@Mumgy
Yawa...u love fried food and still look skinny? I love fish, but them p'ple done sed it got mercury. Hukuz tunaambiwa to eat fish only one serving a week. Thats why I look for the wild salmon. Dont know if thats better. Na hizo recipe zako ni kali. Eggs & potatoes? Ndengu (or pojo)-me eats. I don't make chapoz, I just chanua some from Indian shops, they call them chapati or paratha...wtv. I hate beans. But since this reaction, am trying black eyed peas. @Al-z You are funny, but I try to cook from scratch. There is something wrong with the food...haki hebu nipatie ideaz za Breakfast. No tea & bread or cereal. No pancakes. Most of the time I do black tea (earl grey) or spanish uji. That wimbi porrige I make occasionally. Tell me how u make the sesame. Hata flaxseeds nime-buy. I actually buy that stuff. I even bought omena coated with sesame (Japanese snack)..lol. Infact I have a huge can of ground sesame from an Indian shop but what to do with it. Si ur shemeji here wonders what the heck are these things I buy. He calls them my concoctions. @Augustine Try this: Anza the morning with making very light uji...then as it starts boiling add a beaten egg. It has to be very very light. Take that every morning before eating BF, Lunch or dinner. Achana na KFC & BK completely. @Shinyanga That salmon and rice rocks. Kwanza there is a jewish way of making it (smoked salmon sandwich with some sauce) very yummy. But can u manage everyday? Yo'll, how come brocolli looks so rough and tough, but does very little as a roughage? @Papsunit Wakwetu, yaani alimentary canal ya-rejectire bilio bya basungu. Nono, what will I khola ndiena? (I apologize for the french for those not in the know).
My two cents....
I don't know where you live but if you live in CA or WA, there are some really good stores where you can find really tasty and healthy food...I started buying all my food from Trader Joe's in CA and I must tell you, their food is very tasty. They get food from local farmers (some organic and some not) and they also prepare some or freeze some. If you eat their veggies utajilamba...I have a 2 year old who eats so many green beans it's insane and all I do is cook them in kidogo olive oil, onion, salt and black pepper. If you can't find a TJ's, try to buy food from a farmer's market..it's well worth it... As for meat, I find Kosher butcheries the best...they slaughter their animals daily and it taste good... Avoid major groceries and also watch the Asian or Mexican stores b/c most of their produce is the low end of the same stuff that is in Kroger, safeway etc... |
Thanx ma. I seen TJ's just five minutes ago. Never been there, but now am going in. U have to be right about the mexican/Asian stuff. I last shopped at Krogers 2 years ago when I had to work in Detroit.Gotta find the Kosher butcheries. Thinking of it, am very aware that these folks have been adding Nitrites to their meats and bacon (to preserve the red color), substances that are known carcinogens. Bure kabisa! Been shopping Meijer, Jewel Osco, Piggly Wiggly and Pick n Save. Nime-stop from now.
Glad I could help...it took me a long time too...kwanza I coudldn't even stand the smell of any meat..chicken, beef, fish etc....
Don't dismiss their frozen food, it tastes great, from veggies to fish to meatballs etc...They also have a great marinara sauce that I use for cooking my stews...It takes a lot of trial and error but I'm sure you'll find what you are looking for and you'll establish what you like using from the store. Another good thing is that they have supplements at really good prices....$5 or so...One supplement that I can't leave without is lactobacillus...it really helps with stomach issues...Oatmeal can also do wonders (it's an acquired taste but it really helps) They have a can of steel cut oats that you can buy and eat in the morning for like $3... Another tip I learned from my mom-in-law...add some vinegar to beans, brocolli, skums etc and it will get rid of the gas.... Wish you the best and like many people said here, cook at home and avoid restaurants like the plague..... |
Habari yako nyako,
you were asking for breakfast suggestions? Have you tried eggs and plantains/sweet potatoes? Ok, enda kwa store, go to the section where they stock canned nyanyas and look for "Rotel" which is basically diced nyanyas mixed with peppers and onions. Have your eggs handy. Ok, put some oil in a frying pan and when it's hot, mwaga the whole can of rotel nyanyas in. Cover with a pot so the maji doesn't splatter. Let it fry vizuri - about a good 5 - 10 mins. In the meantime you'll have beaten about 5 - 7 eggs. When the nyanyas are done but still somewhat moist, pour in the egg and let it cook. Stir occasionally. For the side, you can either slice plantains, salt them lightly, then deep fry them, or you could choose to go with the sweet potato option, in which case you can either boil or bake them (some people fry them). Now that is a breakfast for kings I tell you. Utashiba ukasirike. ![]() Good luck.
7 eggs? woi...... I admit that is my fav way to eat eggs. Lots of nyanya and kidogo onion fried together, lakini not 7 eggs. |
Lol, seven is the magic number that works for me cuz I pika for two - my hubby and I. Of course he has the appetite of a hyena. Seriously though, try using Rotel, kwanza the "hot" one. Does wonders. If you can't handle heat try the mild or the original one. Najua huko Dallas kunazo. Thank me later.
| food |