Famous books by famous kenyans
land-grabbing by johnstone kamau how to shut down annoying tv cameras (with one swipe) by lucy kibaki with love from armenia by wangui mwai Genocide 101: how to ethnically cleanse your province by william ruto x-files terror at harambee house by prof philip mbithi gold(enberg)finger (latest 007 james bond thriller) by prof george saitoti operation bikini by nick biwott (recommended thriller that makes robert luldlum put you to sleep in comparison) how to get a 100% raise from a bankrupt employer by the 9th parliament (currently out of stock due to high demand) Ethnic cleansing for beginners by william ruto only fools pay their bills in bars by fred "kaa ngumu" gumo carjacked by mukhisa kituyi how to occupy a vacant seat by mutua katuku siwezi bwana by suleiman shakombo client's money is technically your money by otieno kajwang slap the returning officer, win an election by fred gumo memorandum of understanding by raila odinga and joseph kamotho prime minister tales by raila odinga how to raid a newspaper by john michuki (recommended for governments with annoying press pests) how to steal an election by daniel arap moi and Mwai Kibaki in love with a priest by martha karua see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil by emilio kibaki diplomatic immunity, the best law ever made by gibson kamau kuria (in the late 1980s lawyer gibson kamau kuria escaped detention without trial by dashing into the american embassy in nairobi where he was promptly granted political asylum and immediately whisked out of the country in full view of security personnel who were powerless to act for fear of contravening the vienna convention on diplomatic relations.) get your copies before we run out of stock due to high demand!
"Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we've been waiting for. We are the change that we seek," Barry. Last edited by Econ Major; 22nd July 2009 at 10:22 AM. |
LOL Econ!! n the way I ran to this thread! Very funny ati 'Slap the returning officer, win an election' lol
But seriously any good Kenyan book/authors? Not fluff, but s'thing with substance. Anyone remember Rosa Mistika?
Rosa Mistika was a whore.
I found David Maillu's "My dear bottle". David Maillu wrote classics such as "After 4:30 and "Dear Daughter". Hopefully these books will be reprinted since they have become endangered species. Big surprises among Kenya's literatti include oeuvres such Ode to Lata by Ghalib Shiraz Dhalla about a gay Kenyan Mhindi living in West Hollywood and The In-Between World of Vikram Lall by M. G. Vassanji which chronicles the life of a Mhindi family from the days of the State of Emergency to the inception of Moi's regime. It seems some Wahindi swore Mau Mau oaths and provided arms to the freedom fighters. This will make an intriguing piece of Historical research and will change the role of Wahindi in Kenya's nation building process.
Lakini there is one Maillu book that has Westerners talking:- Our kind of Polygamy. Kwanza with Jacob Zuma in office and with 3 contending first wives, lol, this book resonates better with them. I wish bigger publishers such as Picador or Random House would publish Maillu, it would make his work more accessible. Another book that is almost like "porn" is Anasa by Yusuf King'ala. It's abt a high school lass, Hawa who runs with the wolves and ends up encountering a Mzee Tamaa. A one night stint leaves her despoiled, lonely and helpless.
@Jibril & Wantai-David Gian Maillu's books-only one is in stock at text book centre but its NOT the porno collection akina troubles, after 4.30, unfit for human consumption etc. ![]() Try to communicate directly with david maillu since it seems his publisher (comb books)will not be reprinting any of these classic, salacious books soon. ( I read Troubles and got into serious Trouble when it was confisicated in school ) He has an excellent website and this is the link, you will get his contacts there: david gian maillu - homeTuendelee kusoma!
Am feeling good
! So many of you guys are into serious Kenyan literature!Mashada has hope at least! Hopefully one day this forum can be like Politico !! SOMENI Wasee!!! Anybody who needs the following from Meja Mwangi; The Cockroach Dance, Carcass for Hounds and Kill Me Quick, PM me.
| books, famous, kenyans |