Old 20th November 2009, 06:09 AM

Jaugenya has a little shameless behaviour in the past

You know for me I still talk just like a Kenyan who just got off the plane literally, never ever bothered to tweng or try american. And I have even addressed some high level car park attendants with this accent..

Now my biggest pet peeve is not even for the Kenyans or Africans that tweng... I am actually very impressed by the ones that have been able to get the american accent down.....

The accent that makes me literally want to shoot someone is this sing songy accent that lots of Kenyans, Ugandans and especially zimbabweans try to use...........arghhhhhhh In their head it probably sound american.....

To make matters worse the lady that sits nearest to me has the worst variation...... FWACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I need a drink
Am not being tribalistic.

A typical kenyan accent of spoken english has never been bad. Though Kikuyus and Kisiis need to work on theirs...
Old 20th November 2009, 09:06 AM

!!!111 is on a distinguished road

Say what you like, but you are more likely to get service in Kenya when you pull that accent to the max. I'm not sure why people are so impressed. While in America though, work on your British Received pronounciation. People find it HOT, even more so on black people!

maximise yourself! make hay while the sun shines.
Old 20th November 2009, 09:33 AM

Talula is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Sssumu Baridi View Post
Talula has already succumbed to the British accent in Finland, yet English is not a recognized language in Finland.
Iyeee Sssumu!!!Ati I live in finland? And i have a british accent? hiyo ulitoa wapi? Yes I have a strange accent but it aint british.
Old 20th November 2009, 09:48 AM

Ghetto Love is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Dem Gal View Post
The sing-song jazzes me. I found it quiet interesting the first time I heard it but now I can't help but chuckle when some newbie unleashes the sing-song 'twang'. Knowwhatamsayiiing?

Worst still is when shrubbing is incorperated in the mix, it gets quite lethal! "Rike ndude, knowhatamsayiiing, you shounda seen the hottie in the clumb, knowhatamsayiiing, she rooking fine man, knowhatamsayiiing!" LOL!
he he he Dem Gal you sure you not the one unleashing such accents? anyway made my day
Old 20th November 2009, 10:11 AM

Devine is an unknown quantity at this point

Yaani when I went back to Kenya I used to tweng so hard mpaka my tongue aches. esp the first weeks...... so embarrasing to remember
Looooool that was some hard twengin'
For me, it's about enunciating words. It's like saying I worked all night then s'one is confused thinking I walked all night lol. So I have to try harder and make sure when I say work, it sounds like work.

I do a mean British accent btw, quite funny.
Old 20th November 2009, 11:12 AM

Governor Palin is on a distinguished road

Let me add my two cents here...

I find it quite funny people keep talking about "British Accent". Hello! There is no such thing as "British Accent"!! It is either English, Welsh or Scottish accent.

Britain is made up of 3 countries - England, Scotland and Wales. All 3 countries have different cultures and speak English with very distinctive accents.

UK is made of 4 countries - England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland - all speak very differently.

British Aisle is made up of 8 countries - England, Scotland, Wales, N. Ireland, Island of Guernsey, Island of Jersey, Isle of man and Isle of Wight. (Islands of Guernsey, Jersey, man, and Wight speak the same with English.)
The head of state of all these countries is Queen Elizabeth II.

FYI:
Queen is English (from England) but her ancestry is Scottish (from Scotland). Gordon Brown is Scottish (from Scotland) by birth and ancestry but he is British and UK Prime Minister. Tony Blair was born in Scotland but spent all of his life in England and thus making him the first UK Prime minister from Scotland.

I know this is confusing but I hope this will help to distinguish the so-called "British Accent". You can always find out more about those countries from Wikipedia.
Old 20th November 2009, 11:34 AM

You are wrong my guy on that one, and even for the accent I am bilaz. I just sound like I just got off the boat jana from Kenya unless I want to impress someone I can switch on the accent (tweng) bila shida
Soooo have you been trying to impress me all this time? Coz I could have sworn you had an American accent. Very niiiice. Even told you I liked it remember?
Old 20th November 2009, 11:46 AM

Soooo have you been trying to impress me all this time? Coz I could have sworn you had an American accent. Very niiiice. Even told you I liked it remember?
Haiya Frag you are kidding? Now mpaka I am double guessing myself, ama I was trying to impress heh....

I think maybe I compare myself to my sisters who basically speak like they are from here or my wife who as perfect way of enuncuating her words.

For me all I get is, dang dude you have a very thick african accent..... mpaka I am like what?
Old 20th November 2009, 11:53 AM

Originally Posted by Governor Palin View Post
Let me add my two cents here...

I find it quite funny people keep talking about "British Accent". Hello! There is no such thing as "British Accent"!! It is either English, Welsh or Scottish accent.

Britain is made up of 3 countries - England, Scotland and Wales. All 3 countries have different cultures and speak English with very distinctive accents.

UK is made of 4 countries - England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland - all speak very differently.

British Aisle is made up of 8 countries - England, Scotland, Wales, N. Ireland, Island of Guernsey, Island of Jersey, Isle of man and Isle of Wight. (Islands of Guernsey, Jersey, man, and Wight speak the same with English.)
The head of state of all these countries is Queen Elizabeth II.

FYI:
Queen is English (from England) but her ancestry is Scottish (from Scotland). Gordon Brown is Scottish (from Scotland) by birth and ancestry but he is British and UK Prime Minister. Tony Blair was born in Scotland but spent all of his life in England and thus making him the first UK Prime minister from Scotland.

I know this is confusing but I hope this will help to distinguish the so-called "British Accent". You can always find out more about those countries from Wikipedia.
To your point that is so true even in the US. People from California esp south Cali, speak a language known as valley..... Kinda almost the one we see mainly on hollywood cheezy high school movies....

Latinos in Cali also have a unique Mexienglish that they pull. And the african americans over there their slangs eg Snoop. For sheezy my neezy.....

Come to the south, the deeper you go the heavier their accent. Even in North texas where I live vis a vis southern texas they sound different. If you venture to Tennessee esp rural tennessee you will float like crazy. Esp blacks in the south just sound different..

the bostonian accent is almostish british in they way their empasize..... or a mixture of irish american english.....

Now to my favourite side of town, new york. I just love their accents.... they talk as if they have hot potatoes in their mdomo. I just love it kwanza a brooklyn accent....

Kweli everywhere people speak different.

My cliche retort to anyone who tells me how thick my accent has always been....

Oh trust me to my ears your accent is also very thick and weird
That said I miss the Nairobi accent, esp the USIU walapangas iz polite accent

Last edited by msema ukweli Kabisa; 20th November 2009 at 11:55 AM.
Old 20th November 2009, 11:54 AM

Devine is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by Governor Palin View Post
Very confusing . I think when we say...maybe I should speak for myself. When I say British accent, it's probably the London accent. Is there a London accent

accents, fake