be colonised by the powers of HIS IMPERIAL MAJESTY. Ever living, Ever faithfull and Ever sure. RASTAFARAE!